Switch Theme:

Can Invul and Cover saves be improved to 1+?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





the modifier is applied to the dice roll but RAW if you roll a one on the die, not the total modified roll. But the actual die roll, you fail.

"Regardless of what is giving the model its save, a roll of 1 always fails"

It wouldnt matter if the modifier was +10000000, if you roll a 1 you fail.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Again read how dice roll modifiers work. I roll a d6+1 the lowest I can roll is 2. So that rule is irrelevant to the debate.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

So the rule that I was admiring because it seemed to take Duel Terminology into account fails because it over-looked a completely different rule when it comes to what a dice face 'shows.'
*Slow Clap*
Well done Game Workshop.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/07 21:51:38


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 FlingitNow wrote:
Blacktoof

Check the rules on dice roll modifiers. If the rule said on a natural roll of a 1 you would be correct.

As seen here +1 to a save is a modification to the actual save value, not the dice result.


Not really proof that sentence still reads fine if you assume the +1, +2 etc are applied to the dice throw. So we have many incidences of the terminology being able to be read as type of saves or save throws. We have a cast iron incidence of it applying to the saving throw. Also whilst a model may have many saves (making your interpretation valid for that sentence) it can only ever have 1 armour (making your interpretation invalid for the Chariots sentence).


So a Space Marine Captain with the Armour Indomitus, loses his Power Armour?
Better example, Eldar Jetbikes confer a 3+ armour save, yet Windrider Guardians have mesh armour (5+ armour save) as well.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 FlingitNow wrote:
As seen here +1 to a save is a modification to the actual save value, not the dice result.
Not really proof that sentence still reads fine if you assume the +1, +2 etc are applied to the dice throw.
The sentence utterly fails if you apply it to the roll instead of the save, as it states, as even a +1 would take it beyond a 1. So it can't possibly refer to the roll. So yes, very clear proof. Crystal clear proof in fact.

The Chariot rules uses exactly the same terminology.

Chariots - Improved Saves wrote:by allowing the rider +1 to his armour saves against Wounds caused in close combat

Maximum Saves wrote:Some models gain additional benefits from rules that may increase any of their saves by +1 or +2 or even more. However, no save (armour, cover or invulnerable) can ever be improved beyond 2+. Regardless of what is giving the model its save, a roll of 1 always fails.
No way to worm out of this one. The two quotes above clearly show it is not the dice roll being modified in the case of Chariots.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/02/08 04:11:12


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Of course, if it were the dice roll and not the save characteristic, then AP would be based on the unmodified save characteristic...
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





If you roll a d6+1 the lowest you can roll is a 1. Your result would be a 2 , but you can still roll a 1.

You can modify your armor as per the raw and if you pass a save with that modification you save, as per the RAW.

However, as per the RAW if you roll a 1, you fail. That does not mean the result of your modified save but the roll on the dice when you look at it and see a number between 1 and 6. You may have a result of a 2 on a d6+1 but you got it from rolling a 1. That die right there is a 1. A roll of 1 is a fail. Did you roll a 1? Yes, you may have a total of 2 but because you rolled a 1 yo. Failed RAW
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I think we can safely lock this exercise in futility.

I mean seriously, the OP found the answer to his question like 1/3 of the way down the first page. There is no need to argue on when the effective result is the same.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: