| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/12 15:16:18
Subject: deffrolla and a destroyed wepon result
|
 |
Storming Storm Guardian
In the land of milk and honey
|
Hey dakkdakka anyone know if on a battlewagon with a deffrolla, when it gets a weapon destroyed result can the deffrolla be an option to destroy ??
|
1500
in the future |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/12 15:27:41
Subject: deffrolla and a destroyed wepon result
|
 |
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine
|
Yes. No. Maybe.
There is no definitive answer to this as a deff-rolla is wargear and not a weapon.... but it is also a weapon.
Discuss with your opponent before the game, I guess.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/12 15:28:21
Subject: deffrolla and a destroyed wepon result
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
No. Maybe. They do not meet any definition of a weapon in the rulebook, and do not function as a weapon in any sense defined by the rulebook. Some players believe that the damaging component they add to the wagon's tank shock ability should classify them as functioning like a weapon, but that's an extremely broad definition that isn't explicitly supported by the rules and can quickly lead to a slippery slope. This has been debated to death repeatedly, I recommend coming to your own conclusion with your opponent (or agreeing to a FAQ conclusion, like that in the INAT).
|
|
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2010/07/12 15:33:55
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/12 15:28:58
Subject: deffrolla and a destroyed wepon result
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
it's technically wargear so by pure RAW you can't. you'll find alot of people want to since, despite not being technically a weapon, it's the most effective "weapon" you can put on the vehicle. lots of group house rules allow you to destroy it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/12 15:36:33
Subject: deffrolla and a destroyed wepon result
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
As said, it has been done to death with no real answer.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/12 15:38:35
Subject: Re:deffrolla and a destroyed wepon result
|
 |
Storming Storm Guardian
In the land of milk and honey
|
Figures, me friends and i got stuck on that it is/is not a weapon, and since the last time i played it i got lucky and ran down 7 meq with it. We got the feeling that maybe yeah you can blow that cuss off the wagon. Was hopping their was someone with a link to a FAQ or something ah well, thanks much.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/12 15:40:19
1500
in the future |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/12 15:42:16
Subject: Re:deffrolla and a destroyed wepon result
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Owmyeye wrote:since the last time i played it i got lucky and ran down 7 meq with it
Just to check, since I've seen many players make the mistake, you were allowing them armor saves right? The rolla has no AP value, it's just S10. It's much more suited for cracking vehicles than it is for running down armored infantry. Driving it into a MEQ squad only gives you about ~1 unsaved wound, on average.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/07/12 15:44:32
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/12 15:44:33
Subject: Re:deffrolla and a destroyed wepon result
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Gorkamorka wrote:Owmyeye wrote:since the last time i played it i got lucky and ran down 7 meq with it
Just to check, since I've seen many players make the mistake, you were allowing them armor saves right? The rolla has no AP value, it's just S10. It's much more suited for cracking vehicles than it is for running down armored infantry.
In fairness, 7 Marines over the course of the game is not the best result for a 130+ Wagon. xD Now, taking out 2 Land Raiders with a Single Ram, That's worth it. And just to head off the questions, yes, he blew up the first with the ram proper. Blowing up a vehicle with the rolla does not let you continue the Ram.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/12 15:45:12
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/12 15:48:10
Subject: Re:deffrolla and a destroyed wepon result
|
 |
Storming Storm Guardian
In the land of milk and honey
|
you were allowing them armor saves right?
Yup, i got lucky in the sense that he had bad armor save rolls and through the game the wagon ran through 3 squads being at that point their were no better targets. I was really just trying to tank shock him off the objectives but, the first time he attempted to death or glory which cost him 3 dead troops, and 2 more here and 2 more there by the end of the game.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/12 15:51:48
1500
in the future |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/13 05:36:20
Subject: Re:deffrolla and a destroyed wepon result
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:
And just to head off the questions, yes, he blew up the first with the ram proper. Blowing up a vehicle with the rolla does not let you continue the Ram.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/13 14:42:44
Subject: Re:deffrolla and a destroyed wepon result
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
The whole debate over what functions as a weapon means has been run through several times. INAT seems to be leaning towards the idea that the only pieces of wargear that count for this are the two actually listed in the rule itself, so takes an extremely limited view on the subject. It does quickly become difficult to say exactly where a line should be drawn, since functions as a weapon is not a very exact rule.
It could be as loose as being able to cause wounds, or it could be as tight as requiring a full weapon profile (altho that does raise the question as to why something isnt a weapon if it has a full weapon profile)
There is no clear rule on this, and there is no clear sense of opinion on exactly what is the right place to draw the line.
Sliggoth
|
Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|