Switch Theme:

Advice please :)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Mighty Vampire Count






UK

Hi all - can I have some opinions on a issue with a game last night - long time but irregular player so many rules we are still unsure of.

it was all good fun my Dark Eldar with Tryanids vs Imp Guard and Necrons, 1000pts each and first army to die loses - lots of stuff died on both sides so all well and good.

So my Archon and her Retinue charge a Necron Warrior unit including a Lord equiped with a Resurrection Orb, another Warrior unit was engaged by my Tryanid allies - no other Necrons nanywhere nearby. The Archon and her Incubi (all with power weapons) slaughter many Necrons (Very cool) and lose a couple of Dark Eldar in return, massively winning the battle - the Necrons fail their LD test and try to run - but as I have a In 7 they fail to escape and are cut down in a Sweeping Advance. The other Warrior unit is battered by the Nids but the few survivors manage to hold with a LD roll of 2 :(

So we had a short debate on what happens next.............. The rules of the Resurection Orb seemed to suggest that the Lord still got his WBB roll as he had the orb, but we were not sure about the warriors as the Lord was "dead". The Lrod made his roll and some of his warriors joined the other warrior unit and we carried on

Reading threads on here seems to suggest that the Lord and its men should have just died - even with the Orb? Is that right....?

thanks for anyone who has time to answer

I AM A MARINE PLAYER

"Unimaginably ancient xenos artefact somewhere on the planet, hive fleet poised above our heads, hidden 'stealer broods making an early start....and now a bloody Chaos cult crawling out of the woodwork just in case we were bored. Welcome to my world, Ciaphas."
Inquisitor Amberley Vail, Ordo Xenos

"I will admit that some Primachs like Russ or Horus could have a chance against an unarmed 12 year old novice but, a full Battle Sister??!! One to one? In close combat? Perhaps three Primarchs fighting together... but just one Primarch?" da001

www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/528517.page

A Bloody Road - my Warhammer Fantasy Fiction 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Sweeping Advance does not allow WBB, if that is your question. . .

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Sweeping Advance removes the unit from the game - there is no coming back. You need to be removed as a casualty to take a WBB test.
   
Made in gb
Mighty Vampire Count






UK

hmm thanks - thats how I read it in the other threads but wanted to be clear so I can stick up on the club forum........... it may cause a little "debate"...........

I AM A MARINE PLAYER

"Unimaginably ancient xenos artefact somewhere on the planet, hive fleet poised above our heads, hidden 'stealer broods making an early start....and now a bloody Chaos cult crawling out of the woodwork just in case we were bored. Welcome to my world, Ciaphas."
Inquisitor Amberley Vail, Ordo Xenos

"I will admit that some Primachs like Russ or Horus could have a chance against an unarmed 12 year old novice but, a full Battle Sister??!! One to one? In close combat? Perhaps three Primarchs fighting together... but just one Primarch?" da001

www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/528517.page

A Bloody Road - my Warhammer Fantasy Fiction 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Just link them to one of the thousands of old threads on the subject, or tell them to come to this thread if they're somehow not convinced.
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Sweeping Advance forbids any save or special rule from rescuing the swept unit unless otherwise specified (p40, under Sweeping Advances). We'll Be Back and Resurrection Orb don't specify that they work against sweeping advances, so they don't.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/15 19:14:25


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: