Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 16:17:04
Subject: Confused - IG Orders played by RAW
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm not too concerned with how an IG player will use his orders in an actual game. However, for those players that play by strict RAW, how do you resolve IG orders.
Page 29 of the IG Codex outlines the majority of the general rules for IG orders. Some of the highlights:
Orders must be issued at the start of the Shooting phase and in strict order, representing the IG's chain of command.
An officer may attempt to issue orders provided that he is not locked in an assault, embarked in a transport vehicle, falling back or has gone to ground.
Orders must be issued before the officer and his Command Squad shoot or run.
Orders cannot be issued to squads that are embarked in a transport vehicle, or units that have already run, made a shooting attack or have already received an order that turn.
Unless otherwise stated, orders cannot be issued to units that are falling back or have gone to ground.
Now for the confusing part under Orders Received, Sir!
If the test is passed, the officer's men leap to obey without hesitation - the squad immediately carries out the order and may not act further during the Shooting phase. Once the order has been completed, the officer can attempt to issue another order. When the officer has finished issue orders, he and his command squad can shoot/run normally if the player wishes.
Ok a few things I find confusing about this whole process when applying pure RAW to this section.
If after the first order, the unit receiving the order immediately has to do the action, further orders are no longer "at the start of the Shooting phase".
Also, since commands can be given to the squad with the commander issuing the order, what happens when he uses the command "Bring it down". At the point of using the command, he and his squad have to now shoot. So can the commander issue any further orders? Because of the sentence that says "Orders must be issued before the officer and his Command Squad shoot or run".
To further my confusion, since a command can be given to "Bring it down," or "Fire on my target," both require the unit commanded to immediately fire, but then we have a sentence that says "When the officer has finished issuing orders, he and his command squad can shoot/run normally if the player wishes". Would this allow a command squad that ordered itself to Bring it down to fire again without the command, since he would be shooting/running normally?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 16:52:05
Subject: Re:Confused - IG Orders played by RAW
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Running or Shooting normally for a unit which has received and order is not at all. Receiving an order removes your ability to act again in that shooting phase, nothing gives you that back. If the officer Orders his own squad he wont be able to issue another order as his unit is not allowed to act again.
As for the start of the Shooting Phase thing, the resolution of an order includes the unit carrying it out. So you are still at the start of your shooting phase after the Order has resolved and you may issue another Order as per the rules.
Aramoro
|
Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 17:04:49
Subject: Confused - IG Orders played by RAW
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
You're reading too much into it.
Issue order,
resolve order,
issue next order,
resolve order,
issue next order,
resolve order, etc etc.
As long as you are still in the process of issuing and resolving orders, you can keep doing so. It's only when you perform an action with a unit without using any orders that you have broken the sequence and can no longer issue orders.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 17:06:03
Subject: Confused - IG Orders played by RAW
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
ORder resolution - you have been told that the orders happen in sequence, therefore "start of the phase" has been defined as including this sequence. BY the very nature of the sequence *everything* contained within it gains this "this is the start of phase" tag.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 18:50:07
Subject: Confused - IG Orders played by RAW
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
The only time that Orders break their own rule is on a roll of Double 1's when an order is issued to the commander's own squad.
In this case the Commander has acted, and therefore cannot isue any other orders; but the rule for the unit receiving, and carrying out the Order quickly and efficiently allows the commander to issue an extra order to another squad(my book is in the car, and I have to leave as soon as I finish typing this so I cannot cite the name of the rule, nor remember is it specifically clarifies this situation).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/23 18:50:26
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 18:58:50
Subject: Re:Confused - IG Orders played by RAW
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
I always did it this way in order to sort out all my orders, though I could be wrong after reading this thread and the rules again. I would like to point out that I use a CCS and two platoons (so there is a chance of 2 PCS orders)
Any CCS order (s)
-If any can/are being made-
Any PCS order (s)
-If any can/are being made-
Resolve shooting phase with the effect of orders (if any had been made)
Though as I have mentioned, I could be wrong...
|
I don't play as much as I could. I blame society! And ninjas
Wehrkind: "Nah, see he yells the order, and when everyone looks at him and say "What?" he grabs the vox, hits a guy with it and screams "CAN YOU HEAR MY NOW?!" into the mouth piece. Works like a charm "
Funny thing to do on L4D [if you own the server] Bind the tank music to a key, then at quiet moments press it and start firing like mad at something behind your team whilst screaming 'tank' on voice comms. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 21:49:47
Subject: Confused - IG Orders played by RAW
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
hamsterwheel wrote:If after the first order, the unit receiving the order immediately has to do the action, further orders are no longer "at the start of the Shooting phase".
Which isn't a problem, since you just pointed out that the rules tell you that you can issue the second order at that point.
Also, since commands can be given to the squad with the commander issuing the order, what happens when he uses the command "Bring it down". At the point of using the command, he and his squad have to now shoot. So can the commander issue any further orders?
No. From the Guard FAQ:
Games Workshop wrote:Q. If a Company Command Squad issues an
order to itself, can it issue a further order that
turn?
A. Not unless you roll Inspired Tactics. A squad
that has enacted upon an order cannot act further
during that Shooting phase unless you rolled
Inspired Tactics, in which case the Officer would
be able to immediately issue one more order for
free. Note though that the Command Squad itself
would not be able to issue this ‘free’ order to
itself as it will have already shot or ran during
that Shooting phase and couldn’t do so again.
To further my confusion, since a command can be given to "Bring it down," or "Fire on my target," both require the unit commanded to immediately fire, but then we have a sentence that says "When the officer has finished issuing orders, he and his command squad can shoot/run normally if the player wishes". Would this allow a command squad that ordered itself to Bring it down to fire again without the command, since he would be shooting/running normally?
Also covered by the FAQ answer above. If the officer issues an order on his own squad, they take no further action that phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|