Switch Theme:

GreyKnight Terminators and Sweeping Advance  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




Dallas, TX

I recently played a game against a Deamonhunter army. My opponent locked up a unit in CC. End result I lost combat, leadership, so he performed a "Sweeping Advance" on me.

I asked how he could do this, and in the Deamonhunter codex, it states that they can not "Advance" (so RAW this is not "Sweeping Advance").

Is this right?

Thank you.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Yes and no.

Yes it does not say "sweeping Advance" so if you go pure RAW with it, they can SA. but then if he tries that again, first wander over to the Silly RAW thread an force him to use all the nonsensical crud there. Including that as the Termies may not "advance" after an assault, then they are stuck in that one spot never to move again.

No, it should not be played that way; while the rule does not properly use the correct term, it uses one close enough that we should all know what they are talking about.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







RaW, they "may only consolidate", so they cannot Sweeping Advance.

Or you could just not play him anymore.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Alexandria

Well, if you want to use "may not advance" against him, he isnt stuck in place, he can always turn his mini around and walk him backwards ... advance is to move forwards

- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts 
   
Made in us
Kid_Kyoto






Probably work

kill dem stunties wrote:Well, if you want to use "may not advance" against him, he isnt stuck in place, he can always turn his mini around and walk him backwards ... advance is to move forwards


Ah, but as we all know, there is no facing for regular infantry units. They're facing all directions at the same time.

Assume all my mathhammer comes from here: https://github.com/daed/mathhammer 
   
Made in gb
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator






The Midlands

Models in Terminator Armour cannot perform a sweeping advance.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







phantommaster wrote:Models in Terminator Armour cannot perform a sweeping advance.
Really? Please show me where it says that in the Dæmonhunters Codex then please.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




Dallas, TX

Now, Now Gwar let's be nice...

But you did answer my question, the "may only consolidate" portion would negate sweeping advance even if it the verbage "Sweeping Advance" isn't present.

Also Kommissar Kel's interpretation, that GreyKnight Terminators can never move forward after winning CC is HYLARIOUS!!!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/08 21:01:50


 
   
Made in se
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine






Gwar! wrote:
phantommaster wrote:Models in Terminator Armour cannot perform a sweeping advance.
Really? Please show me where it says that in the Dæmonhunters Codex then please.


Don't know why the Daemonhunters terminators should be diffrent, but in the CSM codex it says that "modeles in terminator armour may not Sweeping Advance after assults" (shouldn't that be may not USE Sweeping Advance?). I havn't read the DH codex, so this rule may not apply to all terminators

Edit, but if it says "may only consolidate" like Gwar! says, then my input was totally pointless
Out of curiosity, are there any terminators who can do a SA?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/09 03:26:08


Woff, I'm a Cow! 
   
Made in us
Secret Force Behind the Rise of the Tau




USA

kill dem stunties wrote:Well, if you want to use "may not advance" against him, he isnt stuck in place, he can always turn his mini around and walk him backwards ... advance is to move forwards


But to retreat is to advance in another direction.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Limbo - not any that i know of, the closest are obliterators who are tech virus mutated terminators who CAN sweeping advance....
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Limbo wrote:Don't know why the Daemonhunters terminators should be diffrent, but in the CSM codex it says that "modeles in terminator armour may not Sweeping Advance after assults" (shouldn't that be may not USE Sweeping Advance?). I havn't read the DH codex, so this rule may not apply to all terminators


That was actually the exact point being made.

The DH codex as written at a time that the rules worked rather differently. It does not contain a prohibition against performing a Sweeping Advance, but instead refers to 'Advancing' which was the precursor to the current Sweeping Advance rule and worked slightly differently.

It's fairly clear that where the codex says 'Advance' we should replace it with 'Sweeping Advance'... but GW have never bothered to errata it (probably because they feel it's obvious enough that people will figure it out for themselves and so it will only be a problem in RAW discussions...)

 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






mrfantastical wrote:
Also Kommissar Kel's interpretation, that GreyKnight Terminators can never move forward after winning CC is HYLARIOUS!!!


I try

Also Limbo: you go by the Codex's rules not any others; so DH termies can be different the Chaos's and every other loyalist Marine's; just like how all terminators can teleport deepstrike except for Space Wolves, who cannot.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator






The Midlands

Gwar! wrote:
phantommaster wrote:Models in Terminator Armour cannot perform a sweeping advance.
Really? Please show me where it says that in the Dæmonhunters Codex then please.


Ahh now this is where it gets complicated, SM models in terminator armour are relentless etc and cannot perform a sweeping advance. So immediately presumed that TAGK would be as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/12 17:59:14


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







phantommaster wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
phantommaster wrote:Models in Terminator Armour cannot perform a sweeping advance.
Really? Please show me where it says that in the Dæmonhunters Codex then please.
Ahh now this is where it gets complicated, SM models in terminator armour are relentless etc and cannot perform a sweeping advance. So immediately presumed that TAGK would be as well.
Heh, no need to apologize. It's a mistake a lot of people make. Sadly GW seem to think it's perfectly fine to have something with the same name have 4 different versions of rules.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: