Switch Theme:

Does Psychic Shriek roll to Hit? If so, how many rolls?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 insaniak wrote:
...[A]s Nos pointed out, failing your to-hit roll makes no difference to a power that isn't rolling to wound... So in this particular case, you have a rule that requires you to roll to hit (with an unspecified number of dice) but the result of that roll has absolutely no impact on whether or not the power resolves, and so the to-hit roll can safely be ignored with no impact on the resolution of the power.


This is correct 100%

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando




Malus Dei

I assumed, that when the power says roll 3d6 and subtract the targets LD, that, THAT is the way to hit with this power. And whatever is over are the wounds obviously. Reading all these replies, its sort of hard to follow what people are getting at..

Thy Mum 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Charistoph wrote:
col_impact wrote:
[Psychic Shriek is witchfire per the rules.

Spoiler:
a witchfire power must roll To Hit


That you have to roll To Hit and roll To Wound is indisputable. The rules break when you try to resolve the To Wound roll. So everyone is in house rule land when it comes to Psychic Shriek. There is no RAW way of resolving the power.

You can play Psychic Shriek in such a way that it acts like a witchfire shooting attack [approach A].

Or you can play Psychic Shriek in such a way that it acts like a custom attack , e.g. Gaze of Death. [approach B]


An advantage of approach A is it retains rules for what we know is certain and established, i.e. that Psychic Shriek is witchfire

An advantage of approach B is that it clear-cuts away all the broken rules down to what you can resolve.

A disadvantage of approach B however is that Psychic Shriek becomes very OP as an auto-hit 1 Warp Charge attack that rivals D weapons in potency.


It's up to your play environment how Psychic Shriek gets house-ruled. ITC and Adepticon use approach A but of course your play group is free to do what they want. Following approach B grants a power buff to some Nid units which can be desirable.

There is also Option C. It has to Roll To Hit, but it has a different Wounding method as defined in its rules.

PS's problem is that while it addresses its lack of a Weapon profile for Wounding, it does not define a volume To Hit with. Is it just one? Is it automatic? This is not defined. It should be just one or automatic, but that is just assumed, either way.


Your option C is my option A.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
...[A]s Nos pointed out, failing your to-hit roll makes no difference to a power that isn't rolling to wound... So in this particular case, you have a rule that requires you to roll to hit (with an unspecified number of dice) but the result of that roll has absolutely no impact on whether or not the power resolves, and so the to-hit roll can safely be ignored with no impact on the resolution of the power.


This is correct 100%


Incorrect. The To Hit roll leads to a To Wound roll which determines if the hit actually wounds the target. However, you don't have what you need to complete the To Wound roll and the game halts. You are in house rule land.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/28 00:15:06


 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





As other have suggested...

Roll to hit.

Then ignore the roll and do something else.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 JimOnMars wrote:
As other have suggested...

Roll to hit.

Then ignore the roll and do something else.


What do you about the requisite To Wound roll that you cannot ignore?
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

col_impact wrote:
 JimOnMars wrote:
As other have suggested...

Roll to hit.

Then ignore the roll and do something else.


What do you about the requisite To Wound roll that you cannot ignore?

The rules for the Power already cover this. Have you read it?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Charistoph wrote:
col_impact wrote:
 JimOnMars wrote:
As other have suggested...

Roll to hit.

Then ignore the roll and do something else.


What do you about the requisite To Wound roll that you cannot ignore?

The rules for the Power already cover this. Have you read it?


The power makes no mention of a To Wound roll.
Spoiler:
Psychic Shriek is a witchfire power with a range of 18". Roll 3D6 and subtract the
target’s Leadership – the target unit suffers a number of Wounds equal to the result.
Armour and cover saves cannot be taken against Wounds caused by Psychic Shriek.


You are required to make To Wound rolls in the Shooting Sequence for successful To Hit rolls. The To Wound roll determines if you wound the target.

Spoiler:
Roll To Wound. For each shot that hit, roll again to see if it wounds the target.


You can go ahead and treat the roll mentioned in the text as a To Wound roll or in place of a To Wound roll, but that is either guessing or house ruling. The rules as written do not actually designate the 3d6 roll as a To Wound roll which is a very specific roll in the game. However, house ruling it as a replacement for the To Wound roll is probably the most elegant house rule.

Basically, RAW is broken. We are in house rule land. Requiring a roll To Hit and using the text as a custom To Wound roll is an elegant house rule for the broken psychic shriek rules.

This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2016/01/28 02:17:41


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

col_impact wrote:
The power makes no mention of a To Wound roll.
Spoiler:
Psychic Shriek is a witchfire power with a range of 18". Roll 3D6 and subtract the
target’s Leadership – the target unit suffers a number of Wounds equal to the result.
Armour and cover saves cannot be taken against Wounds caused by Psychic Shriek.


You are required to make To Wound rolls in the Shooting Sequence for successful To Hit rolls. The To Wound roll determines if you wound the target.

Spoiler:
Roll To Wound. For each shot that hit, roll again to see if it wounds the target.


You can go ahead and treat the roll mentioned in the text as a To Wound roll or in place of a To Wound roll, but that is either guessing or house ruling. The rules as written do not actually designate the 3d6 roll as a To Wound roll which is a very specific roll in the game. However, house ruling it as a replacement for the To Wound roll is probably the most elegant house rule.

Basically, RAW is broken. We are in house rule land. Requiring a roll To Hit and using the text as a custom To Wound roll is an elegant house rule for the broken psychic shriek rules.

Yes, it is in place of To-Wound roll because that is following how the rule is written. To ignore this is to ignore the rule. This is not guessing or house ruling, it is processing the rule as it is written. Remember how when something Advanced comes along and conflicts with something Basic? Here you go.

Go ahead and try and prove this incorrect.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/28 03:35:38


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Charistoph wrote:
col_impact wrote:
The power makes no mention of a To Wound roll.
Spoiler:
Psychic Shriek is a witchfire power with a range of 18". Roll 3D6 and subtract the
target’s Leadership – the target unit suffers a number of Wounds equal to the result.
Armour and cover saves cannot be taken against Wounds caused by Psychic Shriek.


You are required to make To Wound rolls in the Shooting Sequence for successful To Hit rolls. The To Wound roll determines if you wound the target.

Spoiler:
Roll To Wound. For each shot that hit, roll again to see if it wounds the target.


You can go ahead and treat the roll mentioned in the text as a To Wound roll or in place of a To Wound roll, but that is either guessing or house ruling. The rules as written do not actually designate the 3d6 roll as a To Wound roll which is a very specific roll in the game. However, house ruling it as a replacement for the To Wound roll is probably the most elegant house rule.

Basically, RAW is broken. We are in house rule land. Requiring a roll To Hit and using the text as a custom To Wound roll is an elegant house rule for the broken psychic shriek rules.

Yes, it is in place of To-Wound roll because that is following how the rule is written. To ignore this is to ignore the rule. This is not guessing or house ruling, it is processing the rule as it is written. Remember how when something Advanced comes along and conflicts with something Basic? Here you go.

Go ahead and try and prove this incorrect.


In order for Advanced to replace something Basic it needs to be clear what the advanced rule is replacing or it won't replace the basic rule that is there.

For example

Spoiler:
To resolve a Destroyer weapon’s attack, roll To Hit as you would for a standard attack. If the attack hits, roll on the table above instead of rolling To Wound or for armour penetration.


Spoiler:
Graviton
The roll needed To Wound when firing a weapon with this special rule is always equal to the armour save of the target, to a minimum of 6+. For example, when resolving a hit against a model with a 3+ armour save, you would need a 3+ To Wound. When resolving a hit against a vehicle, roll a D6 for each hit instead of rolling for armour penetration as normal. On a 1-5 nothing happens, but on a 6, the target suffers an Immobilised result and loses a Hull Point. These weapons have no effect on buildings.


Spoiler:
Template weapons are indicated by having the word ‘Template’ for their range instead of a number. Instead of rolling To Hit, simply place the template so that its narrow end is touching the base of the firing model and the rest of the template covers as many models in the target unit as possible, without touching any other friendly models (including other models from the firing model’s unit).



The Psychic Shriek text needs to specify that the roll is "in place of" or "instead of" the To Wound roll or that the blurb is a specific redefining of the To Wound roll.

As it is now there is no other way to read it except that Psychic Shriek requires a To Wound roll AND the roll in the blurb on Psychic Shriek. In order to hammer replace the basic with the advanced the rule needs to redefine the named To Wound roll or indicate that a new roll is 'instead of' the To Wound roll.

At least that is how the RAW goes. A minor bit of guesswork connects the dots and makes the blurb a Wound roll in place of the To Wound roll. But that is house ruling as it is not written explicitly in the rule. Strictly read there are TWO rolls having to do with wounds to be made.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2016/01/28 03:57:32


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

col_impact wrote:
In order for Advanced to replace something Basic it needs to be clear what the advanced rule is replacing or it won't replace the basic rule that is there.

Incorrect, there needs to be a conflict. A specific note of replacement need not be clear. For example, no Str for a Shooting Attack, but a way to determine the number of Wounds from an Attack.

Spoiler:
Where advanced rules apply to a specific model, they always override any contradicting basic rules. For example, the basic rules state that a model must take a Morale check under certain situations. If, however, that model has a special rule that makes it immune to Morale checks, then it does not take such checks – the advanced rule takes precedence. On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex or Army List Entry always takes precedence.

Psychic Shriek has a way to determine the Wounds it generates against a unit. What Psychic Shriek does not have or contradict normal rules is how to hit with it.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Charistoph wrote:
col_impact wrote:
In order for Advanced to replace something Basic it needs to be clear what the advanced rule is replacing or it won't replace the basic rule that is there.

Incorrect, there needs to be a conflict. A specific note of replacement need not be clear. For example, no Str for a Shooting Attack, but a way to determine the number of Wounds from an Attack.

Spoiler:
Where advanced rules apply to a specific model, they always override any contradicting basic rules. For example, the basic rules state that a model must take a Morale check under certain situations. If, however, that model has a special rule that makes it immune to Morale checks, then it does not take such checks – the advanced rule takes precedence. On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where this occurs, the rule printed in the codex or Army List Entry always takes precedence.

Psychic Shriek has a way to determine the Wounds it generates against a unit. What Psychic Shriek does not have or contradict normal rules is how to hit with it.


There really isn't a conflict however. There is nothing preventing the two rolls from coexisting unless one is specified as replacing the other or is specified as a redefinition of the other.

RAW, you have two rolls.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/28 04:03:12


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Either way, I don't think there's anything productive to be gained by continuing here.


To summarise - Yes, by strict RAW, Psychic Shriek needs to roll to hit.

But the general opinion is that we should just assume that the to hit roll can be ignored as it, depending on viewpoint, either (a)is irrelevant to resolving the power anyway, or (b)breaks the game.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: