Switch Theme:

IC on Foot with Biker unit, joined pre-deployment, held in reserves, when can they split?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander







An IC on foot is attached to a biker unit. The unit is kept in reserve. The unit comes on...what is their movement rate? Normally you move as per the slowest model in the unit. What if the player wants to move the unit 24 inches and leave the IC behind, would this be legal?


.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







General Hobbs wrote:
An IC on foot is attached to a biker unit. The unit is kept in reserve. The unit comes on...what is their movement rate? Normally you move as per the slowest model in the unit. What if the player wants to move the unit 24 inches and leave the IC behind, would this be legal?

You have to move at the speed of the slowest model.

IIRC the Reserves rules deal with IC's and all that. They are not allowed to leave.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Dangerous Outrider





well, the Rule Book says that an Independant Character has to be in coherency at the end of the movement phase and they can move away at any time during that movement phase. the only restrictions (not including other game phases which you cannot leave at) are for mandatory movement and lack there of such as falling back and being pinned

of course, you could be a jerk and say that it's alway the IC that has to move out of coherency and moving a unit from reserve counts as mandatory so you have no choice at that point for the IC to wander off as he's part of the unit when they arrive and he has to make the move with them, I suppose that's the drawback of making 1 Reserves roll to get them on the board at the same time (which the Reserves section does sorta mention)

but what would I know?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/09 12:35:01


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




First things first.

1. Reserve rolls are made seperately. (You can't make one roll for both to come in.)

2. If both units come on the board you can attach them.

3. If you do attach them they move at the slowest speed.

Those are the rulz.

So if you want to move 24 inches you can't have a IC w/out a bike.

*****************

What is your thinking on if you can do this? Are you trying to do something weird?

Also why bring in an IC that has to walk?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/09 12:43:46


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Elitest Jerk - nope, you're thinking 4th ed.

In 5th ed you declare at Deployment HOW reserves are organised, e.g. "this Chaos lord in terminator armour will join these terminators, and they will both arrive by deepstrike"

Any IC that is joined to a unit in this way is now part of that unit, and both will arrive together on a single dice roll. This avoids the situation where the IC arrives alone after his unit fail their reserve roll that used to make 4th ed kinda annoying...


If you wanted you could rn them seperately, and if you moved the IC into coherency with the unit they would then be joined - assuming they turn up together of course!
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Elitest Jerk wrote:First things first.

1. Reserve rolls are made seperately.

2. If both units come on the board you can attach them.

3. If you do attach them they move at the slowest speed.

Those are the rulz.

So if you want to move 24 inches you can't have a IC w/out a bike.


Very well put.

and also Very wrong.

BRB pg 94 under preparing reserves, third paragraph: "First he must specify to the opponent if any of his Independent Characters left in reserve are joining a unit, in which case they will be rolled for and will arrive together,..."

Those are the "rulz" (or rules, as the case may be).

OP: If you attach an infantry character to a bike unit held in reserves, they can split off when the unit comes onto the field, but the bikes would still only move 6"(speed of the slowest model)

of course if you weren't planning on keeping the foot model with the bikes why would you place them together in the first place?

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




To get them to come in on one roll, not two, is the only reason I can think of..
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




So you are telling me that I could say that my LR is coming in reserve and that a unit of Space Marines will join it and my IC will join that unit?

So instead of making 3 rolls you make 1?

If you have 3 seperate units and you want them in reserve you need to make 3 rolls. Dedicated transports come w/ the unit just as retinues come with an IC. IC's and units are seperate and need to come in that way.

My understanding of the rules is as follows.

1. Deployment - An IC can join a unit when it is placed on the table.

2. If an IC is put in reserve it needs to make a seperate roll. (if it has a retinue it comes in with him, if not then that other unit makes a reserve roll.)

3. If a unit and an IC come in play at the same time and have the same movement type. ie, Jumppack with Jumptroops, Terminator armour with terminators, in a dedicated vehicle w/ a unit, walking with a squad of bikes.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Elitest Jerk, read the Reserves rules. then come back.

It's made VERY clear how it works there.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/09 12:57:43


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Elitest Jerk wrote:So you are telling me that I could say that my LR is coming in reserve and that a unit of Space Marines will join it and my IC will join that unit?

So instead of making 3 rolls you make 1?

If you have 3 seperate units and you want them in reserve you need to make 3 rolls. Dedicated transports come w/ the unit just as retinues come with an IC. IC's and units are seperate and need to come in that way.

My understanding of the rules is as follows.

1. Deployment - An IC can join a unit when it is placed on the table.

2. If an IC is put in reserve it needs to make a seperate roll. (if it has a retinue it comes in with him, if not then that other unit makes a reserve roll.)

3. If a unit and an IC come in play at the same time and have the same movement type. ie, Jumppack with Jumptroops, Terminator armour with terminators, in a dedicated vehicle w/ a unit, walking with a squad of bikes.


Page 94, read it.

And as to the question at the beginning of this quote the answer is: Yes, as clearly written on Page 94, again read it.

Your understanding is beyond flawed, you do not understand

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/09 13:21:51


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




Please also look at the 40k faq on the GW website. There they have a faq that specifically explains that an IC arriving with a unit from reserves cannot leave that unit on the turn that they arrive.



Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant




Ohio

@Elitest Jerk:

Yes you can put an IC with a Squad of terminators and load them up into a land raider and have only 1 reserve roll. That's how it works. Everything has to be inside of the land raider though - no walking the termies and IC on the board.

5000+ Points
3000+ Points
3500+ Points
2000+ Points
Cleveland Penny Pincher 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




You are right on the faq that I'm talking about old rules.

So from what Sliggoth is saying I can't have my LRC w/ squad and IC come out and assault seperate units. ie Squad go one way and IC seperate himself from the squad and assault another unit. I could how ever assault both units but the IC has to be attached to the original sqaud he came on the board with.
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Elitest Jerk wrote:Squad go one way and IC seperate himself from the squad and assault another unit.


You can do this, but not on the turn of arriving from reserves (40k rulebook FAQ prevents this). On any other turn, the squad and IC would need to disembark such that they were 2" apart (p67 Independent characters embarking and disembarking), and could then assault seperate targets.

If they weren't in the transport, the IC could seperate from the unit as usual by moving out of coherency and then they could assault seperate targets.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/09 14:08:11


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I'm talking about the turn they come in.

Of course the turns after they deploy normal rules apply for leaving and joining a squad.
   
Made in au
Dangerous Outrider





building on what I said before, your unit starts "off the board" and moves onto it as one as they come from reserves as one, wouldn't his mean your IC has now expended his chance at choosing his own movement?

but anyway, I always disembark from transports when I arrive, well, usually

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/09 14:36:17


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Lotet - sort of yes, whihc is why the FAQ does not allow you to split.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I'm taking this all in.

So in Dawn of War no IC can seperate from his squad if he came on the board in reserve.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, its a general ruling about arriving from reserves; if you arrive "as if from reserves" a la DoW you are stuck with the unit for a player turn at least....
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: