Switch Theme:

What does the Flip Belt errata for 9th actually mean?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Spoiler:
 skchsan wrote:
From FRB:
When you move a unit, you can move any of its models (you can also choose not to move some of the models in that unit if you wish).
Whenever you move a model, you can pivot it and/or change its position on the battlefield along any path, but no part of the model’s
base (or hull) can be moved across the bases (or hulls) of other models, nor can any part of that model (including its base) cross the edge of the
battlefield.
You can also rotate any movable part of the model (such as turrets and sponsons) when it is moved. The distance a model moves
is measured using the part of the model’s base (or hull) that moves furthest along its path (including parts that rotate or pivot).
There are no restrictions on moving through engagement range during a move; you simply cannot move across base/hull of other models when moving the model/unit.

NORMAL MOVE
When a unit makes a Normal Move, each model in that unit can move a distance in inches equal to or less than the Move (M)
characteristic shown on its datasheet, but no model can be moved within Engagement Range of enemy models (pg 4).
Note, you cannot be 'moved' within engagement range. It's a simple clarification/reminder on the conditions required to make a legal Normal Move - it must not be set up within ER or be within ER when making Normal Move.

ADVANCE
When a unit makes an Advance, make an Advance roll for the unit by rolling one D6. Add the result in inches to the Move (M)
characteristic of each model in that unit until the end of the current phase. Each model in that unit can then move a distance in inches
equal to or less than this total, but no model can be moved within Engagement Range of enemy models. A unit cannot shoot or declare
a charge in the same turn that it made an Advance.
Again, no clause that states the entirety of movement path must not traverse through the engagement range, just no being 'moved with engagement range'. It's a simple clarification/reminder on the conditions required to make a legal Advance - it must not be set up within ER or be within ER when making an Advance.

FALL BACK
When a unit Falls Back, each model in that unit can move a distance in inches equal to or less than the Move (M) characteristic
shown on its datasheet, and when doing so you can move it within Engagement Range of enemy models, but it cannot end its move
within Engagement Range of any enemy models
– if it cannot do this then it cannot Fall Back. A unit cannot declare a charge in
the same turn that it Fell Back. A unit cannot shoot or attempt to manifest a psychic power in the same turn that it Fell Back unless it
is Titanic.
Here we see a bit of difference in how the wording is construed - when making a Fall Back, unit/model can move while within engagement range, but 'it cannot end its move within engagement range.' It gives you a specific permission to make a special type of move when you are not normally able to because models within engagement range cannot be moved. It's a clarification/reminder on the conditions required to make a Fall Back - it must not be set up within ER but can be within ER when making a Fall Back.

FLYING
If a unit’s datasheet has the Fly keyword, then when it makes a Normal Move, an Advance or it Falls Back, its models can
be moved across other models (and their bases) as if they were not there, and they can be moved within Engagement
Range of enemy models
. In addition, any vertical distance up and/or down that they make as part of that move is ignored.
However, these models cannot finish their move either on top of another model (or its base) or within Engagement Range of
any enemy models
.
Now, the underlined portion which seems to be causing the disagreement, is actually the same wording as provided in the rules for falling back. This is actually stating that: "a unit cannot be selected to make a Normal Move or an Advance but can remain stationary or make a Fall Back while within engagement range of enemy unit. However, if the unit is a FLY unit, it can still be selected to make a Normal Move, Advance or Fall Back despite being within engagement range of enemy at the time of being selected to move."

There's nothing in the rulebook that states models cannot traverse through enemy model's engagement range while moving the model - it simply cannot move across/over/through other models' base/hull.

We can continue to disagree, and I am more than happy with agreeing to disagree, but IMO the rules are pretty clear cut.


so are you saying that when the BRB says "a model can not be moved with ER" it means it just cant end movement in ER ? or am I not understanding what you are saying XD.

Do we both agree that you can not move a model within ER whilst a model is being moved during a "normal move" or "advance move" ?
because it does clearly state that during a normal move a model can not be moved within ER ... the word "moved" suggests that this includes during the move until that move is over. Otherwise they would have written "a model can not finish its move within engagement range" like with fly.

flip belts have no exception to the "normal move" restrictions (other then being able to move over models, i.e. their own).

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2020/07/15 21:58:46


As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






"Cannot be moved" =/= "No model can be moved"

The first is Past Perfect tense, and fits what you are saying, indicating that it could not have happened.

The latter is Future Perfect tense, Indicating that you are not allowed to perform the function at any time.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






v1.1 of the Core Book Errata adds this to the "Rare Rules" section:

MOVING THROUGH MODELS
Some models have a rule that enables them to ‘move through/over models’, or ‘move through/over models as if they were not there’. Sometimes such a rule will only apply to specific types of movement (e.g. Normal Moves, Advance moves, charge moves etc.) while other times it will apply to all types of movement. In any case, when moving a model with such a rule, it can be moved within Engagement Range of enemy models, but it can never finish a move on top of another model, or its base, and it cannot finish a Normal Move, Advance or Fall Back move within Engagement Range of any enemy models, and it can only end a charge move in Engagement Range of units it declared a charge against that phase).
  • Models that can move through/over enemy models can also be moved within Engagement Range of enemy models.
  • Models cannot end a move on top of another model.
  • Models cannot end a Normal Move, Advance or Fall Back move within Engagement Range of any enemy unit.
  • Models can only end a charge move within Engagement Range of enemy units that they declared a charge against that phase.
  • So it's been fixed now to allow Harlequins to move though enemy models.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/13 14:05:44


     
       
     
    Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
    Go to: