| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/19 09:48:10
Subject: Re-rolling scatter dice
|
 |
Huntsman
Cold North
|
Greetings everyone!
I have been out of the loop for a few years, finishing studies and other real life things getting in the way, now I am looking to get back into the game and needing a clarification on how something is played.
So I have decided to come back to the game as Tau (too much hassle re-doing all my Tyranids, and my Slaanesh biker army doesn't really work as it's either), so I have been looking at my options, and Marker Beacon caught my eye.
Basically it allows re-rolling of Scatter dice, and this is what I want a little help in clarifying. Page 95 of the rulebook details the Deep Strike rules, and there it tells me to roll Scatter, then roll the deviation distance if a 'hit' is not rolled. So by rolling the Scatter dice first, then re-rolling it if I see necessary, and finally rolling the deviation distance seems to be the correct way to play this.
Why I mainly ask is that I have seen already atleast one person roll the Scatter dice alongside the two dice for deviation, and then re-rolled the Scatter dice. It seems to me this is incorrect, as you have knowledge of the distance deviated, and thus can estimate if you'd deviate, for example, into impassable terrain and need to re-roll the Scatter dice.
I would like both RAW clarification (I think I have it right, would be nice to hear it from someone else too though) aswell as any opinions and thoughts about the last paragraph of my post, is it incorrectly played if you roll both Scatter dice and the deviation at same time, and then re-roll the Scatter if necessary.
|
World is vast
Lost you are
Fine and avast
In her core |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/19 09:49:53
Subject: Re-rolling scatter dice
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
RAW, rolling scatter is taking the scatter dice and 2D6 and rolling them together.
So you pick up all 3 dice and roll again if you get to reroll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/19 09:58:06
Subject: Re-rolling scatter dice
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:RAW, rolling scatter is taking the scatter dice and 2D6 and rolling them together. So you pick up all 3 dice and roll again if you get to reroll. Nos, that is not what RaW says for Scattering. That's only for Blast Weapons. For Deep Strike Scatter, you roll the Scatter Die, and if it's an Arrow, you roll 2D6, if it's a hit, you don't roll anything. In this case, it can be interpreted that Scatter Die means exactly that, just the Scatter die. However, as it says Scatter DICE (plural), I would tend to agree with Nos in that all the dice are re-rolled, meaning if your first result is a scatter, you re-roll the distance for the second result if it too is a scatter.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/07/19 10:00:29
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/19 10:08:29
Subject: Re-rolling scatter dice
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
However they never use die/dice - they only seem to use "dice", ignoring singular and plural...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/19 11:42:43
Subject: Re:Re-rolling scatter dice
|
 |
Huntsman
Cold North
|
It's true that they never differentiate between "a die" and "dice" which is part reason I used the word "scatter dice" throughout my post.
Thank you Gwar, the literal reading does make me think it should be played as of rolling the scatter first, then re-rolling it, and finally rolling deviation distance. Suppose it's yet another thing to discuss with opponent in friendly games.
|
World is vast
Lost you are
Fine and avast
In her core |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/20 14:10:18
Subject: Re:Re-rolling scatter dice
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
One thing to remember, whichever way you decide to roll the dice, is that it says to reroll the scatter dice...all of them. So if you have agreed that it means that you can roll all the dice and then decide to reroll, you then need to reroll all of the dice again, not just the distance or the direction/ hit die.
So if you reroll, reroll all or none, dont pick and choose. Sometimes people want to only reroll part of the dice and that is not allowed, unless you have an ability that allows you to reroll only one die.
Sliggoth
|
Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/20 18:50:03
Subject: Re-rolling scatter dice
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
With this instance, does it state reroll the scatter dice or reroll the distance scattered? One would be reroll of ALL the dice and one would only be the 2d6.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|