Switch Theme:

Mark of Nurgle Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Arlington, Texas

I'm picking up my rulebook later this week, but for the moment I was curious about something. If fear makes someone WS1 and then they're fighting a unit with Mark of Nurgle, do they become WS0? I would assume there's something saying otherwise in the wording.

Worship me. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Read the WoC FAQ.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Arlington, Texas

I have 3 times, thanks Sorry if it didn't leap off the page at me.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I see that MoN reads slightly differently. Can you please just answer the question?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/27 20:04:56


Worship me. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





as far as i understand it yes, it would make them ws0 when trying to strike which means they auto fail to strike, but ws1 when you attack them because MoN is only "when directing attacks at"

also MoN does not specify minimum ws1 like almost everything else that changes ws that i could find.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/28 03:27:56


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It states you are -1WS when attacking a model with the MoN, so you are WS0 and can only hit on 6s if memory serves.
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




The only thing I have seen about WS 0 is that the unit is automatically hit, which doesn't apply in this case (pg 4, Characteristics of 0).

Under Roll to Hit (pg 50), nothing is mentioned about it that would contradict the normal To Hit rules. I would say you still hit on a 5+.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except under roll to hit (page 50) there is no way for a WS0 model to determine what result they need to hit on - the chart only goes as far as WS1.

However it DOES state that a roll of a 6 *always* hits, hence a 6+ seems fair.
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




The charts are obviously not all encompassing, as it did not include a WS of 0. You are trying to make up a rule that doesn't exist (WS 0 vs anything else).

The rules clearly state if the WS is more than double, you need a 5+.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Actually you are the one making rules up.

Read the first non bold paragraph under "ROLL TO HIT", page 50, where it states you MUST consult the chart. Therefore the chart IS all encompassing and, as it does not give a value for WS0 WS0 models have no basis to claim a 5+ for them to hit.

So as the chart does not talk about WS0, you follow the line that states a roll of a 6 ALWAYS hits.
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




Ok, tit for tat. Since WS 0 is not on the chart, you can't find a value, therefore the game breaks. I mean, nowhere on that chart does it show WS 0, therefore you can't use it.

I can do this too.

If you read further down, it mentions about more than double WS needing a 5+ to hit. That sections deals specifically with what is going on, vs a more general 6+ always hitting. As to making rules up, it is there in black and white. "In rare cases when a target's Weapon Skill is more than double that of the attacker, a 5+ is required for a successful hit."

Are we going to argue that a WS 1 is not more than double a WS 0 as 0 is just a placeholder, and not a number, therefore can't be dealt with mathematically for a basic function?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/07/28 12:04:40


I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, it states you must use the chart. Do you agree that you MUST use the chart, there in B&W?
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




It says look at the chart. Check

Find WS 0. BBBZZZZTTT. Chart is invalid. Game breaks.

Continue reading and find the "more than double".

Game un-breaks.

Easy peasy.

As I mentioned in the other thread, we have expressed our differing viewpoints and I am done.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in us
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer





Neenah

Doesn't the part on unit characteristics at the beginning of the rules state that having a value of <nothing> or zero means that it has no capability at all for that skill? I beleive it used ballistic skill as an example, and following from there, I would say no attacks are possible.

ZF-

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Hence finding the rule stating a roll of a 6 always suceeds.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Arlington, Texas

I wasn't aware of another thread and I tried searching. I got to scour a rulebook last night and couldn't come up with anything conclusive The FAQ states that models in base to base have -1 WS (so WS0) so I'll probably let people hit on a 5+ and auto-hit them if they're cool with it, since I'm following bits of RaW in both instances.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/28 16:44:49


Worship me. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




remember they dont autohit them - you are only -1WS when attacking, not when being attacked.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Arlington, Texas

Ugh, n/m. Got the errata and the book language flip-flopped. So the reasonable thing to do here is let them hit on 5+ which they would anyway.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/28 21:22:58


Worship me. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





p4 and characteristics of zero i believe covers what happens on both sides when your WS is 0. the formula on p50 is simply a summary of the chart, or an way way to remember the chart.


the rules for a 0 mean you cant do anything with that stat, so the example is a BS 0 means you can not shoot missle weapons. so a WS0 mean you can not swing a melee weapon.

it also explicitly covers attacking a WS0 model as that is not covered anywhere else.

basically unless GW makes a ruling, we will be dicing at the table for what it does.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Hence reasonable compromise (between 5+ and not hitting at all) is that a roll of a 6 is always a pass on "to hit" - so 6+.

Still gives some benefit to it without being horrible...
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I would take hitting on a natural 6+ as an acceptable alternative to dicing for it.
   
Made in gb
Terrifying Wraith





Training sheep, Stocking Urchins.

6s always pass don't they?













 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, hence stating it twice....
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes, hence stating it twice....

Do what i do nos, give them page numbers, they usually stop arguing after that


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: