Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/15 16:33:30
Subject: Deepstrike and Scout
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
I have a gut feeling about this, but I thought I would ask the community.
If I take Sicarious and give a squad in a drop pod scout, do they get to deepstrike in before the game actually starts as a bonus movement?
I would think no, as the drop pod says that it drops on the first turn specifically.
As another question, if a transport has scout, but the unit inside does not, can the transport use it's scout ability?
And if they can, can I give a tactical squad scout, and then attach sicarius to the squad and have them scout forward?
Thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/15 16:58:31
Subject: Deepstrike and Scout
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Drop Pod, no.
Transport with Scout, yes.
Tac squad scout, sicarius. Does Sicarius have Scouts? If so, then yes, if not, then no.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/15 17:01:27
Subject: Deepstrike and Scout
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Prodigalson wrote:I have a gut feeling about this, but I thought I would ask the community.
If I take Sicarious and give a squad in a drop pod scout, do they get to deepstrike in before the game actually starts as a bonus movement?
I would think no, as the drop pod says that it drops on the first turn specifically.
As another question, if a transport has scout, but the unit inside does not, can the transport use it's scout ability?
And if they can, can I give a tactical squad scout, and then attach sicarius to the squad and have them scout forward?
Thanks
In short, No.
If they were in a Rhino however, they would get to move, as the Scout rule specifically allows them too.
And you cannot attach Sicarious as he doesn't get the rule, only the Tac Squad does. If you attach him, the Squad loses the rule.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/15 17:11:34
Subject: Deepstrike and Scout
|
 |
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine
|
Gwar... can I get the long explanation?
I just want to hear your logic.
Cause if I'm reading correctly... because the Drop Pod is a dedicated transport, it would have Scout conferred onto it at the very least....
Whether or not it could actually use the Scouts ability is WAY up for debate.... especially depending on if Drop Pod assault is considered a 'normal move' for a drop pod.
I guess I'm really wondering why, as a dedicated transport (which seems to be the only requirement for if Scout is conferred to the vehicle), they would not have the Scouts USR.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/15 17:14:23
Subject: Deepstrike and Scout
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Tsannik wrote:Gwar... can I get the long explanation? I just want to hear your logic. Cause if I'm reading correctly... because the Drop Pod is a dedicated transport, it would have Scout conferred onto it at the very least.... Whether or not it could actually use the Scouts ability is WAY up for debate.... especially depending on if Drop Pod assault is considered a 'normal move' for a drop pod. I guess I'm really wondering why, as a dedicated transport (which seems to be the only requirement for if Scout is conferred to the vehicle), they would not have the Scouts USR.
It has Scouts conferred to it. Woop de flipping do. The Drop Pod Assault rules FORCE it to begin the game in reserves and FORCE it to arrive via Deep Strike, making the Conferred Scouts rule pointless. So even if the Squad has Scouts, it doesn't matter, since the Pod must be in reserves and MUST arrive via Deep Strike.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/15 17:15:02
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/15 17:29:46
Subject: Deepstrike and Scout
|
 |
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine
|
Ah yeah... I gots it now...
They do get Scouts conferred to it.
Drop Pod Assault forces the Drop Pod into reserves in the deployment phase.
The best they would then be able to do is outflank as per the scout rule (but that would mean that the drop pod would come in on turn 2 or later depending on a reserve roll) which they would never be able to do as Drop Pod assault states that they will come in on the first turn using Deep Strike rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/15 18:47:16
Subject: Deepstrike and Scout
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
This is similar to that "Can Scout Bikers Scouts move onto the table in Dawn of War before the first trun" question. Simply put, if the unit is not on the table before the first turn begins, it cannot make a Scouts move.
Re the Drop Pod and unit it belongs to and Outflank. You could always drop the pod empty and outflank the unit. The pod could arrive on turn 1 if you chose it as part of your Drop Pod assault turn 1 half or come in via Reserves on turn 2 or later.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/15 23:41:58
Subject: Deepstrike and Scout
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
don_mondo wrote: The pod could arrive on turn 1 if you chose it as part of your Drop Pod assault turn 1 half or come in via Reserves on turn 2 or later.
That would only be the case if the army had 2 or more pods, correct?
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/16 03:31:33
Subject: Deepstrike and Scout
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Tsannik wrote:Ah yeah... I gots it now...
They do get Scouts conferred to it.
Drop Pod Assault forces the Drop Pod into reserves in the deployment phase.
The best they would then be able to do is outflank as per the scout rule (but that would mean that the drop pod would come in on turn 2 or later depending on a reserve roll) which they would never be able to do as Drop Pod assault states that they will come in on the first turn using Deep Strike rules.
Outflanking and Deepstrike are completely separate forms of reserve deployment, a Drop pod can NEVER outflank as it MUST deepstrike. Not that it would want to anyways as A) it cannot Move (after deepstrike deployment, the only way it can come into the board) so would not be able move on from a table edge, and B)Deepstrike allows you to place the model anywhere on the table when it comes in.
Also you should really re-read Drop pod Assault; all drop pods do not come in 1st turn, only Half rounded up. So 1 Pod taken is 1 pod dropped 1st turn, 2 Pods taken is 1 pod dropped first turn the other waits for the reserve rolls, 3 pods taken is 2 pods dropped 1st turn the 3rd waits for reserve rolls and etc.
Don mondo: it is worth pointing out that you have to declare whether or not the unit is in the Pod at deployment and then also if the Squad is outflanking(if not in the pod and being held in reserve) I just wanted to clarify that.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/16 13:11:28
Subject: Deepstrike and Scout
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
time wizard wrote:don_mondo wrote: The pod could arrive on turn 1 if you chose it as part of your Drop Pod assault turn 1 half or come in via Reserves on turn 2 or later.
That would only be the case if the army had 2 or more pods, correct?
Correct, re the possibility of it coming in on turn 2 or later.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|