Switch Theme:

Charging distance against Skimmers(Raiders) from deepstrike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Enginseer with a Wrench






 Ghaz wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 Eihnlazer wrote:

Unfortunately, allowing this strict RAW ruling allows for some rather shadey stuff to happen so its better to say that it doesnt work.


You break the rules when you say that it doesnt work. GW has clearly shown in their FAQ that its intended that a unit coming in from deepstrike can have a shorter charge, when there is vertical distance involved.

From Warhammer Community, updated 2 June 2021:

Due to some quirky interactions with vertical distances (and some fascinating Pythagorean loopholes), certain units and Vehicles could be charged easier than others by units arriving from teleportation chambers or other similar rules.

As much as we’re fond of bringing ancient geometry to our tabletop battles, it didn’t treat all models fairly. To ensure there’s a level playing field the Studio team have clarified these distances. Now, you’ll always have to make that 9” charge to reach your foe on the turn you arrive.


I haven't seen it in the official FAQ yet but the way they write it in the article makes it sound like you can deep strike any were and as long as you are in charge range all it will take is rolling a 9.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




At least a 9
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 KingGarland wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 Eihnlazer wrote:

Unfortunately, allowing this strict RAW ruling allows for some rather shadey stuff to happen so its better to say that it doesnt work.


You break the rules when you say that it doesnt work. GW has clearly shown in their FAQ that its intended that a unit coming in from deepstrike can have a shorter charge, when there is vertical distance involved.

From Warhammer Community, updated 2 June 2021:

Due to some quirky interactions with vertical distances (and some fascinating Pythagorean loopholes), certain units and Vehicles could be charged easier than others by units arriving from teleportation chambers or other similar rules.

As much as we’re fond of bringing ancient geometry to our tabletop battles, it didn’t treat all models fairly. To ensure there’s a level playing field the Studio team have clarified these distances. Now, you’ll always have to make that 9” charge to reach your foe on the turn you arrive.


I haven't seen it in the official FAQ yet but the way they write it in the article makes it sound like you can deep strike any were and as long as you are in charge range all it will take is rolling a 9.


The FAQ says all deep striking units or units removed and then set up again need to be more than 9” ( or specified distance) horizontally from enemy units.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Yep, so if you have a bonus to charge rolls you won't actually need a 9 necessarily.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: