Switch Theme:

Lighting Field & Instant Kill  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

Last night my buddy was playing his necron army.
He has a lord with a lighting field attached to a group of 10 scarabs. The scarabs where hit by a power fist, inflicting an instant kill on the unit.
Does the unit with the power fist take 1 STR 3 hit, or 3 STR 3 hits from the lighting field?

"For every wound inflicted on them in close combat by an ... " p15 necron codex
"If a model suffe3rs an unsaved wound from an attack that has double its Toughness value or greater, it is killed outright" p26 BRB

I would rule that the unit with the powerfist takes just 1 STR 3 hit, as it only inflicted 1 unsaved wound, that killed the model outright.
There is an oddity that p39 of the BRB talks about (including all of the Wounds lost by models that have suffered instant death) in regards to determine assault results. I do not think that would give reason for 3 STR 3 hits to be allocated to the power fist unit.

What do you all think the ruling should be?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/17 20:27:09


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







labmouse42 wrote:Last night my buddy was playing his necron army.
He has a lord with a lighting field attached to a group of 10 scarabs. The scarabs where hit by a power fist, inflicting an instant kill on the unit.
Does the unit with the power fist take 1 STR 3 hit, or 3 STR 3 hits from the lighting field?

"For every wound inflicted on them in close combat by an ... " p15 necron codex
"If a model suffe3rs an unsaved wound from an attack that has double its Toughness value or greater, it is killed outright" p26 BRB

I would rule that the unit with the powerfist takes just 1 STR 3 hit, as it only inflicted 1 unsaved wound, that killed the model outright.
There is an oddity that p39 of the BRB talks about (including all of the Wounds lost by models that have suffered instant death) in regards to determine assault results. I do not think that would give reason for 3 STR 3 hits to be allocated to the power fist unit.

What do you all think the ruling should be?
Hmm, this is a toughy. I would say it's one. While you count as causing 3 for combat result, you still only actually caused 1.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/06/17 20:29:29


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Yes. Only one wound was inflicted, which inflicted instant death.

While all wounds from slain models in the assault would count towards combat resolution, the Lightning Field only looks for wounds inflicted.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Hm, I didn't know that about the combat resolution part.

But ya, like the others said, "Inflicted" and "Counts As" are very different and the wording is specific. 1 wound inflicted, 1 LF hit.
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





It's on p39, under 'Determine Assault Results' - 'wounds that have been negated by saving throws...do not count, nor do wounds in excess of a model's Wounds characteristic, only the wounds actually suffered by enemy models (including all of the Wounds lost by models that have suffered instant death).'
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

My gut says 1 wound and that's how I play it with my crons, but I suppose maybe you could still argue that the other 2 wounds lost to the ID were also "inflicted"...just for the sake of arguing.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






forkbanger wrote:It's on p39, under 'Determine Assault Results' - 'wounds that have been negated by saving throws...do not count, nor do wounds in excess of a model's Wounds characteristic, only the wounds actually suffered by enemy models (including all of the Wounds lost by models that have suffered instant death).'


Cool. I just never had much reason to look at that section because I play with a friend mostly who knows the rules pretty well (though always learning, as we all are) so I'm thinking he might not have known this either.

Well, scarabs just became a little more of a liability in my book. Though yes, I understand that no one should be assaulting termies with scarabs anyway.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: