Switch Theme:

Wood elf questions!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Knight Exemplar




1. For wild-rider kindred it says they can pick a magic spear OR magic light armour to replace their respective mundane types.
Does this specifically mean i can only pick either a weapon or a piece of armour not both.
Also as it has no mention to talismans and enchanted items etc i assume the wild-rider kindred can still take these aswell as any type of kindred.

The Faq also states that now a wild-rider kindred can use the helm of the hunt, which isn't a piece of light armour as it is an addition to armour. this breaks the wild-rider kindred part as it has not been re-written in the errata, so does this mean that wild-rider kindred can pick any armour to replace their mundane light armour, Or just any armour which does not say Heavy armour. also because of this, if they do take the helm of the hunt, it says Replace the light armour, but it isnt magic light armour so would you lose the light armour?

2. Amber pendant!
A character with amber pendant charges unit of high elf spearmen. now it says all models in base contact strike last, would this mean the models behind still get to strike first with supporting attacks.
I see no reason why they shouldn't but then i don't own a rule book to see what the support attacks rule is.

3. Dawnspear and Fimbulwinter shard.
Combined they give the opponent a -2 to hit ( ssuming any penalties like this stack if they don't then question answered)
Now if your fighting someone who would normally need 5's to hit. this pushes them up to needing 7's.
Can they even still attack? or will they just only hit on 6's.

4. Horn of the asrai.
Are the enemies that are able to charge, those of which would have to be within enemy Movement + 12 inches, as that is now maximum charge distance.

5. Eternal fighting style.
Army book says they lose the benefits of their fighting style if they are given any magic weapon or armour.
Now the FAQ says they can take Additional weapons or armour and still benefit from the Fighting style.
This makes no sense

As the FAQ doesn't say magic weapon or armour, Does this mean you can take Eternal fighting style AND then more light armour and a shield to end up with 3+ save, also additional hand weapons for even more attacks. Or take a great weapon and they are still considered to be using 2 hand weapons?

Also can additional weapons or armour mean they can take Magic weapons/armour ?

Errata didn't really help much but it would be nice to see others opinions on these matters

Thanks!

Warmachine: Menoth/Cygnar/Mercenaries
40k: Tyranids!
Fantasy: Dark elves
Wood elves!  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1. It has allowed you to take that ONE piece only, noth8ing else.

If it states "OR" then you may take 1 OR the other. Not both.

2. That is what "in base to base" means. Also ASL +ASF = normal inititative order

3. As there is no way to get a 7+ on a D6 outside of shooting, looks like no attacks

4. No idea, dont have the book and you didnt explain what the item does

5. The FAQ overrides the army book: it makes perfect "sense", it is a rule change

If you are using a great weapon you are not using 2 hand weapons.

No idea on the last one, my guess would be "yes", as magic weapons are definitely "additional wqeapons"
   
Made in gb
Knight Exemplar




Ok! thanks i just like clarification on things

especially the 7+ thing in question 3.

Sorry ill try be a bit clearer. im pretty good at making a mess while typing !

The eternal fighting style says regardless of how they are armed they have 5+ save and are considered to fight like they have spears and two hand weapons.

Now the Faq says they can take additional weapons and armour while keep the bonuses. (which is a confliction as the eternal fighting style says they lose the bonuses if they take magical weapons or armour) - The errata has not changed that.
So if they can take additional weapons, They should be able to take a great weapon, and still fight like they have a spear and two hand weapons. So they will always gain an additional attack.
Theres no point taking an additional spear as they already have it.
Taking an additional hand weapon when your already considered to have two hand weapons doesn't make sense either so ill just say no to that

Which does leave me to believe that this Additional weapon is only a great weapon (Taking additional light armour and a shield seems legit). Or they truly can take magic items and it overrides their rules. (seems unlikely)


The Horn of asrai!
You use in the the enemies turn, and it says every enemy able to charge this unit must pass a LD test, if they fail they have to charge.
Now i was assuming be Able to charge ment the unit was in charge distance, back in 7th double your movement and no random dice. But now i was thinking would they have to be within the movement + 2d6.

But thinking on it again, Any unit is ABLE to charge (if they can unlike warmachines or being stuck in combat, etc) they don't need to be able to catch the unit, they could just fail.
So now this would mean you could stick someone with the horn and on hill and due to TLOS, Force the majority of your opponents army to test for LD or charge!

I see that being pretty funny with some high dice rolls
Thanks for your reply !

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/07/18 19:58:59


Warmachine: Menoth/Cygnar/Mercenaries
40k: Tyranids!
Fantasy: Dark elves
Wood elves!  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ah right - then I would say they can only charge if they can declare a legal charge, meaning it has to be within charge reach.
   
Made in ca
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk




Canada

#2: Always strikes last even if they have an ability to normally have ASF. It is the last sentence in the items rules.

Being a Mac user is like being a Navy SEAL: a small, elite group of people with access to the most sophisticated technology in the world, who everyone calls on to get the really tough jobs done quickly and efficiently. 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




BoyMac wrote:#2: Always strikes last even if they have an ability to normally have ASF. It is the last sentence in the items rules.


That was changed in the FAQ:
Page 63 – Amber Pendant
Change to “Any enemy models in base contct [sic] with the bearer of
the Amber Pendant have the Always Strike Last special rule.”

So it would have normal interactions with ASF + ASL. Supporting attacks would also strike normally AFAIK since they are not in B2B.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in ca
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk




Canada

Awe… sad-face...

Being a Mac user is like being a Navy SEAL: a small, elite group of people with access to the most sophisticated technology in the world, who everyone calls on to get the really tough jobs done quickly and efficiently. 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




Seon wrote:
3. Dawnspear and Fimbulwinter shard.
Combined they give the opponent a -2 to hit ( ssuming any penalties like this stack if they don't then question answered)
Now if your fighting someone who would normally need 5's to hit. this pushes them up to needing 7's.
Can they even still attack? or will they just only hit on 6's.


pg 50 Under Roll to Hit:" Sometimes modifiers apply to these rolls, but a natural dice score of a 6 always hits and a natural dice score of a 1 always misses."

Since the FAQ didn't say anything to contradict this (ignore the part that was here, is to wound, not to hit), no amount of negative modifiers will cause melee attacks to need more than a 6 to hit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/19 17:32:54


I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in gb
Knight Exemplar




Oooo Thank you

Most people be hitting on 4's anyway so pushing them to 6's is going to keep my woodies alive either way ^_^

Warmachine: Menoth/Cygnar/Mercenaries
40k: Tyranids!
Fantasy: Dark elves
Wood elves!  
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: