Switch Theme:

Resolving in Order - Character Buffs and Weapon Strength  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Therefore, when you apply the x2 first, as per the first quoted rule, the weapons strength is now two times the models strength, you then add 1, so now the weapons strength is now two times the models strength plus one. A user who has a Strength characteristic of 6 would thus have a weapon of Strength 13.


I understand your way of thinking, but i dont think its correct.

If a weapon’s Strength lists
‘User’, it is equal to the wielder’s current
Strength.


The bloodthirsters weapon doesnt list 'User', its x2. You cant use the models strength for the weapon, thats not what the rule says. If the weapon has S+3 its strength characteristic is "+3". If the model has strength 8 its strength characteristic is "8". Weapons strength isnt the same as model strength.

Think of it this way.

Strength of the attack (we'll call it "S(A)") is equal to the strength characteristic (we'll call it "S(C)") x2+1.

S(A) = S(C) * 2 + 1

There is absolutely no way you could claim that that's the same as:

S(A) = S(C) * 3

BODMAS, PEDMAS, whatever you want to call it; you must apply the multiplication first.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

So, the original question was answered. I'm going to lock this down rather than have us spend another three pages arguing mathematics.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: