Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 21:21:04
Subject: Volley Fire and Moving On From Reserve
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Eihnlazer wrote:Moving onto the table from reserves does not happen BEFORE the movement phase. It happens first thing during the movement phase. The models are moving onto the table. Only the reserve roll to see if they come on happens before the actual move phase.
Please provide actual rules to back up your claims, because the rulebook says otherwise.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/25 21:27:29
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 21:30:47
Subject: Volley Fire and Moving On From Reserve
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
As was pointed out, your interpretation means flyers die the second they come on the board.
Therefore, it is wrong, as that is blatently obvious to not be the intention.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 21:32:54
Subject: Volley Fire and Moving On From Reserve
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And has been pointed out, that doesn't magically change the words in the book. Please provide actual rules to support your claims or all you've done is proven GW is sloppy when it comes to writing rules.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 21:41:51
Subject: Volley Fire and Moving On From Reserve
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
And i never said they didnt.
Im saying that arguing that reserves are not in the movement phase is a completely useless argument, since it will never be played that way.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 22:02:57
Subject: Volley Fire and Moving On From Reserve
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And again, the rules are clear that they do move in at the start of the turn yet that's what you want to change. Why not make the simple change that that moving on from reserves counts as the units movement for that turn but occurs at the start of the turn as the rules clearly state? Why disregard the one clear rule instead of working around the ones that are unclear?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 22:05:15
Subject: Volley Fire and Moving On From Reserve
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ironically the answer is the same either way.
If arriving.from reserves is.movement then you are not stationary.during the movement phase.
If it is.before.the movement phase no model has any movement distance allowed for.a phase before.movementso they can never arrive from reserve onto the table.
With results in them not being able to benefit from volley fire
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 22:37:51
Subject: Volley Fire and Moving On From Reserve
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No, it's not the same either way if something requires you to be stationary during the Movement phase. Start of the turn is separate from the Movement phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/25 22:38:48
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 23:08:21
Subject: Volley Fire and Moving On From Reserve
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
its the same result.
how far can a unit move before the movement phase?
the only answer is -undefined.
or
-you have no permission to move any distance.
therefore you roll for reserves, you arrive, under your assumption that it is not the movement phase any unit in the game has 0 permission, and no movement distance listed for the phase before movement, therefore they never end up on the board.
Models move up to 6" in the Movement phase.
not in the phase before the movement phase... no unity entry specifies any movement for that phase either, so there is none.
therefore they do not benefit from volley fire.
same result, you cannot benefit from volley fire when arriving from reserves, see?
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/07/25 23:20:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 23:23:09
Subject: Volley Fire and Moving On From Reserve
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Correct me if I am remembering incorrectly, but is there not a Rule informing us how to handle Models which can not move fully onto the table? In this situation the Rules are clearly leading to broken situations, but they can technically function as written....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/25 23:25:22
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 23:38:11
Subject: Re:Volley Fire and Moving On From Reserve
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
there are rules for models that do not make it wholly onto the table due to other units being there or becoming immobilized as they move onto the table.
as you have no movement distance allowed in phase 1 which happens before movement, you can't even make it to the fail to move onto the table as you are required to have a move distance to not make the maximum distance of, which you do not have a move distance usable in the phase prior to movement.
When Reserves arrive, pick one of your arriving units and deploy it, moving it onto the table as described below. Then pick another arriving unit and deploy it, and so on until all arriving units are on the table. The player can then proceed to move his other units as normal. Note that you must first roll for all Reserves, and then move any arriving Reserves, before any other units can move.
this paragraph doesn't mention to move onto the movement phase, or that the before game phase has ended, but rather that you can proceed to move your other units as normal after the reserves has been performed. This strongly suggests that this movement is happening during the movement phase.
When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s table edge. Measure the model’s move from the edge of the table, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn. A unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from Reserve.
This rule doesn't say it must immediately move onto the table. It says that it must move onto the table. In the first phase, you resolve before movement things, in the second phase you resolve movement. You have no movement distance value for any unit before the movement phase, you are not required to immediately resolve the movement during the phase 1. You can wait until phase 2 when the unit is -allowed- to move, and has a defined distance it may move for every unit type, and then follow the rule of moving onto the table which satisfies that you must move.
therefore by RAW and Logic.
if you roll for reserves start of turn phase 1,
and move them on their allowed move distance during the move phase 2. Which is the first chance they are allowed to move.
You have satisfied that they must move onto the table.
and followed all the rules.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/07/25 23:44:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 23:43:32
Subject: Volley Fire and Moving On From Reserve
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
dpaway wrote:coredump wrote:The rules then state that those units arrive "that turn"
The rules do *not* state that they arrive during the 'beginning of the turn.' They also do not state they arrive during the movement phase.... the rules are not explicit in this.
Don't these two quotes indicate that reserves arrive at the "start of your turn"?
Page 135, the end of the second paragraph on Arriving From Reserve: "If the roll is less than 3, it remains in Reserve and automatically arrives at the start of your fourth turn."
Page 136, the second sentence on Ongoing Reserves: "Units in Ongoing Reserve always re-enter play at the start of the controlling player's following turn..."
Or am I misinterpreting this?
As has already been posted in this thread, highlighted for emphasis
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 23:44:38
Subject: Volley Fire and Moving On From Reserve
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s table edge.
great you arrived, when are you allowed to move to complete the must requirement?
and how far does any unit move before the movement phase? if no one can answer this I am not bothering to reply to anymore of the comments on this topic.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/26 00:14:34
|
|
 |
 |
|