| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/09 17:21:05
Subject: Troll Vomit as Supporting Attaks?
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
So I have a unit of six trolls run in two ranks. If I go with standard attaks, the unit under 8th now gets 18 attaks, as the rear rank adds their full three each. What if I vomit instead? The WoC book says "the whole unit vomits" but only those in base actually dish out a S5 hit. Does 8th allow the second rank to count as in base somehow and not just forfeit their attaks? In the section in the BRB about who fights it talks about a single basic attak without special rules, etc which seems to squash my dreams of vomitous oceans, but maybe I'm missing something?
- Salvage
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/10 22:12:11
Subject: Troll Vomit as Supporting Attaks?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Unfortunately RAW, states only those in base to base so they might as well just bash them to death. Also note that they took away "The Will of Chaos" from trolls in the pdf for the army book.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/11 01:39:07
Subject: Troll Vomit as Supporting Attaks?
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
Right, because anything with the Stupidity rule also has ItP now. Caught me by surprise the first time as well. I can't say I'm happy with the no vomiting from the second rank ruling, but I'll shuffle my feet and just deal with it, as I agree that RAW doesn't seem to allow for it. Doubly so, because of the base contact thing from WoC and the no special abilities for supporting attaks in the BRB. On a related note, the limiting of any special abilities from support attaks means that, for example, troops with KB attaking from a second rank do NOT in fact get KB ... right? Something to bring to VC, TK, WE, DE, etc players' attentions. - Salvage
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/11 01:39:48
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/11 01:51:27
Subject: Troll Vomit as Supporting Attaks?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nope, it just states you cannot get any extra attacks, you are stuck at 1 regardless of weapon / special abilties.
So you still get killing blow with tomb guard, etc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/11 03:39:52
Subject: Troll Vomit as Supporting Attaks?
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
Ahhh I thought all the repeated mentioning of the word special meant attaks that were special. Not more attaks.
Thankfully I'll have my Uber- BRB Mon or Tues
- Salvage
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/11 11:39:13
Subject: Troll Vomit as Supporting Attaks?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
the BRB is loooooooovely....just not easy to read on a sofa!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|