Switch Theme:

Fortifications and Deep Strike (Poll edition!)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Please read the thread below and choose the answer you believe is correct.
A
B
C

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

So many people ignoring raw. "If my army with its ultimate formations n what not can't do it, one of the weakest armies can't do it! Sheesh! "
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Sunhero wrote:
that is possibly countered by "Moving into or out of a building works the same as embarking or disembarking from a vehicle...all of the normal rules apply" p.110 depending on your interpretation of "move"


That simply tells us the rules for how we move models into or out of buildings, but not whether or not we may. Specific permission to do so in reserves refers only to Transport vehicles. Additionally, we can draw a comparison to the Deployment rules and how we may embark units during that point, and Transport vehicles and buildings/fortifications are very clearly separately defined, i.e. they are not the same.

Pain4Pleasure wrote:
So many people ignoring raw. "If my army with its ultimate formations n what not can't do it, one of the weakest armies can't do it! Sheesh! "


The power, or lack thereof, of an interpretation of a rule has no bearing on its legality.

Nor does claiming RAW and then refusing to substantiate the statement against it being refuted make it correct.

As it stands so far as I can see a building/fortification is still not a Transport vehicle. Moving into or out of a building may work the same way as embarking or disembarking from a transport and all the normal rules for doing so apply, but we only have permission to declare Independent Characters or units embarked on Transport vehicles in reserves, so the equivalence of how they may do so for buildings is irrelevant.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/18 05:18:39


 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

 Mr. Shine wrote:
Sunhero wrote:
that is possibly countered by "Moving into or out of a building works the same as embarking or disembarking from a vehicle...all of the normal rules apply" p.110 depending on your interpretation of "move"


That simply tells us the rules for how we move models into or out of buildings, but not whether or not we may. Specific permission to do so in reserves refers only to Transport vehicles. Additionally, we can draw a comparison to the Deployment rules and how we may embark units during that point, and Transport vehicles and buildings/fortifications are very clearly separately defined, i.e. they are not the same.

Pain4Pleasure wrote:
So many people ignoring raw. "If my army with its ultimate formations n what not can't do it, one of the weakest armies can't do it! Sheesh! "


The power, or lack thereof, of an interpretation of a rule has no bearing on its legality.

Nor does claiming RAW and then refusing to substantiate the statement against it being refuted make it correct.

As it stands so far as I can see a building/fortification is still not a Transport vehicle. Moving into or out of a building may work the same way as embarking or disembarking from a transport and all the normal rules for doing so apply, but we only have permission to declare Independent Characters or units embarked on Transport vehicles in reserves, so the equivalence of how they may do so for buildings is irrelevant.


So you're saying it uses all the same rules.. but it doesn't in the sense of deepstrike? You've enlightened me good sir.. I suggest you go back and read the previous rules quotes, showing the legality of the ability.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Pain4Pleasure wrote:
So you're saying it uses all the same rules.. but it doesn't in the sense of deepstrike? You've enlightened me good sir.. I suggest you go back and read the previous rules quotes, showing the legality of the ability.


What the rules actually say:

"Moving into or out of a building works the same as embarking or disembarking from a vehicle, including emergency disembarkations."

It's irrelevant in this situation because the Archon is not "moving into or out of the building".

So basically if you want to move into or out of the building you do so in the same way that embarking or disembarking from a vehicle works. That's not the same thing as saying that moving into or out of a building are the same thing, or that you can count as moving into or out of a building any time you're allowed to embark upon or disembark from a Transport vehicle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/18 07:18:49


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: