Switch Theme:

IC on Twolf Mount joined to Fenrisian Wolves Morale  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries






I searched around, but couldn't find a thread on this one.

If I have a Lord with Thunderwolf Mount joined to a unit of Fenrisian Wolves, does the Thunderwolf Mount give him the Wolfkin rule that allows the unit of Fenrisian Wolves to re-roll their Morale?

Here are some references:
p.62: "A character with a Thunderwolf Mount has the unit type of cavalry..."
p.34: "Wolfkin: Any unit of Fenrisian Wolves may re-roll any failed Morale tests if they are within 12" of a Thunderwolf Cavalry model."

Does the Thunderwolf Mount that makes the Lord cavalry make him a "Thunderwolf Cavalry" model?


What about a Lord with Fenrisian Wolves as wargear that is within 12" of a Thunderwolf Cavalry model?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/08 02:08:10


Jim
Fire Hawks, Pre-Heresy Luna Wolves Orks
Rook End | Fly Lords | real genius
DQ:70S+G++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k91++D+++A+++/wWD169R+++T(M)DM++ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

As far as I know the character in question has to have the appropriate saga. Canis has this rule built in.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries






Confusingly, there are several things in the SW book known as Wolfkin.

I think you are referring to the "Saga of the Wolfkin", which makes all wolves I5, Ld 7. Canis has "Lord of the Wolfkin", which gives all wolves within 12" his Ld 8.

I'm asking about the Thunderwolf Cavalry special rule "Wolfkin", which allows Fenrisian Wolves within 12" of a Thunderwolf to re-roll failed Morale tests.

Essentially, does a Lord on Thunderwolf Mount get the Thunderwolf Cavalry special rule "Wolfkin"? This would let him re-roll his Ld 10 if joined to a unit of Fenrisian Wolves.

Jim
Fire Hawks, Pre-Heresy Luna Wolves Orks
Rook End | Fly Lords | real genius
DQ:70S+G++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k91++D+++A+++/wWD169R+++T(M)DM++ 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






No a Lord(or battle leader) on a T-wolf does not have the Wolfkin rule. That rule is only on the Unit Thunderwolf Cavalry.

If you want your IC on a Thunder wolf to give the Wolves any benefit you must take Saga of the Wolfkin, and then you only get the benefits listed in the saga.

Alternatively you can take Canis who has his own abilities.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Scyzantine Empire

Or join the Lord/Battle Leader with Saga of the Wolfkin to a unit of T-wolf Cav to get both bonuses.

What harm can it do to find out? It's a question that left bruises down the centuries, even more than "It can't hurt if I only take one" and "It's all right if you only do it standing up." Terry Pratchett, Making Money

"Can a magician kill a man by magic?" Lord Wellington asked Strange. Strange frowned. He seemed to dislike the question. "I suppose a magician might," he admitted, "but a gentleman never could." Susanna Clarke Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell

DA:70+S+G+M++B++I++Pw40k94-D+++A+++/mWD160R++T(m)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries






So if a Lord on TWolf is joined to a unit of Fenrisian Wolves and they are within 12" of a Thunderwolf Cavalry model then the Lord's squad re-rolls Morale on his Ld 10?

Jim
Fire Hawks, Pre-Heresy Luna Wolves Orks
Rook End | Fly Lords | real genius
DQ:70S+G++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k91++D+++A+++/wWD169R+++T(M)DM++ 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






no, because ity is no longer a unit of fenrisian wolves. It is a unit of wolves with an IC attached.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: