Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 16:44:28
Subject: Magic Weapons and You
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Can a high elf player buy a Sword of BloodShed and a Blade of Leaping Gold? Both have the same effect -- +3 attacks. One is a common magic item, the other is a HE only item.
"If a magic item is listed both here and in your Warhammer Armies book, use the points value with the latter" p500 BRB
"Magic items are considered to be unique" p500 BRB
The question is....are they considered the same item even though they have a different name yet same effect? For a 'Sword of Striking' it makes perfect sense, but what about the case of the Blade of Leaping Gold?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 16:46:48
Subject: Re:Magic Weapons and You
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
Houston, Texas
|
Id say different name=different item...
Take whichever is cheaper.
|
Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins- |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 16:48:47
Subject: Magic Weapons and You
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
I think it was more intended for Magic Items with the same name (so, basically, the original Common Magic Items). I would argue that you can take both.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 17:05:05
Subject: Magic Weapons and You
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
|
Isnt't there a rule at the beginning of the magic item section in the brb that disallows you to take more then one type of magic item? Something about magical interferance. I.E. you can't take two magic weapons, talismans, etc.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/23 17:06:13
nosferatu1001 wrote:That guy got *really* instantly killed. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 17:11:46
Subject: Magic Weapons and You
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) the same character cannot take more than one item of any one type
2) the same army can have as many differently named items as you have points for. The two items, while they have the same effect, are different and can therefore both be taken.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 17:19:36
Subject: Magic Weapons and You
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
I was under the impression that the OP was referring to taking the 'same' item in an army, not an individual model.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 17:22:45
Subject: Magic Weapons and You
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
I'm with Jin on this. As long as the items have different names, there shouldn't be any issues with taking one of each (again, not on the same model).
RZ
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 17:43:10
Subject: Magic Weapons and You
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Definitely, they can both be taken in the same army.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/23 18:20:46
Subject: Re:Magic Weapons and You
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
The idea was 2 characters in the same army, not one character with 2 items.
thats what I thought, I just wanted to make sure before I built that in an army list.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/26 18:35:58
Subject: Magic Weapons and You
|
 |
Wraith
|
Just like the Empire can have the Holy Relic twice now (4++ for 45pts) with the Relic and it's twin from the BRB.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/26 19:22:28
Subject: Magic Weapons and You
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
There are many, many common items that are copies of army book items.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/27 06:02:44
Subject: Magic Weapons and You
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Holy relic = talisman of preservation
sigil of sigmar = obsidian trinket
sword of power = ogre blade
I've routinely taken both. It's actually quite powerful to be able to take these items twice, given how important it is to have ward saves with all the disgusting new magic.
|
Manchu wrote:It's a lie, K_K, pure Imperial propaganda. Where's the Talon of Horus, huh? Plus everyone knows the Imperium planned and carried out the invasion of Cadia itself. Bin Abaddon was just a convenient scapegoat. |
|
 |
 |
|