Switch Theme:

Deathmarks, Hunters from Hyperspace & Veil of Darkness  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

rigeld2 wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
My argument is that you use only a sub-set of the DS rules, as is required by all 3 of those rules (using the word "arrive"). Correct.

That's your assumption, not what the rules actually say. None of them say "using the Arrive by Deep Strike rules". Thank you for admitting that you assume a subset because if fits your argument.

- You are required to use ALL the DS rules, which as shown, you cannot do.
. . . You counter this by saying you need to use the DS rules, and therefore you can ignore the DS requirements by using the DS rule.
So you are saying the Deep Strike Rule allow you to bypass the Deep Strike rules because you are using Deep Strike rules. Can you see the issue yet?

Yes, I see that you can't read, or are being deliberately obtuse.

It's turn 3 and I want to activate my VoD. Am I allowed to?


I have previously explained why only a subset applies. The rules would not work otherwise.
It is what the rules say:
They then immediately arrive anywhere on the board using the rules for deepstrike.

Explain "Arrive using the rules for DS". Clearly, it is "Arriving by Deep Strike"

Turn 3, you can indeed activate VoD. It uses the rules "Arriving by Deep Strike". They never enter Reserves (or any form thereof).

Of course you can use a rule. You cannot however assume thing from other rules. (Such as randomly visiting Reserves every time a rule says you move by DS)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/11 17:48:58


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Nevermind. I'm done - you continue to frame your responses as if your argument is inviolate.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

rigeld2 wrote:
No, I'm not.
"Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows:"
You don't have to roll, but the Deep Striking units are still arriving. Agreed? If they're not arriving, why are you even referencing the "Arriving by Deep Strike" section?
Where are they arriving from?
It's simple: They arrive from the board.
Deep Strike might require them to be in the reserves, but the VoD gives them permission to Deep Strike without being in Deep Strike Reserve.

That might contradict with the rule, but as you said: Basic versus Advanced.
You can just ignore the part about Deep Strike Reserve.

Now if you want to argue that they first go into Deep Strike Reserve than please cite permission to do so.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

rigeld2 wrote:
Nevermind. I'm done - you continue to frame your responses as if your argument is inviolate.


Sorry if i frustrated you with this. Of course i frame responses as if the argument is inviolate as it is exactly what i read from the RaW.

It would be like arguing that the following:
"They then immediately arrive anywhere on the board using the rules for deepstrike."

Arrives immediately, and not 2 Turns later... I cannot see how else i can read "arrive using the rules for DS" mean anything but just exactly what it says: "Arriving by Deep Strike".

I would compare it to a rule stating:
"This Unit moves using the rules for Walkers" But it is Type: Heavy Tank

I am arguing that you follow the rules found in:
MOVING WALKERS
Walkers move using the movement rules for Infantry.

While you would be arguing how they must follow all the rules found in "Walkers".

In the above, the rule clearly only refers to movement and the movement phase but nothing else. I cannot see how the VoD, GoI and Skies rules can refer to anything else (reserves, starting the game - deployment) but "Arriving by deep strike."

I would go further with this and say that Skies of Fury actually only refers to "deploy them as follows" and the 3 bullet points. The rest of the rules do not apply, as SoF: "disembark using the Skies of Fury special rule" - The Unit is disembarking, which adds pretty much all the restrictions DS would have given them: cannot move + fire as having moved. It then specifies that they may not charge (as this is not in the Rules for DS that are being used). (RaW: deploy the squad as if it were deep striking onto that point.)
The above specification for SoF makes so much sense that i wonder if it was not RaI. I play Sisters of Battle so there is no conflict of interest here.


This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/02/12 11:43:00


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





Something can't be in Deep Strike Reserves, if it's not held in reserves. a VoD unit is in play at all time, at no point is it held in reserves.

Death Korps of Krieg Siege Army 1500 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: