Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 00:44:33
Subject: Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
Alright, first one:
Wave serpent. Underslug is what 90 degrees? 32.342394967128394837212389872439294 degrees? 180 degrees? 360 degrees? They can spin 360, though only with some forcing.
Half a question:
Yriel, fortune on the unit. Does he get it if he leaves? I am 80% sure this is a no, though I may be wrong.  (I hope!)
Alternatively, if he is in a unit, I cannot simply cast it on him and him alone... can I?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 00:47:05
Subject: Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The underslung weapon can fire at whatever it looks like it can look at. I'd say it's a little over 180 degrees.
Generally the interpretation is that the power goes on the unit, so any ICs that leave lose it, and any ICs that join gain it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 02:34:04
Subject: Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:
Generally the interpretation is that the power goes on the unit, so any ICs that leave lose it, and any ICs that join gain it.
Which is a gross overgeneralization. The way it is played around here, the whole squad keeps it, no matter who leaves or joins. The power happens at the beginning of the turn. That is when it takes effect. If Eldrad leaves, then where does the power go? You have to declare that you're casting on the unit, Yriel with the unit, or Eldrad with the unit? Then, if you want Eldrad and Yriel to have it, but not the squad, you cast it on the same unit twice? All these questions arise when you say that an independent character loses the power when they leave the squad. KISS - keep it simple, silly. Or, Occam's Razor - the simplest answer is most often the correct one.
The power took effect while they were a part of the unit. If they leave the unit, it is still active. If Eldrad leaves the unit, it is active on him as well. If a character that it wasn't cast on joins that unit, he doesn't get it. He wasn't a part of the unit when it was cast.
Anyway, this has been hotly debated. But this is how we play and how its been played at just about all the tournaments I've been to.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/04 02:34:53
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 02:43:20
Subject: Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Whatever is in LOS of the weapon.
If Yuriel is in the unit and the power is cast on the unit Yuriel benefits even if he leaves(he was part of the unit when it was cast/goes into effect) if another IC then joins the unit the unit still has the abilities granted by the power but not the IC(he was not a part of the unit when power was "cast").
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 02:47:59
Subject: Re:Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
I'll send the keeping it even though he leaves in... but...
If an IC is part of a squad, can I use a psychic power on him? Even though it targets a unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 03:48:00
Subject: Re:Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
you can cast it only on the IC but why would you...if hes part of a unit its just easier to say it affects the whole unit
NOTE: add on for slowpoke...dude, its a play on words. think about it
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/04 04:20:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 03:56:11
Subject: Re:Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
lliadon wrote:you can cast it only on the IC but why would you...if hes part of a unit its just easier to say it affects the whole unit
No, you can't. Fortune tells you to pick an Eldar unit within 6", and an IC and his entourage are only a single unit. You can't pick him out any more than I could when shooting my Lascannon at him.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 04:00:03
Subject: Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Vancouver, BC, Canada
|
puma713 wrote:MasterSlowPoke wrote:
Generally the interpretation is that the power goes on the unit, so any ICs that leave lose it, and any ICs that join gain it.
Which is a gross overgeneralization. The way it is played around here, the whole squad keeps it, no matter who leaves or joins. The power happens at the beginning of the turn. That is when it takes effect. If Eldrad leaves, then where does the power go? You have to declare that you're casting on the unit, Yriel with the unit, or Eldrad with the unit? Then, if you want Eldrad and Yriel to have it, but not the squad, you cast it on the same unit twice? All these questions arise when you say that an independent character loses the power when they leave the squad. KISS - keep it simple, silly. Or, Occam's Razor - the simplest answer is most often the correct one.
The power took effect while they were a part of the unit. If they leave the unit, it is still active. If Eldrad leaves the unit, it is active on him as well. If a character that it wasn't cast on joins that unit, he doesn't get it. He wasn't a part of the unit when it was cast.
Anyway, this has been hotly debated. But this is how we play and how its been played at just about all the tournaments I've been to.
You way is kind of the opposite of KISS. By letting an IC leave and keep fortune you now have 2 units benefiting from one spell. The simplest way, and the one that makes sense, is the way SlowPoke describes. One unit gets targeted. That unit has the power. IC can leave and join the unit but the power only applies to the unit. It doesn't give models the power it give it to the unit.
That is the way all the eldar players up here play anyways.
Your best bet would be to discuss it with the people you regularly play with and come to a consensus within your group. Get together and take a vote and start keeping track of the rules calls you guys make at your FLGS. Then you'll soon have an FAQ of your own that strangers can reference when they come to play in your neighbourhood.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 04:16:40
Subject: Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
BrockRitcey wrote:IC can leave and join the unit but the power only applies to the unit.
What if the unit is made up of two IC's, who then separate?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 04:22:45
Subject: Re:Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
I don't do it at my FLGS. For the NOVA, just wanted to get the obvious part cleared up.
Sucks that there is no way to fortune up Yriel.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 04:48:31
Subject: Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
insaniak wrote:BrockRitcey wrote:IC can leave and join the unit but the power only applies to the unit.
What if the unit is made up of two IC's, who then separate?
Exactly. Disallowing the power to carry over causes more problems than it solves.
Inquisitor_Syphonious wrote:I don't do it at my FLGS. For the NOVA, just wanted to get the obvious part cleared up.
Sucks that there is no way to fortune up Yriel. 
Huh? I fortune Yriel all the time. Yriel + 10 Warlocks + Eldrad in a Serpent. Cast Fortune on his own unit, then disembark Yriel and the Warlocks. Now they're all fortuned - and shows another problem with disallowing the power carrying over. So, Eldrad isn't affected by fortune anymore once Yriel and the warlocks disembark? What if it was Eldrad I wanted to keep the power, not Yriel and the unit? What if it was just Yriel and Eldrad?
Letting the entire unit keep it for the turn, whether they break away or not, is the simplest answer and the one that makes the most sense.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/04 04:51:08
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 04:59:18
Subject: Re:Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
Doesn't mean it is fair.
Yes. Obviously I can fortune the squad he is in, I usually bomb him after the first few combats, when the enemy deathstar looms.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/04 09:30:09
Subject: Eldar question and a half.
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Re the underslung shurikens, this is actually mentioned as an example in the BRB FAQ:
BRB_FAQ wrote:In the same way, the
shuriken catapult mounted under the hull of a
Wave Serpent, Falcon, etc. looks like it can rotate
360ᄎ, but it does not look like it can be fired
through the main hull right behind it, so we
normally play that it can be fired roughly in the
180ᄎ to the vehicleメs front, which seems like an
acceptable compromise.
|
|
 |
 |
|