Switch Theme:

What counts as units of entirely cretchin?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




U.k

FAQ answers this.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

And the wording of that FAQ...

Q: Does the Grots ability mean that units such as Mek Gunz and Killa Kans do not benefit from a Clan Kultur?

A: Yes – they do not benefit from a Clan Kultur. Furthermore, Ork Stratagems can only be used on these units if they explicitly state so (e.g. the Grot Shields Stratagem).

Designer’s Note: Although many grots follow a particular clan into war, due to their puny and feeble nature they do not themselves exhibit the traits of any particular clan (for example, the teef of grots within a Bad Moons warband do not grow any faster). For this reason, grots do not benefit from any Clan Kultur. This includes Big Gunz from Index: Xenos 2, and Grot Tanks and Grot Mega-tanks from Imperial Armour – Index: Xenos, all of which are, for rules purposes, considered to be units comprised entirely of Gretchin.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

What a shocker (not).

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





St. Louis, MO

 Ghaz wrote:
And the wording of that FAQ...

Q: Does the Grots ability mean that units such as Mek Gunz and Killa Kans do not benefit from a Clan Kultur?

A: Yes – they do not benefit from a Clan Kultur. Furthermore, Ork Stratagems can only be used on these units if they explicitly state so (e.g. the Grot Shields Stratagem).

Designer’s Note: Although many grots follow a particular clan into war, due to their puny and feeble nature they do not themselves exhibit the traits of any particular clan (for example, the teef of grots within a Bad Moons warband do not grow any faster). For this reason, grots do not benefit from any Clan Kultur. This includes Big Gunz from Index: Xenos 2, and Grot Tanks and Grot Mega-tanks from Imperial Armour – Index: Xenos, all of which are, for rules purposes, considered to be units comprised entirely of Gretchin.


I'm glad the finally got the FAQ released and even happier that they didn't overlook this one.
No reason to dispute any points made earlier since it's clearly their RAI, and that's all that matters, once it's FAQed.

Might sound odd, but thanks to those I was "arguing" against for (mostly) not being outright A-holes. YMDC had a horrid reputation for that type of person back in the day, which was why I avoided it for so long. I felt a little trepidation about sticking my toes in the water here for this topic. I don't regret it.

Eric

Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

The FAQ didn't really change anything. It confirmed what we were saying all along, that the rules as written say that Mek Gunz are "... a unit comprised entirely of GRETCHIN...".

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




London UK

 Ghaz wrote:
The FAQ didn't really change anything. It confirmed what we were saying all along, that the rules as written say that Mek Gunz are "... a unit comprised entirely of GRETCHIN...".


but it changed this,

Q: Do Snakebite Gretchin units from my army benefit from
the Monster Hunters Stratagem?
A: No.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Edit: Derp

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/11/21 16:45:56


 
   
Made in gb
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




London UK

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Nithaniel wrote:
Ah thanks for the clarfication on mixed grot units.

So all cultures and most strats won't work with grot units. The only one that I can find that might have some mileage is the Snakebite strat I think its called monster hunters (don't have my dex to hand), Its something like target enemy model with wounds over 10, add 1 to wound rolls against that model made by snakebite units for the phase. but its 3cp

If you take mek gunz in a snakebite detachment I'm assuming they would benefit from the strat. They are not specifically being targeted by the strat and do get the clan keyword.

Is this correct?
You are correct. The Grots rule explicitly states "Ork Stratagems can only be used on these units if the Stratagem explicitly states so." Monster Hunters is used on an enemy unit, and the Grots rule doesn't prevent Gretchin units from benefiting from stratagems, you just can't use stratagems on them.


But BCB doesn't the ork faq contradict our discussion here. The question in the faq is vague enough to say they don't benefit but their attacks do but I am assuming that gw are implying here (confusingly) that snakebites units entirely comprised of gretchin will not have their wound roll modified by the monster hunters strat.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Special Snowflake FAQ is a Special Snowflake, not much else to say really.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: