| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 18:01:05
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger
|
Can your character use "look out sir" against hochland long rifles, or peagent of shrikes (wood elf spite) if he/she is in a unit of 5?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 18:42:10
Subject: Re:look out sir!
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
Under rules for the Hochland Long rifle:
"a character/champion cannot benefit from the "Look Out, Sir!" rule.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 07:04:38
Subject: Re:look out sir!
|
 |
Dutiful Citizen Levy
AUS
|
Another quick question about Look Out Sir!... Do cavalry mounted characters benefit from any Look Out Sir! roll while in a unit of normal-sized infantry?
Cheers
HEH
|
High Elves
Anything You Can Do I Can Do Better |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 10:59:42
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes. Any <US5 character and mount will benefit.>
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 18:02:41
Subject: Re:look out sir!
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
Houston, Texas
|
HighElfHero wrote:Another quick question about Look Out Sir!... Do cavalry mounted characters benefit from any Look Out Sir! roll while in a unit of normal-sized infantry?
Cheers
HEH
For now yes, they are doing away with this in 8th edition tho!!!
|
Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins- |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/06 01:36:46
Subject: Re:look out sir!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
ShivanAngel wrote:HighElfHero wrote:Another quick question about Look Out Sir!... Do cavalry mounted characters benefit from any Look Out Sir! roll while in a unit of normal-sized infantry?
Cheers
HEH
For now yes, they are doing away with this in 8th edition tho!!!
Oh, for crap's sake. Will they just make up their damn minds?!
|
She/Her
"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln
LatheBiosas wrote:I have such a difficult time hitting my opponents... setting them on fire seems so much simpler.
Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.
DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/06 14:13:29
Subject: Re:look out sir!
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
Houston, Texas
|
Manfred von Drakken wrote:ShivanAngel wrote:HighElfHero wrote:Another quick question about Look Out Sir!... Do cavalry mounted characters benefit from any Look Out Sir! roll while in a unit of normal-sized infantry?
Cheers
HEH
For now yes, they are doing away with this in 8th edition tho!!!
Oh, for crap's sake. Will they just make up their damn minds?!
haha if a model isnt the same classification as the unit it joins it gets a 4+ look out sir instead of a 1+. They still have it, just not nearly as good.
|
Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins- |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/08 05:17:25
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'm not sure if this is right. I found the rule that said if you are nearby you get a 4+ - I only saw that you have to be the same classification (ie infantry or calvary) to get look out sir. Some people have said the different classification gets no look out sir. Are you sure about this Shivan?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/08 08:38:37
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List
|
I heard it would belong to the base-size.
i.E. a Juggernaut in a unit of knights would get no Look out Sir. But only rumors.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/08 16:17:06
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
When I read the book, it clearly said that character of the same type get a look out sir. So a regular hero in a regular unit, gets 2+. A Slann in a temple guard gets a 2+ because they are both infantry. It doesn't have anything to do with base-size - it is unit type.
However, some people have said that different unit type can get a 4+. I didn't see this rule in the book and neither did a few other people. So just trying to get clarification there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/08 18:11:45
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
Courageous Silver Helm
|
The BRB says something to the effect of "If a character is shot at it can benefit from the look out sir rule on a role of 4+ as long as the character is within 3 inches of the unit of similar type and the unit has 5 or more models."
So, you get the role if you are the same unit type, not base size.
It seems pretty clear in the Empire book that the Hochland long rifle ignores look out sir, but the sprites do not. They ignore any targeting restrictions, but not modifiers to hit, or saves.
|
40k: - Cadian 231st, Death Guard, Sisters, Dark Eldar Iyanden, Scythes of the Emperor
WHFB Armies: High Elves, Empire, WoC, Beastmen, Lizardmen, Dark Elves, Vampires
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/14 12:18:54
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Michigan, USA
|
I believe it's a sure thing that any character, regardless of type, can get a 4+ Look Out Sir roll if they're attached to a unit with more than 5 rank-and-files. If they're in the unit, they're within 3" after all. Is there specific wording regarding different base-sizes -not- benefiting from the 1+ version? I know this was a very common rumor prior to the book coming out, but haven't found the specific reference/sidebar/etc. in the BRB.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/15 15:34:36
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It said they have to be within 3" of the same "type" - so monstrous cavalry having to be within 3" of a unit of monstrous cavalry, etc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/14 17:42:34
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There is no look out sir if you are a different type.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/17 15:26:39
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Killjoy00 wrote:There is no look out sir if you are a different type.
This is how it was played for me on Thursday... per the blackshirt at the local store.
Wild Rider lord on stag did not get look out sir from being IN a unit of wild riders. Would only get look out sir if within 3" of another Monstrous Beasts unit with 5 RnF models. But nothing for having JOINED the unit. Its the different model classification that is the issue. you only get the Look out Sir from same unit type in 3 inches at 4+, or at 2+ if attached to a unit of same unit type.
So yes, no look out sirs for any wood elf heroes / lords on unicorns, stags or eagles because there is no RnF unit in WEs with "Monstrous Beast" type. Treekin are Monstrous Infantry.
Seriously this has put me off playing at all because my eagle, spellsinger, and lord on stag were sniped in three consecutive turns. WEs would be completely limited to on foot or on elven steed only, or will be sniped.
If there is another way to read this, I really would love to know...
Edit: fixed stupid typo
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/17 15:34:41
"When your only tools are duct tape and a shovel, all of life's problems start to look the same!" - kronk
"Evil will always triumph because good is dumb." - Darth Helmet
"History...is, indeed, little more than the register of the crimes, follies, and misfortune of mankind" - Edward Gibbon, The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/17 15:37:07
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
If the character is not the same troop type as the unit he is in, then he does not get a "Look Out Sir!".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/17 16:40:59
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
He also can be picked out by normal shooting.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/17 17:04:38
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List
|
So if I have a Lord on Juggernaut he won't get the "look out sir!" because he is monstrous cavallery?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/17 17:21:13
Subject: Re:look out sir!
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
I'm stunned at how much the game has changed from little, seemingly innocuous stuff...
Found some clarification for my own quandary. On pg 85, Monstrous Beast mounts are discussed. There is a note for "Character Mount" - "Some Characters can ride monstrous beasts, in which case the model uses the rules for monstrous cavalry (see page 83)." Also under "Monstrous Cavalry Mount" on page 105, monstrous beast mounts gain the "monstrous cavalry" classification.
So, warhawk riders (Monst Cav) just became bodyguards... to provide the 4+ lookoutsir in 3" rule. Characters can't join the Warhawk unit, of course (because of flying), but that 4+ does help. Warhawk riders will stick like glue (well, 3" glue) to stags, unicorns and great eagle riders. Am I reading this right?
Saurus lord on Carnosaur is totally screwed, though. Picked out for shooting, and no opportunity for look out sirs... Carnosaur is a Monster, not monstrous beast. I was debating running him on occasion, but now no way. Yeah yeah, I know, Slann are the roxxors, but I really love the carnosaur. I'll just have to admire him in the case, not on the table.
@ Terromortis: If I'm understanding correctly, Lord on Juggernaut (monstrous cav) would get look out sir at 2+ if he joins a unit (5+ RnF, so 3 models, excluding the unit champ) with the Monstrous Cav rule. If he is in 3" of a Monstrous Cav unit with 5+ RnF he gets a 4+ look out sir. I think.
Edit: fixed abbreviation
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/17 17:23:39
"When your only tools are duct tape and a shovel, all of life's problems start to look the same!" - kronk
"Evil will always triumph because good is dumb." - Darth Helmet
"History...is, indeed, little more than the register of the crimes, follies, and misfortune of mankind" - Edward Gibbon, The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/17 18:29:45
Subject: look out sir!
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
You only need 3 Monsterous Cav to provide LOS!, but yeah.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|