Switch Theme:

The fate of Krieg in 8th edition?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought





Boston, MA

Yeah exactly... you can definitely take it, in the same detachment... it just won't have the <Death Korps of Krieg> keyword, which means you can't give it orders or it cannot be effected by rules/auras that only effect DKoK (like cult of sacrifice).


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/07/09 16:00:38


Please check out my photo blog: http://atticwars40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I always seem to mix up the whole Detachment and who can join thing lol. Personally for me I think I'd still do it for ease of remembering and also to earn some more command points.

19th Krieg Siege Army 7500pts.
40k/HH Night Lords 5000pts.
Orks Waaaghmacht Spearhead 2500pts.
 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello,

I'm completely new to this forum and have only just return to 40k from a long absence having been tempted back in by 8th. Before I went off the game for a few reasons, I collected DkoK, but never actually got to use them, so I'm hoping now is my chance so my money wasnt wasted. I stumbled across this thread as I was hoping to find out more about Dkok rules for 8th but now they have been released, Im also looking for clarification on things, as this is once again all new to me, but you guys seem to know whats what, so Im hoping you can straighten out a few things for me.

I'm really pleased with the Dkok riders as their rules look great now, makes buying the models worth while as I was of the opinion there were some of the best looking models ever brought out with the exception of the static poses.

The Hades team has completely thrown me with dropping the engineers, I thought as a team that was the whole point, they are close combat and they appear out of the ground and rush the enemy with shotguns. I don't suppose anyone know why this changed for the worse? This is also where I need help with 8th clarifications. The rules for hades with 8th has it popping out of the ground more that 9" like the standard 8th for deepstrike, what Im trying to understand is how it works as a transport vehicle, as 8th for transports you have to deploy infantry at the beginning of the movement turn from a transport, but sub' assault has to be at the end. Does the "Separate orders" overrule this? So example game; end of movement hades pops up 9" away from enemy, when it does this do you then deploy the vets 3" around it upon its arrival? And can the vets then shoot and charge? To me its sound like you should be able to do this, but if someone can clarify I would appreciate it.

Other queries, Heavy flamer for Grenadiers is not an option? Am I correct in saying this, as I have the model, but grenadiers appear to only be able to take special weapons not heavy weapons. Also the mole launcher is not listed as a heavy weapon or a special weapon, but can only be taken by engineers. Would it not be counted as a heavy weapon in a heavy weapon list? I only say for this one as I had three to run as a HW team, but worse case they make for a good rocket HW team.

Other than this the rules for Dkok are sound and I love Marshal Karis, his rules look like fun. My only other big gripe is how pricey my Quad launchers are for what they can do, when compared with Wyverns. S5 on quads to S4 on Wyverns isnt a great difference when you see they are the same points value for shot output, but Wyverns have 11W and can move 12" in comparison to 6W and no movement for the same point price. If I could ask FW to change one big thing, my option would be to give it a -1AP to make its value worth while. Make those shots count.

Well any help with my queries about would be greatfully recieved and I look forward to talking more Dkok, now that Ive found a forum. Lets hope the future gets better for DK

Thanks.
   
Made in us
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought





Boston, MA

Yeah no heavy flamers for Grenadiers and the Hades can only field veterans - at this time anyway. It is quite clear FW rushed this book out and there are a lot of mistakes and omissions. I suspect they'll all get straightened out though.

The storm chimera is decent, not as much shooting power as the gryphonne, and apparently they only included the laser array by mistake, meaning it will be gone (according the email queries)... but the bonus to save against T4 is actually really nice in the new version of 40k - because double-tapping bolters can put a hurt on a lot of things now.

Please check out my photo blog: http://atticwars40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in ca
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





 Gunzhard wrote:
Yeah exactly... you can definitely take it, in the same detachment... it just won't have the <Death Korps of Krieg> keyword, which means you can't give it orders or it cannot be effected by rules/auras that only effect DKoK (like cult of sacrifice).




Yes this is exactly correct. You could throw Sgt.Harker in your DKOK army, in the same detachment, with no penalties because of the <Imperium> and <AM> keywords. The artillery follows the same rules, their absence from the little list at the start of the DKOK list just means they can't apply the <Krieg> regimental keyword to themselves and so don't receive the specific bonuses conferred by that regimental keyword, and cannot receive orders from officers of that regiment. They can be freely taken in ANY <Imperium> detachment though, including Krieg.
   
Made in us
Imperial Recruit in Training





Please, do not worry about the Death Korps! The rule book released at the current time is the same as Games Workshops Pre- Codex. Soon these rules will be updated and fixed when the typos are pointed out.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: