Switch Theme:

Company Ancient banner allows shooting in close combat?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Maybe, but the rule actually says "The rules for resolving attacks have been written assuming you will make them one at a time ... In order to make serveal attacks at once, all of the attacks must have the same ... etc"

By RAW if the criteria is made, you can fast roll.

"if this is the case, make all the hit rolls at the same time, then all the wound rolls. Your opponent can then allocate the wounds one at a time"

The model is removed, but it also says

"they must allocate further wounds to this model until either slain. or all the wounds have been save or resolved"

So each wound that was rolled for, MUST be allocated, then saved / allocated damage one at a time. Even if the model has left the battlefield.

Without an FAQ it does not say this is a circumstance where you can force someone not to fast roll and it is not a circumstance where you can ignore the fact that wounds have been rolled for and thus must be allocated.

My question for the FAQ is whether or not the unresolved wounds can actually do damage, as the weapon / model that did the attacks is no longer on the field and therefor no longer has rules or stats. How long does a models weapons stats persist after they have been removed from play ?

If the FAQ tells us to force our opponent to slow roll. I would never take this ability because of the hassle. Can you imagine telling a horde army player to roll each attack one at a time because you might be able to remove some of their models from play before the attacks are made... good god. Which is why I accept that dice already rolled are resolved.

However, the rule book does not say whether or not those attacks are able to be completed even if they are only halfway resolved. So for the sake of not arguing with my opponent I just say its fine until we see an FAQ. It also seems to be the consensus on this site.

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: