Switch Theme:

GSC/AM orders interaction  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Been Around the Block




 Cadian16th wrote:
Has GW addressed what happens when a Commissar is given the Master of Command warlord trait? He doesn't have a <Regiment>, so who can he issue Orders to?


They have addressed this, yes. The Commissar gains the ability to Order any <Regiment> Infantry unit, irrespective of the <Regiment> it comes from.
   
Made in gb
Audacious Atalan Jackal



UK

Pakman184 wrote:
 Cadian16th wrote:
Has GW addressed what happens when a Commissar is given the Master of Command warlord trait? He doesn't have a <Regiment>, so who can he issue Orders to?


They have addressed this, yes. The Commissar gains the ability to Order any <Regiment> Infantry unit, irrespective of the <Regiment> it comes from.


Yeah it would be awesome to have Commissar as broodbrothers warlord! But shame that you cannot have warlord in broodbrothers deatchment.
It is in Broodbrothers rule.



 
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Somerdale, NJ, USA

Solidcrash wrote:
You guys keeping make my eye twitches every time “we need FAQ this and that”
I give in, no more lurking.
It’s simple!

Broodbrothers can take Orders as this
Take Aim!
First Rank, Fire! Second Rank, Fire!
Bring it Down!
Forwards for the Emperor! (four arm Emperor)
Get Back in the Fight!
Move! Move! Move!
Fix Bayonets!

And for Lemen russ-
Full Throttle!
Gunners, Kill on Sight!
Strike and Shroud!


The Orders that Broodbrothers do not allow to use -
Pound Them to Dust! ( Cadian )
Burn Them Out! ( Catachan )
Fire on My Command! ( Valhallan )
Repel the Enemy! ( Vostroyan )
Get Around Behind Them! ( Tallarn (Tank Order))
Elimination Protocal Sanctioned! ( Militarum Tempestus (I know, but still, you can’t))
Form Firing Squad! ( Mordian )

Simple!

Same story as Stratagem, you can’t use Cadian, Catachan, Valhallan, Vostroyan, Tallarn, Militarum Tempestus and Mordian stratagems.

I know there are hint at Militarum Tempestus, Stratagem and order and stuff but Broodbrothers cannot use that because this order and Stratagem cannot change.


I agree with this interpretation and the fluff seems to supports it too.

Something like: "Brood Brother regiments are among the finest example of a disciplined astra militarum regiment". You can't tell me that Brood Brother regiments that fought along side Imperial regiments didn't follow "orders" when commanded to.

"The only problem with your genepool is that there wasn't a lifeguard on duty to prevent you from swimming."

"You either die a Morty, or you live long enough to see yourself become a Rick."

- 8k /// - 5k /// - 5k /// - 6k /// - 6k /// - 4k /// - 4k /// Cust - 3k 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





If BROOD BROTHERS is treated as <REGIMENT> keyword and can receive orders, that means GSC Bullgryns can receive orders while AM ones cannot. Double moving/double fighting bullgryns? I'm not sure I'd be willing to play against someone who tries to pull something like that.

--- 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 slave.entity wrote:
If BROOD BROTHERS is treated as <REGIMENT> keyword and can receive orders, that means GSC Bullgryns can receive orders while AM ones cannot. Double moving/double fighting bullgryns? I'm not sure I'd be willing to play against someone who tries to pull something like that.


It's indeed completely legal. The very first Designer Commentary stated that if keywords share a name the type of keyword doesn't matter after the game starts, so while BROOD BROTHERS might not have come from <Regiment> on the Bullgryn it still allows them to receive Orders.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Looks like we got 2 clarifications and one Special Snowflake in the FAQ.
Q: Are units in Brood Brothers Detachments restricted from
using Regimental Orders, or all orders?
A: Regimental Orders.

Q: Can Brood Brothers units in a Genestealer Cults
Detachment be the target of orders issued by units with the
Voice of Command or Tank Orders ability from friendly Brood
Brothers Detachments?
A: Yes.

Q: Units in friendly Astra Militarum Detachments gain the
Brood Brothers keyword if they do not have the Militarum
Tempestus or <Regiment> keyword. If such units that could
not previously receive orders (such as Ogryns) gain the Brood
Brothers keyword, can they now receive orders?
A: No.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/25 16:41:59


 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard






uk

That’s fairly emphatic and I’m glad. Makes taking a guard HQ less a penalty and more a blessing. Being able to order gsc brood brothers units is also great. DS’ing Tempestus HQ with a mob of cult ambush brood brothers could be very functional!

Masochist: Hit me!
Sadist: No.

Hive Fleet Kronos 3500pts
Craftworld {Insert eldar name} 3000 pts
1000pts and growing fast
P+M blog http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/338826.page

 
   
Made in gb
Audacious Atalan Jackal



UK

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/02/25 19:05:50




 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: