| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/27 21:19:07
Subject: DE Hydra
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
New Dark Elves FAQ - Page 58 – War Hydra, Special Rules Change the Beastmasters special rule to “Beastmasters: The bulk of the War Hydra makes a great shield for the Beastmasters that drive it, protecting them from missile fire and close combat attacks. Wounds that would normally be randomised between the War Hydra and its handlers are instead all applied against the War Hydra.”
what wounds are randomized? The 8th edition states that a model in base contact chooses where the attacks go ... it does not read "randomized"
so my question is do all attacks go against the hydra first or does the attacker choose?
What attacks can or can't be targeted at the beastmasters?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/27 21:24:16
Subject: Re:DE Hydra
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
Houston, Texas
|
You count the frontage of the hydra, plus the two beastmasters in base to base when determining what can attack... Even if a model can only attack the beastmaster it rolls against the Hydra.
In shooting you dont even randomize, everything goes against the hydra...
Lets say the X's are your units
XXXXXXX
BHHHB
Two of your units are only in base to base with the beastmasters, however when they attack they roll to hit and wound the hydra.
|
Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins- |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/27 22:03:24
Subject: Re:DE Hydra
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thank you for the reply ... if this is the case what attacks can hit the beastmasters first then?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/27 22:05:48
Subject: Re:DE Hydra
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
Houston, Texas
|
servantes wrote:Thank you for the reply ... if this is the case what attacks can hit the beastmasters first then?
As long as the hydra is alive attacks cannot be allocated against the beastmasters...
|
Daemons-
Bretonnia-
Orcs n' Goblins- |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/27 22:11:58
Subject: Re:DE Hydra
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
so the hydra will no longer have to take monster reaction tests as the beastmasters will always die last?
and
if hit by a cannon - the hydra would then take it and no possibility of the beastmasters - simply allocate D6 wounds to the hydra and hope for the best?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/28 01:52:50
Subject: Re:DE Hydra
|
 |
Pewling Menial
|
As far as i am aware the only two ways to kill a beatmaster before the hydra would be templtes , as they hit all under it and are not randomized, and specfic things that target models such as the many death magic spells.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/28 09:34:49
Subject: DE Hydra
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
When shooting OR close combat you would normally randomise against monster and handler, with a 5-6 result passing the wounds onto the handlers. In this case you do not do so, as the hydras rule kicks in and all wounds are allocated to the hydra.
Read page 73, note the rule on randomising now applies to all attacks and not just shooting like 7th ed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/28 14:38:18
Subject: Re:DE Hydra
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
thanks for the help ... I missed hat rule - and realize the Army Book rule replaces the normal rule ...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/28 16:04:50
Subject: DE Hydra
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Take a look at the 'Monster and Handlers' rule on pg 73. That pretty much makes everything clear.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|