Switch Theme:

KFF Mek in Battlewagon vs. Death or Glory  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun





Minneapolis, MN

Quick question for you all:

Ponder the following situation: An Ork Vehicle (let's say a battlewagon) with a KFF Mek loaded inside decides to tank shock a unit of Space Marines. The Space Marines decide to declare Death or Glory, and says the Melta in the squad gets this dubious opportunity. Due to the rules of Death or Glory (according to the rulebook), the melta will get the automatic hit against the Battlewagon.

Now then: Since the KFF Mek is inside the Battlewagon, he provides the vehicle with his force field, which normally allows for a 4+ cover save vs. shooting. However, at the same time, the rulebook states that the attack done via Death or Glory (in this case, a Melta) automatically hits, without the need to roll.

Now then, does the Battlewagon still receive its 4+ cover save against the Melta Shot, or does the melta ignore this because of the Death or Glory rules, which say it automatically hits?

Thanks in advance.

2015-2016 GT Record
Iron Halo GT - 1st Place
Bay Area Open 2016 - 2nd Place
WAAAGHFEST 2016 - 1st Place
Flying Monkey 2016 - 1st Place
Adepticon 2016 - 2nd Place
Renegade GT 2015 - 1st Overall / 2nd General
Dragonfall GT 2015 - 1st Place
Victory goes to the player who makes the next-to-last mistake. -Chessmaster Tartakower 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Whether or not the Melta automatically hits is a moot point to determine if the BW gets a cover save. The save is taken against Glances and Penetrating hits.

Other than that clarification, I am not sure my rule book is in the car. However, my instinct is you cannot take a save against it (if it is a melee attack), since you are only allowed to take them against Glances and Pen's from shooting attacks which DoG is not.

Edited to prevent confusion, Nos is right.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/17 17:23:04


Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Dog with a shooting weapon is a shooting attack - as nothign states it isnt

DoG witha CCW is a close combat attrack - for the same reason.

So you get a save against the melta gun, but not against a powerfist.
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator





I learnt this the hard way when a trukk full of boys tank shocked my plague marines. Thinking "It's open toped and AP1! Im almost certain to blow it up". Of course then he goes and passes his cover save and my poor plague marine dies. Should have used the powerfist .

taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live?
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Nos is correct. You get the KFF Save vs Shooting and not vs CC attacks.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





yes, the BW will be treated as obscured, which means it may take a cover save against any glancing or penetrating hits.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: