Switch Theme:

Blue Scribes in 8th  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I have a couple questions.

1. Are dice used to cast blue scribes spells? I.e. similar to bound spells.

2. Can you cast more powerful versions of spells e.g. tier 2 fireball, and if so do you chose to cast the more powerful version or do you roll for it?

My personal take is ( and since gw didn't say otherwise) that you still don't use dice to cast. Also, the more powerful spells should be rolled for randomly like the other spells with a second roll after rolling the multi-power spell.

Any thoughts?
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






I have a similar question. When the Bell rolls and gets Scortch it says it IS cast...... Does this mean that I don't need to roll any power dice?

As for my personaly view on this and the Scribes, I do fear since they FAQed and fixed Tomb Kings, to not need dice, that both the Scribes and the Bell do. However, I would perfer to be wrong.
   
Made in us
Stoic Grail Knight



Houston, Texas

My personal opinion on the bell is the spell goes off at a power level 5.

Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins-  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






But does that need dice or not. The wording makes me think it doesn't, but I am unsure.
   
Made in us
Stoic Grail Knight



Houston, Texas

arinnoor wrote:But does that need dice or not. The wording makes me think it doesn't, but I am unsure.


Im thinking it does not require dice...

It says the bell immediately casts the scorch spell.. The only thing that gets me is bound power level 5....

Really wish it was in the pdf.

Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins-  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




arinnoor wrote:I have a similar question. When the Bell rolls and gets Scortch it says it IS cast...... Does this mean that I don't need to roll any power dice?

As for my personaly view on this and the Scribes, I do fear since they FAQed and fixed Tomb Kings, to not need dice, that both the Scribes and the Bell do. However, I would perfer to be wrong.


To what tomb king rule are you referring? I couldn't find anything about not needing dice and the new incantation rules don't seem relevant

I would say the bell wouldn't need dice since it casts the spell at a power level, otherwise you would roll the spell, maybe not have enough dice and nothing would happen. But the reference to bound spell power could mean otherwise...

As for the scribes I can't see how you would use dice. It says it automatically casts the spell at the minimum cast. Would you just roll dice to cast like a regular spell? The idea behind the ability seems to suggest it works differently than regular magic, especially since the scribes aren't a wizard.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/15 19:47:58


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

yamagogimon18 wrote:As for the scribes I can't see how you would use dice. It says it automatically casts the spell at the minimum cast. Would you just roll dice to cast like a regular spell? The idea behind the ability seems to suggest it works differently than regular magic, especially since the scribes aren't a wizard.
Go reread the section on Bound Spells (p. 37). It used to be that all Bound Spells were auto-cast, but now we have a general rule for Bound Spells that is very different, and a few loose ends with ambiguous language. The Scribes tell us they automatically cast a spell, but they also tell us it counts as a bound spell.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: