Switch Theme:

Stacking the same augment on a unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Hello all,

I was just wondering how you all deal with stacking the same augment or Hex on a unit, this seems to be very easy considering there are a few of these that are remains in play spells?

Example: Not a brilliant tactic but this would work.
High Elves, with Teclis choosing Fire, Wizard with Seer Staff choosing Cascading Fire Cloak, and a normal wizard who rolled Cascading Fire Cloak, according to the rules this is completely legitimate.

Have all three cast Cascading Fire Cloak on a Great Eagle that just charged into combat. For example sake lets pretend that all 3 work.

Does it work like assume that the enemy unit then takes 6d6 Strength 4 hits before combat even starts? (That is an average of 20 hits with 13 wounds against a toughness 3 unit?)
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, becausae each casting satisfies the rule [add 2D6 S4] so you still only add 2d6 hits.

Essentially you ask: Have I added 2D6 S4?
Answer: Yes

Conclusion: all 2 castings rules have been satisfied.
   
Made in us
Human Auxiliary to the Empire






You can stack augment and hexs on a unit.

For example. The lore of Beasts sig. spell says it adds +1 str and toughness to a unit. Casting that spell onto a unit mulitiple times would keep adding +1 Str. and Toughness to the unit.

Just remember 2 wizards can't know the same spell in an army unless it is the sig. spell.

 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




Multiple wizards can know the same spells if they are forced to take them, bought specific spells, or because they bought an ability that gives them no choice as to what they know as per pg 490.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/19 02:32:29


I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




2 castings of the same spell result in the same augment being added once.

Once you have added +1S you have fulfilled the requirements of both rules.
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







nosferatu1001 wrote:2 castings of the same spell result in the same augment being added once.

Once you have added +1S you have fulfilled the requirements of both rules.
Not quite ...Page 31 one paragraph down from Hex
Note that bonuses and penalties from Hex, Augment and other spells are cumulative, but normally cannot take a characteristic above 10 or below 1.

Its nice that they thought this through ... makes you wonder why they didn't manage it with 40k

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/19 22:41:08


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




damn, that makes a lot of sense....goes back to reading BRB, shame faced....
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







nosferatu1001 wrote:damn, that makes a lot of sense....goes back to reading BRB, shame faced....
Would gloat but I'm still coming up with my own problems
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: