Switch Theme:

Tau Homing Beacon  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nimble Glade Rider





So Cal

 Flinty wrote:
P125 second paragraph in bold

"Unless stated otherwise, a unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from reserve."

To me this implies that the homing beacon cannot be used in the turn it appears, as all reserves are considered to arrive at the start of the turn.


I agree with this.


Wood Elves: 2400 pts
Tau & Gue'vesa (IG): 9000 pts
Chaos Daemons 3500pts Fantasy

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




If it can be used at other times, it is not an ability the has to be used at the start of turn, and is therefore not restricted by the pg125 rule.

Veil of darkness lets you remove a unit from the table and deepstrike during the movement phase. Note how that is not at the start of the movement phase or turn. This means that something can arrive from deepstrike without it being the start of turn. This means those abilities are not start
of turn only abilities.

Also by the logic of the argument stating if the only time you have an oportunity to use the ability is at the start of the turn then it is restricted by pg125: The inertial guidance system of every drop pod everywhere just stoped functioning, cause that sure as heck can't be used any at other time. It could also be used to mean that the turn they arrive, the immobile rule on drop pods does not work Also nothing would disembark when they land because that is another rule that can only happen during that time frame. (specifically I am looking at the dark angel's drop pod as I write this)

As to the argument of "I think they forgot to put it in there."
What you think they forgot to do is irrelevant. RAW does not include anything we make up and add in ourselves because we think they forgot to put it in. If it did: then I think they forgot to give all demons eternal warrior like from the last codex, so I will always play as if they do have it.

Needless to say, I'm on the side of the working as soon as they are there unless specifically denied, like many marine beacons.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/06/08 20:48:10


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: