Switch Theme:

sisters 5+ save versus psychic powers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

What is an area of affect for this?

for example, if a power affects only friendly enemy models, but not the sisters who may be within range of the power, do they get a chance to 5+ negate it?

Basically what is an area of effect?

 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




San Diego Ca

It affects the model/unit itself and nothing else. If a farseer casts Doom on an inducted IG Squad, they have no options. If it's cast on a Sororita Squad, they get the 5+ chance to negate it.
Jaws of the World Wolf is weird because its cast on the first unit in LoS, but continues on to other units in the 24" range. So if it hits a Guard Squad first then hits a Sisters unit and they make the 5+...did the entire shot get negated (saving the Guard) or does it stop at the point the sisters negated it. Or does it go model by model with each Sororita model having to make a 5+ individually?
The joys of a 3rd edition army in a 5th edition world.

Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

The rules on Shield of Faith are quite clear. The power itself is negated (like a psychic hood would negate it) if the 5+ save is passed. JotWW is therefore simply negated, so don't clip any AS when you fire it off.

This does affect friendly powers that might include the AS as well.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

Hmm.. .but this still doesn't answer my question.

Let me rephrase

In 40k what counts as an "area of effect?"

Sheild of saguiness says "any unit with in 6 inches"
Nullzone is similiar

Are these areas of effect?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/28 21:31:33


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Does it affect the sisters? If yes, they are in the AoE. If no, they are not in the AoE.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Does it effect an area or a specific model/unit?

Blast = area.
Units within x" = area.
draw a line = area.

Target unit within range = no area.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

frgsinwntr wrote:In 40k what counts as an "area of effect?"


It's not a term specifically defined for 40K, so you would go by the usual meaning.

So a unit is inside the power's area of effect if it is affected by the power.


Sheild of saguiness says "any unit with in 6 inches"
Nullzone is similiar

Are these areas of effect?


Yes. If the Sisters are within that distance, they are within the power's area of effect. So the power can be negated.

 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

MasterSlowPoke wrote:Does it affect the sisters? If yes, they are in the AoE. If no, they are not in the AoE.


By this logic, then if a stereotypical smell gamer person has no sense of smell, they aren't in the area of effect of their own filthy stench... where everyone else within 6 feet can smell them and they are in the area of effect?? But not the source?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
insaniak wrote:
frgsinwntr wrote:In 40k what counts as an "area of effect?"


It's not a term specifically defined for 40K, so you would go by the usual meaning.

So a unit is inside the power's area of effect if it is affected by the power.


Sheild of saguiness says "any unit with in 6 inches"
Nullzone is similiar

Are these areas of effect?


Yes. If the Sisters are within that distance, they are within the power's area of effect. So the power can be negated.


This is originally how I thought it, but I've heard otherwise. I've encountred masterslowpokes argument and I'll be honest... I am struggling to understand it

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/28 21:41:29


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

As insaniak has pointed out unfortunately GW does not provide much guidance for the term AoE, other games such as Warmachine does. You could go to one extreme and say it affects any psychic power that overlaps or the other and simply say it just protects the unit of Battle Sisters. Without a good definition from GW it's really hard to say.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

The definition of area of effect has no bearing on whether or not it only protects the sisters.

If the power targets the sisters, or includes them in its area of effect, it is nullified on a successful roll.

If the power is nullified, that stops it working on any other units that are also in the area of effect.


However (to return to the question asked at the start o the thread) enemy powers that only affect enemy units will not be nulllified, as per this response from the FAQ:

GW wrote:Q. Can persistent Psychic abilities (such as
Psychic Scream or Veil of Tears) be nullified by
the Penitent or the Shield of Faith?
A. No, as they are not being used on the Penitent
or including him in their area of effect – they are
being used on other models.


So the power has to actually be something that affects the Sisters for them to get the roll.


 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

insaniak wrote:The definition of area of effect has no bearing on whether or not it only protects the sisters.

If the power targets the sisters, or includes them in its area of effect, it is nullified on a successful roll.

If the power is nullified, that stops it working on any other units that are also in the area of effect.


However (to return to the question asked at the start o the thread) enemy powers that only affect enemy units will not be nulllified, as per this response from the FAQ:

GW wrote:Q. Can persistent Psychic abilities (such as
Psychic Scream or Veil of Tears) be nullified by
the Penitent or the Shield of Faith?
A. No, as they are not being used on the Penitent
or including him in their area of effect – they are
being used on other models.


So the power has to actually be something that affects the Sisters for them to get the roll.



Good find! I didn't catch that! Thread can be locked

 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




insaniak wrote:However (to return to the question asked at the start o the thread) enemy powers that only affect enemy units will not be nulllified, as per this response from the FAQ:

GW wrote:Q. Can persistent Psychic abilities (such as
Psychic Scream or Veil of Tears) be nullified by
the Penitent or the Shield of Faith?
A. No, as they are not being used on the Penitent
or including him in their area of effect – they are
being used on other models.


So the power has to actually be something that affects the Sisters for them to get the roll.



Which once again shows that GW has no idea what they're doing... VoT makes the enemy roll dice and lose their chance to fire if too short, I'd say that's a textbook example of affecting them.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

The answer here is not to nullifying a power, it is to using the power. Both these are passive powers, which means they are not being used, the key being used, and therefore cannot be nullified.

Example: I cast Null Zone and I am 12" away from a SoB squad. No problem, AS models are not in its area of effect, I then move within 6" of an AS unit, Null Zone does not now get nullified. It is 'persistent' at this point until the end of the turn.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Spetulhu wrote:Which once again shows that GW has no idea what they're doing... VoT makes the enemy roll dice and lose their chance to fire if too short, I'd say that's a textbook example of affecting them.


Yes and No. I think that what they were going for is the idea that Shield of Faith kicks in when the power is originally case, rather than allowing you to nullify ongoing or passive powers.

VoT is never actually cast... it's just there. So SoF never gets the opportunity to negate it.

 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

insaniak wrote:
GW wrote:Q. Can persistent Psychic abilities (such as
Psychic Scream or Veil of Tears) be nullified by
the Penitent or the Shield of Faith?
A. No, as they are not being used on the Penitent
or including him in their area of effect – they are
being used on other models.


So the power has to actually be something that affects the Sisters for them to get the roll.
Errr. . .

Isn't that rather problematic with the new Psychic Scream--it is blatantly AoE that would be affecting everyone yet the FAQ specifically includes it.

Or am I reading this incorrectly?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/29 05:49:14


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






As far as the FAQ answer goes it seems to be saying that no matter the position of 'the Penitent' on the board he is never considered to be in an area that global effects include.
As strange as that sounds.
Non-targetting means non-triggering.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/07/29 07:29:31


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!






kirsanth wrote:draw a line = area.

A line has no width therefore no area. Area = Length x Width

Lt. Lathrop
DT:80+S++G++M-B++IPw40k08#+D++A+/rWD-R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Kid_Kyoto






Probably work

Lt Lathrop wrote:
kirsanth wrote:draw a line = area.

A line has no width therefore no area. Area = Length x Width


A line per the mathematical definition has no area, however, you're drawing a line. The line that you've drawn might represent a mathematical line, however, the actual drawn representation itself has to have width, thus it has area.

Assume all my mathhammer comes from here: https://github.com/daed/mathhammer 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

The only way the FAQ includes the new psychic scream is if it is a persistent ability. Since it is not, this must refer to some other ability because it specifically states this ability is persistent.

The FAQ does not state that for the Penitent or SoF. It states that PERSISTENT or PASSIVE abilities that are classed as psychic powers cannot be nullified. Only abilities that are 'cast' can be nullified, as per a psychich hood.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!






daedalus wrote:
Lt Lathrop wrote:
kirsanth wrote:draw a line = area.

A line has no width therefore no area. Area = Length x Width


A line per the mathematical definition has no area, however, you're drawing a line. The line that you've drawn might represent a mathematical line, however, the actual drawn representation itself has to have width, thus it has area.

Touche

Lt. Lathrop
DT:80+S++G++M-B++IPw40k08#+D++A+/rWD-R++T(T)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: