Switch Theme:

Deceiver's 'Grand Illusion'  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





UK

Hi,

With the Necron codex being so old, things like seize the initative did not exist when it was written. So is the redeployment of the Necron army after the roll to seize or before?

Thanks in advance.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/30 11:06:23


Flashman
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




What wording does therule use? That would be useful
   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





UK

'A Necron army commanded by the Deceiver may adjust its deployment after the enemy army has deployed but before the first move. This option is exercised after all infilitrators, scouts, etc, have moved. The Necron player nominates a unit and rolls a D6. On a 1-3 the unit may be redeployed subject to the deployment rules for the mission. On a 4-6 the unit nominated may be redeployed subject to the deployment rules for the mission and a further unit can then be nominated. This process could result in the entire army being redeployed.'

Flashman
 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

My call, after scout moves and before the seize the initiative roll. Regardless of whether or not the necron player deployed first or second.

You do it AFTER the enemy deploys. It doesn't specify that it is done ONLY if the necron player wins OR loses the roll to go first.

You (necron) go first, but the enemy deploys counters to your prime units. You attempt to redeploy them elsewhere.




I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, seize the init is the last thing you do before Start the Game, so anything which is "after" deployment but not also *specifically* after StI would have to go before StI - and as it states it is after Scouts and Infiltrates it also neatly boxes it into the sequence of events.
   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





UK

Sounds sensible, thanks for the replies.

Flashman
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Just out of curiosity, but what does it matter when this occurs? I guess it could be helpful as you could redeploy to a more defendable (going second) or more attackable position (if attacking). Again, just curious.

Also to add a question, since you are redeploying, could you redeploy a unit that had the deep strike option into reserves to deep strike later?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







s2ua7 wrote:Also to add a question, since you are redeploying, could you redeploy a unit that had the deep strike option into reserves to deep strike later?
No. Deployment and Reserves are not the same. You do not "Deploy" into reserves.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: