Switch Theme:

Lascannon vs. AV10  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun





Canada

Me and a friend played a game recently where I fired a S9 LC shot at a Warwalker. I hit fine, which lead to AP roll that landed a 1. I explained that S9 + 1 (from roll) would still be a glancing hit on AV10 but he argued I would not even get the glance that no roll of a 1 will wound.

So, would I still get the glancing hit or is it written off as nothing?

4500 of Dark Angels
2500 of Grey Knights
Malifaux - Rasputina and Viktoras
Hordes - Circle Orboros
WIP Beastmen  
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

No, wounding and glancing are completly different. Nowhere in the rulebook does it say that a 1 dosen't glance. S9 + a penetration roll of 1 would still glance.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







DisgruntldGoat wrote:Me and a friend played a game recently where I fired a S9 LC shot at a Warwalker. I hit fine, which lead to AP roll that landed a 1. I explained that S9 + 1 (from roll) would still be a glancing hit on AV10 but he argued I would not even get the glance that no roll of a 1 will wound.

So, would I still get the glancing hit or is it written off as nothing?
Your friend is wrong.

Nowhere does it say a 1 to pen is nothing. Rolling to wound and rolling to penetrate are two VERY different things.

Ask him to show you where it says "A 1 to glance does nothing". He won't be able too unless he is using a doctored rulebook!

And yes, this means S10 weapons will always penetrate AV10 vehicles.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/13 14:47:51


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in se
Bounding Assault Marine





In the deepest reaches of Valhalla

Tell your friend he just got Gwar!ed


//Edge
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Point him at the Armour Penetration rules on p60. They're unambiguous about what happens in this situation.
   
Made in ca
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun





Canada

Alright just thought I'd make sure. Thanks for the help.

4500 of Dark Angels
2500 of Grey Knights
Malifaux - Rasputina and Viktoras
Hordes - Circle Orboros
WIP Beastmen  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: