Switch Theme:

Tervigon, 2 powers a turn?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver






Title says it all. Can a Tervigon use dominion and in my opponent's case catalyst in the same turn? Don't have my rule book with me at the moment so I'm unsure.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

None of the Tervigons abilities can be used in your opponent's turn.
One is at the beginning of your turn, one is in the movement phase, and one is a shooting attack.

That said, it can still only use one power/turn as per psyker rules.

Swarmlord can use two, however they are all shooting attacks, so still none in your opponent's turn.

Not too sure you were asking about your opponent, or his turn, so I tried to cover both

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/14 22:47:57


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver






Sorry, I meant in his turn as he is using the Tervigons. Ok thanks, he's my next league opponent and I saw him use both powers the same turn and was unsure.
   
Made in gb
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





St. Albans, Herts, UK

One power per player turn is the rule. I'm fairly sure there are no exceptions. Ask to see his Nid codex for piece of mind. Unless it is stated otherwise his Tervigon should be subject to all the normal psyker rules.

Back in the day, we were epic Space Vikings with horns, and beer, and stupid mockney accents, and we didn't have any truck with this flying around like a pansy shizzle. We certainly didn't surround ourselves with mangy animals.

Now we're basically the Bestiality Chapter.

We also now ride chariots and employ daemonic dreadnoughts...also, we fly and teleport with abandon. With wolves. 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Models need a specific rule to use more than one psychic power in a player's turn; the Swarmlord's Psychic Abomination rule, for example.
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

Tervigon is an MC and has rules for using powers, no brb on hand but it's in that section.

My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

mrwhoop wrote:Tervigon is an MC and has rules for using powers, no brb on hand but it's in that section.


Nope, nothing about psychic powers in the MC section on page 51.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




mrwhoop wrote:Tervigon is an MC and has rules for using powers, no brb on hand but it's in that section.


Nope, MCs can SHOOT two weapons a turn, but no permission to use two psychic powers a turn.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

nosferatu1001 wrote:
mrwhoop wrote:Tervigon is an MC and has rules for using powers, no brb on hand but it's in that section.


Nope, MCs can SHOOT two weapons a turn, but no permission to use two psychic powers a turn.


Exactly. Swarmlord is the only unit in the Tyranid book who is allowed to use two psychic powers a turn.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

So...doesn't that answer the question? I didn't say it could use two psychic powers, just that MC's have a section in the brb for what is permissible.

My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

No, it doesn't, because the MC section doesn't say diddly-squat about it. I'll repeat what I said earlier. There is NOTHING in the Monstrous Creature rules on page 51 that mentions psychic powers. Nothing at all. You have to go to the Character section for psychic power rules and how those rules combine with models that can shoot more than one weapon.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




also, it's not very common, but if a tervigon uses onslaught (psychic shooting attack) on a friendly unit (even though it's an MC and can use 2 ranged weapons) it cannot use its normal shooting attack because it already "shot" a friendly unit
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

Finally looked up pg 50 last sentence: However, if he is allowed to fire more than one ranged weapon per turn...this to me means an MC can target the same unit with 2 psychic shooting attacks if it follows the () of that last sentence.

My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, IF the MC can use two psychic powers in the first place....
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

And that last sentence allows it to replace any of its shooting attacks with a psychic shooting attack so long as it's not the same one twice. So shooting twice, one weapon one shooting power, or two different psychic shooting powers. But as it was pointed out you can't shoot a 'friendly' unit and then attack an enemy unit.

*edited for clarification*

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/19 12:07:08


My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







mrwhoop wrote:And that last sentence allows it to replace any of its shooting attacks with a psychic shooting attack so long as it's not the same one twice. So shooting twice, one weapon one shooting power, or two different psychic shooting powers.
Except the rules for psychic powers only allow you to use one.

You must break no rule.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando





Southern Ohio, USA



However, in the rules for psykers you'll note that you're only allowed to use one psychic power per turn unless a rule tells you otherwise.

So, as nos said, if the psyker in question could already cast two psychic powers per turn (like, the swarmlord), then they could use those in place of their shooting attacks.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/19 12:03:20


MeanGreenStompa wrote:The idea of Land Raider rarity is a lie, there are millions of them, they reproduce like tribbles. Ask the Blood Angels, they have so many they even throw them out of thunderhawks moving at high speed to try and reduce the numbers.


DR:80+SGM-B+I--Pw40k09#+D++A+/hWD350R++T(M)DM+

My Army
Orks 2500+ pts 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

The part I mention doesn't read how many powers can be cast, just that if the model can shoot more than once, any of the shooting attacks can be replaced. I say this overrides the limit one per turn during the shooting phase.

My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







mrwhoop wrote:The part I mention doesn't read how many powers can be cast, just that if the model can shoot more than once, any of the shooting attacks can be replaced. I say this overrides the limit one per turn during the shooting phase.
Where does it say it overrides this?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

Last sentence says "However, if he is allowed to fire more than one ranged weapon per turn he can replace any of his shooting attacks with psychic shooting attacks (but not the same power twice)." I think that's verbatim but it's the any + () part that makes me think that. Why say not the same power twice if only one shooting attack could be replaced?

*edited for props to the OP for any and all help I'm getting from this*

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/19 12:22:47


My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







mrwhoop wrote: Why say not the same power twice if only one shooting attack could be replaced?
Because some models can use more than 1 Psychic power a turn? Those models that have VERY SPECIAL RULES allowing them to do so? Examples of which include the Swarmlord, Arhiman and Upgraded Spess Mahrine Librarians?

If an MC could use Multiple Psi Powers without a special rule, why give the Swarmlord a special rule allowing him/her/it/gsfdyudgsef to do so?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/19 12:29:27


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

Well my quote says nothing about using powers but replacing shooting attacks. Granted the tervigon won't be in this talk but the generic HT can pick 2 shooting attack powers and that's my line of logic. Replacing shhoting attacks. Not using actual powers/area effects; but then I am super new to 40k so if that's how tourneys/errata do it...

Or will this be a case of the TO plays it like this?

*edited for Gwar edit*

Right the Swarm does throw the dirt I dug over my argument (and consequently me). I don't think there is a non shooting attack he can pick.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/19 12:35:29


My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
Made in gb
Mindless Spore Mine





Tbh it's pretty clear. Psycher section says one power per turn. End of. If you have a rule in a CODEX that says otherwise then fine as codex > rulebook.

By the logic that the monstrous creatures section says you can replace shooting attacks with psychic ones, i should declare whether anything i do is psychic or physical or spehs mehrine libby's will try and psychic hood my venom cannons.

The point of the rule is to say that certain creatures (like the Swarmlord) can use multiple powers or a combination of powers and shooting, like a tervigon giving catalyst in the movement phase and then shooting things in the shooting phase.

If the unit doesn't make a pile. . it wasn't worth taking. . . 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





Atlanta

Well, my problem was the 'replace any shooting with a psychic shooting power'. The terv choosing to cast dom or cat was not an issue. One power a turn I get. The MC getting more than one shooting attack and the last line of 'However' and any was my downfall.

*edited Thanks Gwar and nos for always giving exemplary clarifications

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/19 16:20:13


My Sisters of Battle Thread
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/783053.page
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: