Switch Theme:

FAQ'd Spores and Drop Pods  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakar




Southern California

I am more than willing to admit that I could be reading more into some of the Tyranid FAQ rulings that applies, however…

(1) The Tyranid FAQ states that Independent Characters can not join a brood with a spore before deployment and hence CAN NOT deep strike in with the brood.

Would this ruling then mean that Space Marine Independent Characters can not join squads in Drop Pods before deployment?

(2) The Tyranid FAQ states that broods that take a spore can not deploy on its own and deep strike and empty spore.

How does this affect Space Marines and their drop pods? I know that independent rulings have stated this is allowed, but this was before the release of this FAQ.


Curious because I know it will come up.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

Magilla Gurilla wrote:I (1) The Tyranid FAQ states that Independent Characters can not join a brood with a spore before deployment and hence CAN NOT deep strike in with the brood.
Would this ruling then mean that Space Marine Independent Characters can not join squads in Drop Pods before deployment?
No, as you don't apply what's in one codex with another. That's why Dark Angels and BT Storm Shields suck, and Ultras, SW and BA are good.

Magilla Gurilla wrote:(2) The Tyranid FAQ states that broods that take a spore can not deploy on its own and deep strike and empty spore.

How does this affect Space Marines and their drop pods? I know that independent rulings have stated this is allowed, but this was before the release of this FAQ.
See above.


"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







1) The FAQ for Nids follows RaW. Spods are not Transport Vehicles. Drop Pods are. Transport VEHICLES allow you to attach ICs to them in Deployment. Spods ARE NOT TRANSPORT VEHICLES.

2) See one.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Dakar




Southern California

Thanks Gwar!
That was my original assumption.

 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




I have to agree with Gwar! on this. It was a very common assumption by many people that the rules for IC's joining units in vehicles would apply to the Spod, but there was never anything written specifically to state that they do.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: