Switch Theme:

Charge(s)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





 thedarkavenger wrote:
 Sigvatr wrote:
But there is only one way to rule the sequencing of charges and that's the one presented in the BRB...I'm confused :O



The BRB sequences them as individual rolls. But it also resolves them at a simultaneous moment.


No, it doesn't. It specifically and explicitely details them as being resolved one at a time - as I referenced above. There is only a single exception to this, multiple units declaring a charge against the same enemy unit, and this is also fully covered by the BRB and has also been detailed by me above.

This means that until a charge is resolved, multiple charges can be declared. Check the FAQ for details. A charge only becomes invalid after a unit has moved. So, if you declare multiple charges, you resolve them all.


This is downright wrong. Resolving any charges ONLY happens after ALL charges have been declared. This is 100% clear. I even posted a direct scan from the rulebook making this clear.

1. Declare all charges one by one. Enemy declares charge reaction for each charge after it has been declared.
2. Charges are resolved one at a time.

At this point, you must post any rules backing your differing viewpoint up. Remember this is WMDC and up to this point, it was only me who gave rules for backup.

I am having extreme trouble trying to understand your point as I don't see any rules backing them up, so I'd appreciate your input on this matter.

With all due respect but saying "Look at the FAQ!" is unsufficient in YMDC. If you refer to any source, you are expected to give either the direct quote or the pages for reference.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/15 13:31:20


   
Made in gb
Sinister Shapeshifter




The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.

 Sigvatr wrote:
 thedarkavenger wrote:
 Sigvatr wrote:
But there is only one way to rule the sequencing of charges and that's the one presented in the BRB...I'm confused :O



The BRB sequences them as individual rolls. But it also resolves them at a simultaneous moment.


No, it doesn't. It specifically and explicitely details them as being resolved one at a time - as I referenced above. There is only a single exception to this, multiple units declaring a charge against the same enemy unit, and this is also fully covered by the BRB and has also been detailed by me above.

This means that until a charge is resolved, multiple charges can be declared. Check the FAQ for details. A charge only becomes invalid after a unit has moved. So, if you declare multiple charges, you resolve them all.


This is downright wrong. Resolving any charges ONLY happens after ALL charges have been declared. This is 100% clear. I even posted a direct scan from the rulebook making this clear.

1. Declare all charges one by one. Enemy declares charge reaction for each charge after it has been declared.
2. Charges are resolved one at a time.

At this point, you must post any rules backing your differing viewpoint up. Remember this is WMDC and up to this point, it was only me who gave rules for backup.

I am having extreme trouble trying to understand your point as I don't see any rules backing them up, so I'd appreciate your input on this matter.

With all due respect but saying "Look at the FAQ!" is unsufficient in YMDC. If you refer to any source, you are expected to give either the direct quote or the pages for reference.



A. The rulebook says you resolve ALL charges. This does not, as you put it, mean individually. Rather, it means the opposite. Resolving all charges literally means resolve everything. At the same time.

B.And part of charge resolution is maximising upon entry. Which kind of limits how multi-charges work. As if I reolve my executioner horde onto a 5 wide unit of saurus, then the next charge will automatically fail. Even if you use the multicharge rules.

C. The FAQ in question is this: "Q: If a unit containing one or more characters has had its Movement Allowance altered, will this affect a character leaving the unit, including if he tries to charge out of it? (p101) A: Yes, but for that move only." So. the character only get's affected by the random roll for that particular charge.

Malifaux masters owned: Guild(Sans McCabe), Outcasts(Sans Misaki), Arcanists(Sans Marcus)

Check my blog that I just started: http://unionfaux.blogspot.co.uk/ 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





 thedarkavenger wrote:


A. The rulebook says you resolve ALL charges. This does not, as you put it, mean individually. Rather, it means the opposite. Resolving all charges literally means resolve everything. At the same time.


Rules quote missing.

B.And part of charge resolution is maximising upon entry. Which kind of limits how multi-charges work. As if I reolve my executioner horde onto a 5 wide unit of saurus, then the next charge will automatically fail. Even if you use the multicharge rules.


I have no idea what you're trying to say. Why would charging a 5-wide unit with a 10-wide unit automatically fail?

C. The FAQ in question is this: "Q: If a unit containing one or more characters has had its Movement Allowance altered, will this affect a character leaving the unit, including if he tries to charge out of it? (p101) A: Yes, but for that move only." So. the character only get's affected by the random roll for that particular charge.


Again, I don't get your point - what random roll?

   
Made in gb
Sinister Shapeshifter




The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.

 Sigvatr wrote:
 thedarkavenger wrote:


A. The rulebook says you resolve ALL charges. This does not, as you put it, mean individually. Rather, it means the opposite. Resolving all charges literally means resolve everything. At the same time.


Rules quote missing.

B.And part of charge resolution is maximising upon entry. Which kind of limits how multi-charges work. As if I reolve my executioner horde onto a 5 wide unit of saurus, then the next charge will automatically fail. Even if you use the multicharge rules.


I have no idea what you're trying to say. Why would charging a 5-wide unit with a 10-wide unit automatically fail?

C. The FAQ in question is this: "Q: If a unit containing one or more characters has had its Movement Allowance altered, will this affect a character leaving the unit, including if he tries to charge out of it? (p101) A: Yes, but for that move only." So. the character only get's affected by the random roll for that particular charge.


Again, I don't get your point - what random roll?


A. Look at the charge sequence picture you uploaded. I'm too lazy to upload one when it's already here and I can reference it. Step 4. You move all units. In any order you like. This means you resolve all charges. The order is inconsequential. But they count as being resolved at the same time for game purposes.

B. Because of maximisation. You charge and maximise, and if you maximise with the horde against a 5 wide unit, the multicharge would fail if charges are resolved individually. I have to say, I cannot say it simpler than this: MULTICHARGE MOSTLY FAIL IF YOU NO CHARGE AT SAME TIME.

C. The random roll of the dice alters the movement of the character. And until the unit itself moves, the other characters can charge out.

Malifaux masters owned: Guild(Sans McCabe), Outcasts(Sans Misaki), Arcanists(Sans Marcus)

Check my blog that I just started: http://unionfaux.blogspot.co.uk/ 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





 thedarkavenger wrote:


A. Look at the charge sequence picture you uploaded. I'm too lazy to upload one when it's already here and I can reference it. Step 4. You move all units. In any order you like. This means you resolve all charges. The order is inconsequential. But they count as being resolved at the same time for game purposes.


Downright incorrect, as stated above. p.18:

Work through the charges one at a time, in any
order decided by the player whose turn it is,
calculating the charge distance for each and
resolving the resultant successful or failed
charge before moving on to the next unit (the
only exception is when several units charge a
single target - see page 23).


This is fully, 100% crystal-clear. There is no ambigious "move all at the same time" misunderstanding possible. It explicitely tells everyone that you resolve charges one by one with one exception. Period.

B. Because of maximisation. You charge and maximise, and if you maximise with the horde against a 5 wide unit, the multicharge would fail if charges are resolved individually. MULTICHARGE MOSTLY FAIL IF YOU NO CHARGE AT SAME TIME.


How? If both a 10-wide and a 5-wide unit charge against a 5 wide enemy unit (and while technically possible, it won't happen most of the time), why would it automatically fail? Terrain might impede your movement and therefore let the charge fail, but other than that it is definitely possible to charge and maximize the amount of attacking models.

C. The random roll of the dice alters the movement of the character. And until the unit itself moves, the other characters can charge out.


Again, I honestly have no idea what you're talking of here. Are you referring to the random charge distance? The one that happens AFTER all charges have been declared?

   
Made in gb
Sinister Shapeshifter




The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.

 Sigvatr wrote:
 thedarkavenger wrote:


A. Look at the charge sequence picture you uploaded. I'm too lazy to upload one when it's already here and I can reference it. Step 4. You move all units. In any order you like. This means you resolve all charges. The order is inconsequential. But they count as being resolved at the same time for game purposes.


Downright incorrect, as stated above. p.18:

Work through the charges one at a time, in any
order decided by the player whose turn it is,
calculating the charge distance for each and
resolving the resultant successful or failed
charge before moving on to the next unit (the
only exception is when several units charge a
single target - see page 23).


This is fully, 100% crystal-clear. There is no ambigious "move all at the same time" misunderstanding possible. It explicitely tells everyone that you resolve charges one by one with one exception. Period.

B. Because of maximisation. You charge and maximise, and if you maximise with the horde against a 5 wide unit, the multicharge would fail if charges are resolved individually. MULTICHARGE MOSTLY FAIL IF YOU NO CHARGE AT SAME TIME.


How? If both a 10-wide and a 5-wide unit charge against a 5 wide enemy unit (and while technically possible, it won't happen most of the time), why would it automatically fail? Terrain might impede your movement and therefore let the charge fail, but other than that it is definitely possible to charge and maximize the amount of attacking models.

C. The random roll of the dice alters the movement of the character. And until the unit itself moves, the other characters can charge out.


Again, I honestly have no idea what you're talking of here. Are you referring to the random charge distance? The one that happens AFTER all charges have been declared?



A. Try moving seven charges at once. They are resolved one at a time. After EVERY charge has been declared. They don't count as being individual charges. If you have multiple characters charging out of a unit, for ease of play, they are all resolved singularly, but they count as taking place at the simultaneously. This means that you do not block out multiple charges from a unit, as you haven't rolled for them when you declare them.

B. Further proof of them being simultaneous occurrences. If I charge 5-wide saurus, with a horde of executioners and 5 wide dreadspears. If I put the either in first, and resolve it individually, the maximisation would limit the second unit for charging. It's why charges are resolved at a simultaneous point in time. Just rolled for separately.

C. It's the altering of his movement. His move is X". A charge is 2d6+X". Therefore, as per the FAQ, his movement is altered, and the unit is only affect for that specific move.

Malifaux masters owned: Guild(Sans McCabe), Outcasts(Sans Misaki), Arcanists(Sans Marcus)

Check my blog that I just started: http://unionfaux.blogspot.co.uk/ 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





 thedarkavenger wrote:


A. Try moving seven charges at once. They are resolved one at a time. After EVERY charge has been declared. They don't count as being individual charges. If you have multiple characters charging out of a unit, for ease of play, they are all resolved singularly, but they count as taking place at the simultaneously. This means that you do not block out multiple charges from a unit, as you haven't rolled for them when you declare them.


Again: you need rules to back your assertions up. The rules explicitely single each charge (resolution) out. If you want to prove otherwise, you need rule quotes explicitely stating so.

B. Further proof of them being simultaneous occurrences. If I charge 5-wide saurus, with a horde of executioners and 5 wide dreadspears. If I put the either in first, and resolve it individually, the maximisation would limit the second unit for charging. It's why charges are resolved at a simultaneous point in time. Just rolled for separately.


This is incorrect - again. There is a specific rule for simultaneous charges telling you exactly how to play them. It is referenced in the rules I quoted above. The rules explicitely say that, in this case, the charges are rolled at the same time.

C. It's the altering of his movement. His move is X". A charge is 2d6+X". Therefore, as per the FAQ, his movement is altered, and the unit is only affect for that specific move.


First of all, the unit does not have its movement allowance altered, therefore, the FAQ does not even take place. Secondly: both a character and a unit charge 2d6''. No alteration. And on top of that: again, as I already stated before, this all would take place after all charges have already been declared, making it pointless for the question at hand.

You really, really need to read the Charges chapter again. No offense, but I am under the impression that you have a lot of things mixed up in your mind. That can happen, from time to time, but please read up on Charges again to clear up possible misunderstandings.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/15 16:11:01


   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




TDA, I don't want to be mean here, but you're completely wrong here. The rules are 100% crystal clear (and have been for several years).

The ONLY time that you resolve more than one charge simultaneously is when multiple discreet units have declared a charge against the same target unit. The rule even uses the word "simultaneously" in that case. In all other cases, the rules specifically tell you to resolve each charge "in any order."

Again, if all charges were handled simultaneously as you assert, then you couldn't declare charges with screened units and one unit's failed charge could never end up blocking another unit's attempted charge. However, we know from specific reference in the rules that both cases can happen.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




TDA - you are reading an exception - the rules for multiple charges - and thinking it is the rule. If it were the rule then the exception - clearly stated as such - would not be needed

Charges are explicitly resolved one at a time, one after the other, in any order you like. The rules explicitly state this, with no room for ambiguity.
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: