Switch Theme:

GK Coteaz + New Inquisition Henchmen  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 DJGietzen wrote:
Unfortunately pg 81 of the codex defines an army list, not an army. Because the army list is used in conjunction with the force organisation chart from the scenario, and all the scenario's in the BRB use a chart that divides an army into 3 detachments pg 81 of the codex and 109 of the BRB tell us that the Grey Knights army list is used to field a detachment, not an entire army.


The Codex Equates Army with Army list.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Inksoul wrote:
I made a posting about this subject as well and the way the Alabama Cage match decided to judge this is that GK Coteaz does not effect the the Inquisition Codex due to the fact that they have no troop slots and if it could effect it then it would make the dex unusable. This also led to what they thought was intended by GW and there is no way they would make something that would break itself like that. so Army must mean separate detachments are separate armies.

That being said, now due to the fact that there are 2 armies on the board i figured i should be allowed to use my coteaz from both codex, but that is not being allowed due to page 110 or 109 whichever talks about unique characters in your "army". but because a large % of the player base dislikes the idea of someone using the codex like this with 2 unique characters it was deemed unusable even though they are technically different and from 2 different codex.

I personally think that we should be able to use 2 coteaz because they have completely separate profiles in 2 separate books.

Now my support for this was actually given to me in an argument. I believe it was boom wolf in fact mentioned that if 2 Coteaz could be run (one from each dex) then other codex such as Tau that he run should be able to use double of their characters, after seeing that and reading this page i realized that the reason 2 Coteaz should be able to be fielded is that none of the other "unique" characters have a profile in more then one dex. most supplements allow you to use the army list form codex "X" i believe. that's why you dont see 2 abbadons or farsights walking around.


The codex would not be unusable. The only required unit is an HQ, and you can still do that. There is no evidence that GW's intent was separate detachments should be separate armies, in fact there is a preponderance of evidence that suggest just the opposite. As I've said before I think GW's intent was that the GK Lord of Formosa rule should only effect units taken from codex Grey Knights.That is a solid RAI argument but RAW is a different matter all together. The Alabama Cage match opinion is based on a erronious founding, and has no place in a RAW argument.
   
Made in us
Stalwart Strike Squad Grey Knight



mobile, AL

if it did effect them it would make them into troops... which cant happen because the Inqustional Force Org has no troop slots. and yes if you want to run one HQ then go for it.
if it did happen it would Break the FOC that is allowed by the codex.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/19 05:46:51


Grey Knights 6k
Custodians 4k
Imperial Knights 6k
Imperial guard 10k


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Inksoul wrote:
if it did effect them it would make them into troops... which cant happen because the Inqustional Force Org has no troop slots. and yes if you want to run one HQ then go for it.
if it did happen it would Break the FOC that is allowed by the codex.


It wouldn't break the FOC. You can still field a legal detachment. Just because you can't field a henchmen warband because its a troop choice and you have 0 troop slots is irreverent. The rule makes one unit unplayable but does not make the entire codex unplayable.

AND none of that matters, Alabama's opinion does not belong in this debate.
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





Inksoul wrote:
I made a posting about this subject as well and the way the Alabama Cage match decided to judge this is that GK Coteaz does not effect the the Inquisition Codex due to the fact that they have no troop slots and if it could effect it then it would make the dex unusable. This also led to what they thought was intended by GW and there is no way they would make something that would break itself like that. so Army must mean separate detachments are separate armies.

That being said, now due to the fact that there are 2 armies on the board i figured i should be allowed to use my coteaz from both codex, but that is not being allowed due to page 110 or 109 whichever talks about unique characters in your "army". but because a large % of the player base dislikes the idea of someone using the codex like this with 2 unique characters it was deemed unusable even though they are technically different and from 2 different codex.

I personally think that we should be able to use 2 coteaz because they have completely separate profiles in 2 separate books.

Now my support for this was actually given to me in an argument. I believe it was boom wolf in fact mentioned that if 2 Coteaz could be run (one from each dex) then other codex such as Tau that he run should be able to use double of their characters, after seeing that and reading this page i realized that the reason 2 Coteaz should be able to be fielded is that none of the other "unique" characters have a profile in more then one dex. most supplements allow you to use the army list form codex "X" i believe. that's why you dont see 2 abbadons or farsights walking around.

That would allow Tau and Farsight to both bring in the MSS which is one per army, since Torchstar has one in her profile and Tau allies could take another. Though it would also mean Farsight couldn't give Tau crisis suits as troops or PE: Orks (melee) to Tau, SM, and Eldar.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/19 06:43:06


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: