Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/25 01:26:56
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
skipping straight to the good bits
on page 25 of the Tau codex (Battlesuit Armory) it states that for weapons systems with two values, the first is the single-mounted version of the weapon, the 2nd is its twin-linked cost.
Can i choose to outfit a battle suit with two of the same separatly-mounted weapons at twice the cost in instead of twin-linking the weapon?
For example pay 40pts for two Plasma Rifles vice 20pts for one or 30 for twin-linked
The command and control node allows all units with a model model within 12" to use the bearer's leadership value when rolling for target priority, as that is obsolete in the current edition, is there any point in this upgrade anymore?
Are the rail-gun and smart-missle-system only limited to XV88 broadsides?
A drone is equiped with a Network Markerlight (which is fused as a heavy 1 weapon) if that individual model in the unit did was not moved, but the other models did, may it still use the Markerlight?
For Smart and Seeker missles that are fired without using line of sight, how is cover determined?
in addition, the rules for seeker missleson pages 30-31 of the codex state that:
Up to two seeker missles may be fitted to a single vehicle, and one or both launched in a single turn, each using dfferent markerlight hits
The Sky Ray Missle Defense Ship (page 41) is equiped, verbatim, with "Six Turret Mounted Seeker Missles", if 6 markerlights are successfully used, can all six missles be fired?
I know drones count for moral checks and the ability to claim an objective, if an independent character with drones joins a unit, that was below half-strength (4 FW down from 12) are they now considered at above 50% strength?
sorry for all the questions
EDIT: one more question, do gun drone mounted on a vehicle benifit from the vehicle's Targeting Array
EDIT II: my Team leader for my XV88 Broadside squad took Advanced Stabilization System (Slow and Purposefull) and as is mandated by the codex, i gave his two squadmates the ASS, now can the two XV88s still fit a hardwired Multi-Tracker? or can ONLY the team leader take the extra wargear?
Under the entry for XV8 Battle Suits, it says that they are Jump infantry, and Have Jet Packs. Can they move up to 12" in the movement phase? or is it 6" in movement and 6" in the assault phase?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/10 01:31:10
"There are five possible operations for any army. If you can fight, fight; if you cannot fight, defend; if you cannot defend, flee; if you cannot flee, surrender; if you cannot surrender, die. " Sima Yi
DS:90SGM+B--IPw40k09#+D++A+++/sWD-R+T(S)DM+
_██_
(ಠ_ృ) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/25 01:36:36
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Napoleonics Obsesser
|
Yes.
|
If only ZUN!bar were here... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/25 01:58:29
Subject: Re:Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ill have to do some of these by memory, as my Tau codex has slipped into a void of I dunno where it went.
I almost positive you cant buy the 2 weapons without them becoming twin linked. So you either get 1 plasma rifle, or 1 TL plasma. Again I cant find my codex to confirm or not.
I know theres an upgrade that allows you to pick what unit you want to bring in from reserves, I cant remember if thats it or not. BUT If the command and control only does the priority test, then its obsolete, as we dont have that anymore.
Vehicles also have railguns and smart missiles, but as far as suits go, they are the only ones.
I seem to remember drones getting some rule that allow them to move and shoot the marker light.
As far as moving the unit goes, if you move the unit, weather or not the heavy moved doesnt matter. If 1 mini moves in the unit, the whole unit counts as moving.
Yes, if youve got enough marker lights you can shoot all 6 missiles from the 1 skyray.
And samus caught the last one.
I REALLY need to find my codex as I hate answering questions without one lol
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/25 01:58:30
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
Samus_aran115 wrote:Yes.
yes to all of my questions in all seriousness?
|
"There are five possible operations for any army. If you can fight, fight; if you cannot fight, defend; if you cannot defend, flee; if you cannot flee, surrender; if you cannot surrender, die. " Sima Yi
DS:90SGM+B--IPw40k09#+D++A+++/sWD-R+T(S)DM+
_██_
(ಠ_ృ) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/25 02:58:20
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Anidem wrote:Samus_aran115 wrote:Yes. yes to all of my questions in all seriousness?
No. Sorry, had to do it! To answer your questions: 1) No. If you take 2 of the same weapon, they are Twin Linked. You cannot take two of the same and not be twin linked. Sucks yes, but them's the breaks. 2) The C&C Node has no use in 5th edition. 3) Well, several vehicles can take a SMS, and the Hammerhead can take a Railgun. If you mean "Can I put Railguns on XV8s?" then the answer is "No, you cannot." 4) This is covered in the rules for Heavy Weapons in the BRB. Remember though that Drones with Suits are Jump Infantry (Jet Pack) and follow those rules regarding Heavy Weapons and do not have the same restriction the suits do. Drones with Pathfinders or Fire Warriors remain Infantry, so follow the Infantry rules. 5) Not sure what that diagram is. 6) You draw a straight line from the firing doodad to the enemy model. 7) Rules as Written ( RaW) the Skyray is broken (like 99% of the Tau Codex) as it shouldn't be able to have more than 2 Seekers, nor can it fire more than one a turn (as it can hardly fire "both" when it has 6). Rules as Played (RaP) however, you will find almost everyone allows 1 Seeker per Markerlight, meaning all 6 could be fired at once if you were lucky. 8) No. A unit of 4/12 who is joined by an IC with 2 Drones is now 7/15, which is still under 50%. All you have done now is make your IC fall off the board with the rest of the unit (Bonding Knife notwithstanding).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/25 02:59:38
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/25 03:10:09
Subject: Re:Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Holy crap the fog on my memory must be lifting, I got most of that right! AND WITHOUT A CODEX! Beers are on my fellas. Automatically Appended Next Post: Gwar! wrote:Anidem wrote:Samus_aran115 wrote:Yes.
yes to all of my questions in all seriousness?
No.
Sorry, had to do it!
To answer your questions:
1) No. If you take 2 of the same weapon, they are Twin Linked. You cannot take two of the same and not be twin linked. Sucks yes, but them's the breaks.
2) The C&C Node has no use in 5th edition.
3) Well, several vehicles can take a SMS, and the Hammerhead can take a Railgun. If you mean "Can I put Railguns on XV8s?" then the answer is "No, you cannot."
4) This is covered in the rules for Heavy Weapons in the BRB. Remember though that Drones with Suits are Jump Infantry (Jet Pack) and follow those rules regarding Heavy Weapons and do not have the same restriction the suits do. Drones with Pathfinders or Fire Warriors remain Infantry, so follow the Infantry rules.
5) Not sure what that diagram is.
6) You draw a straight line from the firing doodad to the enemy model.
7) Rules as Written ( RaW) the Skyray is broken (like 99% of the Tau Codex) as it shouldn't be able to have more than 2 Seekers, nor can it fire more than one a turn (as it can hardly fire "both" when it has 6). Rules as Played (RaP) however, you will find almost everyone allows 1 Seeker per Markerlight, meaning all 6 could be fired at once if you were lucky.
8) No. A unit of 4/12 who is joined by an IC with 2 Drones is now 7/15, which is still under 50%. All you have done now is make your IC fall off the board with the rest of the unit (Bonding Knife notwithstanding).
What he was asking with the drawing GWAR, was if he moved a unit with a heavy in it, but the heavy stayed in the same spot, if it counted as moving. Which I answered.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/25 03:10:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/25 03:13:10
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
I just saw the question you edited in there: 9) No. Gun Drones firing from a vehicle always use their own BS and do not benefit from Arrays or Markerlights the vehicle itself is using. KingCracker wrote:What he was asking with the drawing GWAR, was if he moved a unit with a heavy in it, but the heavy stayed in the same spot, if it counted as moving. Which I answered.
I see. I answered that Question too!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/06/25 03:14:29
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/25 03:17:07
Subject: Re:Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
wakka wakka wakka!
Thats all I had sorry
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/25 03:30:48
Subject: Re:Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
|
The only thing I see that could use clarification is just a reminder that Broadside suits are not jetpack infantry, just regular infantry.
|
The greater good needs some moo. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/25 04:34:40
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
Thank you everyone
|
"There are five possible operations for any army. If you can fight, fight; if you cannot fight, defend; if you cannot defend, flee; if you cannot flee, surrender; if you cannot surrender, die. " Sima Yi
DS:90SGM+B--IPw40k09#+D++A+++/sWD-R+T(S)DM+
_██_
(ಠ_ృ) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/25 20:55:01
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
Ya. For better clarification, see the opening paragraph under the Tau armory.
"No model can pick the same item twice."
So you can't have two plasma rifles, you have one TL plasma rifle. The end!
|
Started wargaming with heroscape. Who says kids can't be generals?
Tournament Results:
Space Marines 2-1-0
In Soviet Russia.... you go to Gulag.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/10 01:30:39
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
Sorry for thread Necro, i'd figure it was better than to make a brand new topic. Two more for the road
my Team leader for my XV88 Broadside squad took Advanced Stabilization System (Slow and Purposefull) and as is mandated by the codex, i gave his two squadmates the ASS, now can the two XV88s still fit a hardwired Multi-Tracker? or can ONLY the team leader take the extra wargear?
Under the entry for XV8 Battle Suits, it says that they are Jump infantry, and Have Jet Packs. Can they move up to 12" in the movement phase? or is it 6" in movement and 6" in the assault phase?
|
"There are five possible operations for any army. If you can fight, fight; if you cannot fight, defend; if you cannot defend, flee; if you cannot flee, surrender; if you cannot surrender, die. " Sima Yi
DS:90SGM+B--IPw40k09#+D++A+++/sWD-R+T(S)DM+
_██_
(ಠ_ృ) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/10 01:34:16
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Regular XV88s can take 1 piece of wargear; the team leader may take several.
XV8s may move 12" during the movement phase and shoot or they may move 6" shoot and then 6" during the assault (this is called JSJ: Jump Shoot Jump).
|
Six mistakes mankind keeps making century after century: Believing that personal gain is made by crushing others; Worrying about things that cannot be changed or corrected; Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it; Refusing to set aside trivial preferences; Neglecting development and refinement of the mind; Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/10 01:35:39
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
|
Thank you again for the assistance
|
"There are five possible operations for any army. If you can fight, fight; if you cannot fight, defend; if you cannot defend, flee; if you cannot flee, surrender; if you cannot surrender, die. " Sima Yi
DS:90SGM+B--IPw40k09#+D++A+++/sWD-R+T(S)DM+
_██_
(ಠ_ృ) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/10 01:37:33
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
agnosto wrote:XV8s may move 12" during the movement phase and shoot or they may move 6" shoot and then 6" during the assault (this is called JSJ: Jump Shoot Jump).
The first part of that is incorrect. Jetpacks can only move 6", not 12.
Jetpack movement is covered in the Jump Infantry rules on page 52 of the rulebook.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/10 01:54:45
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Errr. You see, that's what happens when you get old, you start confusing rules. Thanks for keeping me straight insaniak.
|
Six mistakes mankind keeps making century after century: Believing that personal gain is made by crushing others; Worrying about things that cannot be changed or corrected; Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it; Refusing to set aside trivial preferences; Neglecting development and refinement of the mind; Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/10 03:43:04
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
agnosto wrote:Regular XV88s can take 1 piece of wargear; the team leader may take several.
XV8s may move 12" during the movement phase and shoot or they may move 6" shoot and then 6" during the assault (this is called JSJ: Jump Shoot Jump).
This is why XV88 teams are usually in a 2 suit pair. So 1 can shoot at one target, and the other can shoot at another. You can take all 3, but Ive seen alot of good lists wrote up with the 2 broadsides unit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/11 23:54:38
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Gwar! wrote:
6) You draw a straight line from the firing doodad to the enemy model.
I don't have my codex on me but don't at least one of these have special cover rules that say they must either be touching the cover or in area cover to gain cover bonuses?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/14 15:28:43
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
MA
|
Anidem wrote:
on page 25 of the Tau codex (Battlesuit Armory) it states that for weapons systems with two values, the first is the single-mounted version of the weapon, the 2nd is its twin-linked cost.
Can i choose to outfit a battle suit with two of the same separatly-mounted weapons at twice the cost in instead of twin-linking the weapon?
For example pay 40pts for two Plasma Rifles vice 20pts for one or 30 for twin-linked
The command and control node allows all units with a model model within 12" to use the bearer's leadership value when rolling for target priority, as that is obsolete in the current edition, is there any point in this upgrade anymore?
Are the rail-gun and smart-missle-system only limited to XV88 broadsides?
A drone is equiped with a Network Markerlight (which is fused as a heavy 1 weapon) if that individual model in the unit did was not moved, but the other models did, may it still use the Markerlight?
For Smart and Seeker missles that are fired without using line of sight, how is cover determined?
in addition, the rules for seeker missleson pages 30-31 of the codex state that:
Up to two seeker missles may be fitted to a single vehicle, and one or both launched in a single turn, each using dfferent markerlight hits
The Sky Ray Missle Defense Ship (page 41) is equiped, verbatim, with "Six Turret Mounted Seeker Missles", if 6 markerlights are successfully used, can all six missles be fired?
I know drones count for moral checks and the ability to claim an objective, if an independent character with drones joins a unit, that was below half-strength (4 FW down from 12) are they now considered at above 50% strength?
One more question, do gun drone mounted on a vehicle benifit from the vehicle's Targeting Array
My Team leader for my XV88 Broadside squad took Advanced Stabilization System (Slow and Purposefull) and as is mandated by the codex, i gave his two squadmates the ASS, now can the two XV88s still fit a hardwired Multi-Tracker? or can ONLY the team leader take the extra wargear?
Under the entry for XV8 Battle Suits, it says that they are Jump infantry, and Have Jet Packs. Can they move up to 12" in the movement phase? or is it 6" in movement and 6" in the assault phase?
No. You may not. You must purchase the Plasma Rifles s the TL pair because the codex says that no battlesuit may take two of the same weapons/support systems/wargear.
No. There is no longer any use for the Command and Control Node.
Among the battlesuits, yes, railguns and SMS are limited to the Broadsides. However, they can be taken on Hammerheads. The SMS can even be taken on Devilfish if I recall correctly.
The drone may not fire the Markerlight. If any model in the unit moves the entire unite counts as having moved in the movement phase. However, I believe that since the drone is Jump Infantry and has a Jet Pack, then he is relentless (or does that only apply to the stealth and crisis suits?), which would let him fire the markerlight anyways.
I believe that cover is determined only by either having the target touching or in area terrain, in which case they would receive the appropriate cover save.
Yes, all 6 of the Seeker missiles could be fired in that case.
You are wrong. The codex specifically states that drones DO NOT count for morale or to hold objectives. So, no. In that case the squad would still be considered under 50%. However, if you payed the 5 points for the bonding knife.
I have absolutely no idea about this one...
No, they cannot take the HW Multi-Trackers. Only the team leader may take items from the battlesuit wargear list because you payed for him to have the ability to do so. (something like 10 points or so for the Shas'vre team leader no?)
They follow the rules for Jet Packs. They may move 6" in the movement phase and another 6" in the assault phase. ( JSJ FTW!!!) Keep in mind that both of these movements are jumps; meaning that you can jump over obstacles and must take dangerous terrain tests if you end them in area terrain.
Hope this helps!
|
If Warhammer has taught me anything, it is that anything and everything can be solved by violence.
=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DS:90S++GMB--IPw40k09#+D+A+/sWD-R++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
2500-
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/14 15:38:05
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Actually the codex does not state they "do not count" for morale; they are models and therefore DO count under BRB rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/16 23:23:41
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Couple of more Tau questions: Say I take a Fire Warrior Team w/ Shas'ui and couple of Drones. If I want to equip them with Photon Grenades, can the Drones buy them too, and if they can't, do the grenades work as the entire unit is not equipped with them? Which brings us to next point, Ethereal can "select equipment from Infantry Armoury" which includes Photon Grenades, can he then buy them? [actually an abusive player would try to equip him with a Kroot Gun] If he comes with Honour Guard, can he buy them and Honour Guard not? How do Positional Relay and IG's Officer of the Fleet work together? There was a thread on this and I tend to lean to the side of PosRelay not being a "reserve roll" per se, but what's the latest on this? If I buy Targets lock for my Piranha squadron, do they allow splitting fire once the Piranhas have ejected their Drones?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/16 23:26:03
Mr Vetock, give back my Multi-tracker! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/16 23:39:04
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Say I take a Fire Warrior Team w/ Shas'ui and couple of Drones. If I want to equip them with Photon Grenades, can the Drones buy them too, and if they can't, do the grenades work as the entire unit is not equipped with them?
No, you cannot buy the Drones Grenades and it is unclear if they work or not. From a strict RaW standpoint they never work (since the rules in the Tau codex say they affect models "Charging" a unit, which is something that never happens in 40k), but even then it's unclear if you count drones, as it says "units equipped with photon grenades". If one model doesn't have them, the "unit" doesn't. As such, clarify it pre game. Which brings us to next point, Ethereal can "select equipment from Infantry Armoury" which includes Photon Grenades, can he then buy them? [actually an abusive player would try to equip him with a Kroot Gun] If he comes with Honour Guard, can he buy them and Honour Guard not?
No, he cannot ever buy Grenades. The "Infantry Armoury" is on Page 28, in the boxout. That is ALL you can buy an Ethereal. As for the guard, they can buy it, he can't, see question 1. How do Positional Relay and IG's Officer of the Fleet work together? There was a thread on this and I tend to lean to the side of PosRelay not being a "reserve roll" per se, but what's the latest on this?
Nothing has changed. The rules are still the same as before. If I buy Targets lock for my Piranha squadron, do they allow splitting fire once the Piranhas have ejected their Drones?
Why wouldn't they?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/16 23:39:20
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/17 00:09:34
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:
How do Positional Relay and IG's Officer of the Fleet work together? There was a thread on this and I tend to lean to the side of PosRelay not being a "reserve roll" per se, but what's the latest on this?
Nothing has changed. The rules are still the same as before.
Oh well...
Gwar! wrote:
If I buy Target locks for my Piranha squadron, do they allow splitting fire once the Piranhas have ejected their Drones?
Why wouldn't they?
Vehicle Target Lock says "Each weapon on the vehicle may fire at separate enemy unit if desired". As long as Piranha Squadron has Drones still attached, obviously each Piranha can fire its main weapon and Drones to separate targets. But once the Drones leave, each Piranha has only one weapon left, leaving no additional weapons to fire at "separate enemy units", or at least that's how some interpret it.
|
Mr Vetock, give back my Multi-tracker! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/17 06:23:13
Subject: Several Questions on Tau
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
Gwar! wrote:I just saw the question you edited in there:
9) No. Gun Drones firing from a vehicle always use their own BS and do not benefit from Arrays or Markerlights the vehicle itself is using.
Correct.
|
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
 |
 |
|