Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/09 13:15:02
Subject: Syll’Esske Deadly Symbiosis and basing the model
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:You still finish the consolidation move even if you don't or can't move.
No you don't.
If cannot deploy a unit, you cannot finish deploying it either. If you cannot cast a psychic power, you cannot finish casting a psyking power either. If you cannot shoot with a unit, you cannot finish shooting with it (though you may do things instead of shooting, if the alternative has other pre-conditions, e.g. smoke).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/09 13:32:34
Subject: Syll’Esske Deadly Symbiosis and basing the model
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
You cannot skip the consolidate step. Even if a unit cannot move, it still goes through the consolidate step, even if it does not move. You finish your consolidate move when the consolidate step ends, even if you don't move. I do see where the argument that it doesn't count is coming from, however.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/09 13:33:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/09 13:43:59
Subject: Syll’Esske Deadly Symbiosis and basing the model
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
Netherlands
|
Consolidation is moving up to 3". Moving 0" is perfectly fine with the stipulation.
You consolidate even if you don't move.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/09 13:54:15
Subject: Re:Syll’Esske Deadly Symbiosis and basing the model
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Good old GW and their habit of imprecise rules language. If you really believe GW means the unit has to actually move to make a Consolidation Move, play it that way. I sincerely doubt that is GW’s intent. Everyone prepare for a Grinding Advance style Errata
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/09 14:42:22
Subject: Syll’Esske Deadly Symbiosis and basing the model
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:You cannot skip the consolidate step. Even if a unit cannot move, it still goes through the consolidate step, even if it does not move.
You finish your consolidate move when the consolidate step ends, even if you don't move.
I do see where the argument that it doesn't count is coming from, however.
Nobody ever argued to skip the consolidation step.
Not sure why you keep bringing up that straw argument.
Just because a step or phase is completed, doesn't mean all conceivable actions an army could take in a given step all happened.
If it did, it'd mean I could never complete a fight phase ever in the game wihout all my miniatures in the army fighting, irrespective of whether they are actually eligible to do so due to range or even being on the table.
topaxygouroun i wrote:Consolidation is moving up to 3". Moving 0" is perfectly fine with the stipulation.
You consolidate even if you don't move.
Except the FAQ explicitly says, quote, "and so cannot move". If there's no way for you to end up closer due to being in base-to-base contact. No move means no move (not even a 0" move).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/09 14:44:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/09 14:43:24
Subject: Syll’Esske Deadly Symbiosis and basing the model
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
And it doesn't matter if you don't actually move, you still end your consolidation move at the end of the consolidation step.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/09 14:45:13
Subject: Syll’Esske Deadly Symbiosis and basing the model
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:And it doesn't matter if you don't actually move, you still end your consolidation move at the end of the consolidation step.
No. You don't. If you cannot make a move (not even a 0" move), you end your consolidation step without having done a move. Not started one. Not finished one.
If you end the "resolve combat" step, with your army still being 24" away from all of the opponents armies, you simply end the step without having done any attacks. Not started them. Not finished them. You don't get to make attacks (and finish them) irrespective of any other pre-conditions, simply because it's the appropriate step where you would've done them, if other pre-conditions had been met (e.g. you'd had models in 1").
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/09 14:47:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/09 15:32:53
Subject: Syll’Esske Deadly Symbiosis and basing the model
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:And it doesn't matter if you don't actually move, you still end your consolidation move at the end of the consolidation step.
The unit has ended its consolidation moves at the end of the consolidation step. Whether individual models make a consolidation move is a different matter, however.
|
|
 |
 |
|