| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/22 08:56:25
Subject: Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
Tempest Wrath lists the units that it affects and how they treat all terrain as both difficult and dangerous terrain.
An example I would like clarification would be with jump infantry:
Say a unit of BA jump infantry deep strike within my Tempest Wrath bubble. They will of course have to take a Dangerous Terrain test rolling a d6 for every model with rolls of a one causing a wound.
Now in their next turn, they forgo use of their jump packs to move as infantry. Since the rule for Tempest Wrath specify that the unit type (Jump Infantry) treats all terrain as both difficult AND dangerous terrain, would the BA jump infantry unit have to roll 2d6 and pick the highest for moving through difficult terrain and then also roll a d6 for every model for moving through dangerous terrain with rolls of one causing a wound? What about a subsequent assault? Would they have to roll 2d6 for difficult terrain to see if they can assault and also roll a d6 for dangerous terrain?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/22 12:14:48
Subject: Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I would strongly suspect that the intention of the rule is to only affect JI that are actually utilising their jump packs. JI moving as Infantry should be unaffected.
There is certainly a RAW argument for them copping it, though, as the Tempest's Wrath entry doesn't refer to how they are moving, but rather to what their unit type is.
The opposing argument being that as they are 'moving like infantry' for the purposes of a rule that is triggered by movement, they effectively are infantry...
So, I would go with probable RAI being 'no, if they move as infantry they are unaffected' and the RAW being 'Meh, who knows?'
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/22 13:20:49
Subject: Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
In my happy place, I'm in my happy place...
|
insaniak wrote:I would strongly suspect that the intention of the rule is to only affect JI that are actually utilising their jump packs. JI moving as Infantry should be unaffected.
There is certainly a RAW argument for them copping it, though, as the Tempest's Wrath entry doesn't refer to how they are moving, but rather to what their unit type is.
The opposing argument being that as they are 'moving like infantry' for the purposes of a rule that is triggered by movement, they effectively are infantry...
So, I would go with probable RAI being 'no, if they move as infantry they are unaffected' and the RAW being 'Meh, who knows?'
RAW the way it was intended! 'Meh, who knows?
I totally agree with this btw, I would argue moves as is the same as counts as, thus they treated as infantry for all intents and purposes in this case.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/22 16:07:14
Subject: Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
RaW, they are affected even if they move as Infantry.
This is RaW and RaI.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/22 16:52:08
Subject: Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
I figured this would be a case of "moving as infantry, does not make you not jump infantry".
So the playing process would be,
"Take your difficult terrain test, now roll for dangerous terrain."
?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/23 02:53:58
Subject: Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
Gwar! wrote:RaW, they are affected even if they move as Infantry.
This is RaW and RaI.
Now gwar, you are correct it is RAW, but unless you wrote the codex ... lol.
|
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/23 03:24:05
Subject: Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
kill dem stunties wrote:Now gwar, you are correct it is RAW, but unless you wrote the codex ... lol.
More precisely, he's correct that it's one interpretation of RAW. That doesn't make it the only one (I pointed out an alternate take on it back at the start of the thread) ... and yes, none of us have any way of telling what the RAI is.
And to pre-empt the usual silliness, no, the fact that it hasn't been errata'd does not make it RAI. Don't even bother going there.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/28 07:17:31
Subject: Re:Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
To add the the Tempest's Wrath questionaire...
I have a Rune Priest with a squad of GH's Drop Pod Assaulting in on turn 1. Am I still allowed to use [Tempest's Wrath] at the beginning of my turn or is it too late if I chose to Drop Pod Assault in, hence the repercussions of using this transport?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/28 07:52:21
Subject: Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
By the time you deepstrike in it is no longer the start of your turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/28 08:13:55
Subject: Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:By the time you deepstrike in it is no longer the start of your turn.
So then the answer is no, you are not allowed to use [Tempest's Wrath] if you are Drop Pod Assaulting with that character in tow? In RaW though, what determines beginning, middle, end of a turn anyways?
Page 9 BRB:
The Turn Sequence:
1. Movement Phase
2. Shooting Phase
3. Assault Phase
Assuming that you break it down [Movement Phase, beginning].. [Shooting Phase, middle].. [Assault Phase, End].. arriving deep strike [ pg. 95, paragraph 5 BRB] is still during the movement phase ie. the beginning phase?! I may be blowing smoke here, but is there a solid answer with some backing to either shut me up or let me use abilities due to a poor clarification?!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/28 08:15:16
Subject: Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The start of your opponents turn defines the end of yours and Vice-versa.
(It take a little while but you'll lose the magic rules brain  )
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/28 08:15:46
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/28 11:10:38
Subject: Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Have you performed the action at the start of the turn? No, as you have performed an action [DS the vehicle] *before* you were able to use Tempests Wrath.
THankfully WHFB 8th ed now has a "start of turn" phase....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/28 11:26:24
Subject: Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Agreed with Nos here. It's the same as the Eldar Powers. Once you start moving things and Deep Striking things, it's no longer the start of the turn.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/28 16:32:28
Subject: Re:Tempest Wrath: Clarification
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
Alright, I was just curious as to how far you can actually take "beginning" in this situation. Thanks people, I figured by deepstriking a rune priest like that would have its drawback
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|