Switch Theme:

Movement status of units that embark  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 DeathReaper wrote:
nekooni wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
That rule is used instead of you having advanced.
Citation needed. because you have yet to prove this.
"for all rules purposes" the unit is stationary. Just because you don't think this applies to all rules purposes doesn't mean citation wasn't provided multiple times.

There has been no citation that says the advance is negated.

They count as having made the same kind of move that turn For all rules purposes. They have also made an advance move.

So they are stationary and have advanced.


The context of the rule if for units that started the turn embarked anyway, so it really doesnt apply to a unit that embarked on that turn.



For all rules purposes does not need to specifically mention advancing, as that's included in "all rules purposes".

The context is relevant to the intention, but if a unit hadn't advanced, then boarded a transport that has advanced, wouldn't you say that this unit must be treated as if it had advanced, even though it doesn't fit that context you made up?

A unit advanced, moved, fell back or remained stationary. There's no "and" situation.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/07/24 07:31:34


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
nekooni wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
That rule is used instead of you having advanced.
Citation needed. because you have yet to prove this.
"for all rules purposes" the unit is stationary. Just because you don't think this applies to all rules purposes doesn't mean citation wasn't provided multiple times.

There has been no citation that says the advance is negated.

They count as having made the same kind of move that turn For all rules purposes. They have also made an advance move.

So they are stationary and have advanced.


The context of the rule if for units that started the turn embarked anyway, so it really doesnt apply to a unit that embarked on that turn.



"For all rules purposes" means exactly that. For. All. Rules. Purposes. That means by definition it negates the normal movement condition of the embarked unit. T

The RAW of the rule is for units that are embarked. It does not state that it only applies to unit that started the turn embarked. Your "context" is merely you wishing it to read that way, not reading what it actually says. But, let's run with your "context". That means if a unit started the movement phase next to a transport, the unit embarked and then the transport advanced across the board, according to what you say for the rules not applying to a unit that embarked that turn, the unit would get to attack in the shooting phase as if they Remained Stationary, despite the fact that the transport Advanced. That shoots down your claim of "context".

EDIT: Also, being a permissive ruleset,, the "for all rules purposes" overrides the normal condition. I do not have to provide any proof other than that statement to show that the emarked unit is treated as moving the same as the transport. It is up to you to provide the rules citation that permits it to count as remained stationary "and" as having advanced simultaneously, and what this hypothetical rule states for what conditions apply in subsequent phases (shooting, for example)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/24 13:59:30


 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





The open topped rules are a mess in general. think about it, RAW open topped doesn't work because the unit can't be effected by abilities in any way... My plan is to play it as what was likely the RAI.

generally... if my unit advanced, then it has advanced... that seems fair.

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: