Switch Theme:

Premature death in challenge.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Quickjager wrote:
I'm away from the codex so I cannot check, but everything is dependent on whether HoW is resolved before or after the challenge step. I would also have to check the assault section for more clear wording on challenges...


Every relevant bit has already been posted and the conclusion reached, why don't you just read it ?
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Quickjager wrote:
The way to resolve it following the rules would then be.

HoW is resolved, target is dead and whatever excess wounds remain get allocated.

However the rest of the attacks for the turn cannot be made by the DK.

Essentially HoW is his only attack for the turn.

Or

HoW is resolved as a part of the assault phase. Both sides continue to roll their to-hit and to-wound, etc.

After Initiative 1 attacks are resolved, saves are made FOR ALL. Then as the Initiative 10 attacks are resolved and the DK slays the challengee, the defeated losses all of its attacks after Initiative 10 step; the remaining attacks are still rolled to be saved however any failures are allocated to the unit.

I'm away from the codex so I cannot check, but everything is dependent on whether HoW is resolved before or after the challenge step. I would also have to check the assault section for more clear wording on challenges...


Read the thread, the green text (quoted above) in the challenge rules indicate that the challenge ends as soon as one of the challengers is slain (except for the purposes of 'outside forces'). I really can't see how your first interpretation can happen. A model can't spontaneously loose it's ability to swing for no reason. Your second interpretation doesn't answer the OPs question which is what WS/T the DK rolls against with it's subsequent attacks, fortunately this thread is all about that and we have all be discussing it at great length

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/11/14 11:26:43


 
   
Made in pr
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

 Quickjager wrote:
I'm away from the codex so I cannot check, but everything is dependent on whether HoW is resolved before or after the challenge step. I would also have to check the assault section for more clear wording on challenges...

Since it happens at initiative step 10, it would be after the challenge begins.

I'm less sure about the answer of this question having read through the rules again. The challenge is explicitely considered "ongoing" even in the initiative steps after one of the combatants is slain. If the DK can in fact attack again at Initiative 4 (like he would normally do if his opponents was still alive), would he attack against the Opponent's WS, T and armor save, even if that models is dead? Remember, any excess wounds would have been caused as a side-effect of fighting challangee itself, not from directly attacking his squad (who might have lower WS, worse armor saves, and so would otherwise probably be taking more wounds than if the challenge weren't happening). My gut feeling is that the DK does not get to attack, since he doesn't have a valid target. He is still in an ongoing challenge, and only has permission to strike blows against his challangee (any ancillary excess wounds that bleed over to the squad because he killed his opponent are sort of besides the point - he doesn't have permission to directly attack the squad until the turn after the challenge ends).

This is an issue in all cases where a model fights at two different initiative steps (e.g., Logan Grimnar). The rulebook seems to be sort of predicated on the notion that a model in a challenge is only ever fighting at one initiative level.

This message was edited 9 times. Last update was at 2014/11/14 15:30:49


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The remaining challenger can lose his attacks if he is no longer engaged though, since he can not pile in, he may be too far from the fighting. Admittedly this only happens rarely.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DanielBeaver wrote:
 Quickjager wrote:
I'm away from the codex so I cannot check, but everything is dependent on whether HoW is resolved before or after the challenge step. I would also have to check the assault section for more clear wording on challenges...

Since it happens at initiative step 10, it would be after the challenge begins.

I'm less sure about the answer of this question having read through the rules again. The challenge is explicitely considered "ongoing" even in the initiative steps after one of the combatants is slain. If the DK can in fact attack again at Initiative 4 (like he would normally do if his opponents was still alive), would he attack against the Opponent's WS, T and armor save, even if that models is dead? Remember, any excess wounds would have been caused as a side-effect of fighting challangee itself, not from directly attacking his squad (who might have lower WS, worse armor saves, and so would otherwise probably be taking more wounds than if the challenge weren't happening). My gut feeling is that the DK does not get to attack, since he doesn't have a valid target. He is still in an ongoing challenge, and only has permission to strike blows against his challangee (any ancillary excess wounds that bleed over to the squad because he killed his opponent are sort of besides the point - he doesn't have permission to directly attack the squad until the turn after the challenge ends).

This is an issue in all cases where a model fights at two different initiative steps (e.g., Logan Grimnar). The rulebook seems to be sort of predicated on the notion that a model in a challenge is only ever fighting at one initiative level.


Actually the rules state EXACTLY the OPPOSITE of that. They state that the challenge is ongoing for the purposes of 'outside forces', which implies that the challenge is over for all other purposes.
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight







I think he was talking about the DK specifically, in which case he is correct in his wording.

The DK is still in a challenge for everyone outside the bubble those 2 models previously occupied.

But for the DK, the challenge is over. Now we are reduced to scrounging through the rules to find something that says the remaining attacks can even be made.

 SHUPPET wrote:

wtf is this buddhist monk ascendant martial dice arts crap lol
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

... and who is engaged with an enemy model must fight.
A model is engaged in combat if:

-Determine who can Fight

As long as the Model meets the requirements after that section it has no choice, it is required to complete it's Attack unless something further Restricts it.
It is not a matter of finding something that says the remaining attacks have permission to be made, they have permission to do so by default.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/11/15 17:23:59


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Can Dreadknights declare challenges? Are they Character Monstrous Creatures?

Battlescribe Catalog Editor - Please report bugs here http://battlescribedata.appspot.com/#/repo/wh40k 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




axisofentropy wrote:
Can Dreadknights declare challenges? Are they Character Monstrous Creatures?


The Dreadknight is indeed, a character.
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt




US

This whole thread is a testament to just how stupid the 6th edition challenge rules were. But well done that man and his multicolor text explanation of how things work in 7th, which in my mind makes a lot more sense! Once you beat down the would-be challenger, you are quite free to start raining blows upon the demoralized underlings. Fluffy and crunchy together at last.

'Nids uber alles. And GK I guess . . . them too.

2k 'Nids
2k GK 
   
Made in hu
Devastating Dark Reaper




To summarize, what's happening, and why it's happening:

- DK charges, charge is resolved.
- DK challenges, archon accepts. Archon gets moved to be in base contact with DK, due to challenge rules.
- Combat phase starts.
- Because Archon is in BtB, DK resolves HoW at I10 on archon. Kills Archon, wins challenge.
- At I6 Incubi get to pile in 3" and attack. If there would be other models in this particular close combat, they should have attacked those models. Because only DK is in this close combat, by the rules of Outside Force, Incubi get the opportunity to hit the DK.
- At I4 DK could make pile in move, but as Incubi have already done that, he stays. Challenge rules say, that is still inside the challenge (because he was at I10), until the end of the phase! So he proceeds to do his attacks against the WS and T of the archon. If he does any wounds, all these wound spill over to the Incubi (allocation).
- DK did 3+x wounds, Incubi did y wounds, determine who won the combat, etc.

This is one of the things that 7th made better and easier.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Tyrpak wrote:
- At I4 DK could make pile in move, but as Incubi have already done that, he stays. Challenge rules say, that is still inside the challenge (because he was at I10), until the end of the phase! So he proceeds to do his attacks against the WS and T of the archon. If he does any wounds, all these wound spill over to the Incubi (allocation).
How are you rolling Attacks against a model that isn't there?
   
Made in hu
Devastating Dark Reaper




 grendel083 wrote:
Tyrpak wrote:
- At I4 DK could make pile in move, but as Incubi have already done that, he stays. Challenge rules say, that is still inside the challenge (because he was at I10), until the end of the phase! So he proceeds to do his attacks against the WS and T of the archon. If he does any wounds, all these wound spill over to the Incubi (allocation).
How are you rolling Attacks against a model that isn't there?


"When one of the combatants in a challenge is slain,regardless of which initiative step it is, the challenge is still considered to be ongoing until the end of the phase for the purposes of Outside Forces (see opposite)"

Ongoing challenge, with the challengee still being the Archon.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Tyrpak wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Tyrpak wrote:
- At I4 DK could make pile in move, but as Incubi have already done that, he stays. Challenge rules say, that is still inside the challenge (because he was at I10), until the end of the phase! So he proceeds to do his attacks against the WS and T of the archon. If he does any wounds, all these wound spill over to the Incubi (allocation).
How are you rolling Attacks against a model that isn't there?


"When one of the combatants in a challenge is slain,regardless of which initiative step it is, the challenge is still considered to be ongoing until the end of the phase for the purposes of Outside Forces (see opposite)"

Ongoing challenge, with the challengee still being the Archon.


You left part out.

For the duration of the challenge, these two models are considered to be in base contact with each other and, when rolling To Hit and To Wound, they always use the Weapon Skill and Toughness of their opponent.


   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Tyrpak wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Tyrpak wrote:
- At I4 DK could make pile in move, but as Incubi have already done that, he stays. Challenge rules say, that is still inside the challenge (because he was at I10), until the end of the phase! So he proceeds to do his attacks against the WS and T of the archon. If he does any wounds, all these wound spill over to the Incubi (allocation).
How are you rolling Attacks against a model that isn't there?


"When one of the combatants in a challenge is slain,regardless of which initiative step it is, the challenge is still considered to be ongoing until the end of the phase for the purposes of Outside Forces (see opposite)"

Ongoing challenge, with the challengee still being the Archon.


The challenge is only considered ongoing for the purposes of outside forces. For all other purposes the challenge is over and therefore the dk can strike whoever he wishes as normal because he is no longer in a challenge.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: