Switch Theme:

When moving a random distances...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gr
Sneaky Lictor





Greece

Can't seem to find a rule for this in the BRB

When a unit is about to move a random distance f.e. run or Slow and purposeful can you roll to find out the distance it will cover and then move another unit before moving this?

Say I have 3 Meganobz that are 6 inches from a Trukk. They need a 4 on their SnP move to embark and then the trukk can zoom of to get them to where they are going. Could I make the SnP roll first, see how far they will be able to move that turn and then: if I get that 4 embark them on the trukk or else if I roll less move the trukk first so that it gets within 1" and then they can embark (without the trukk being able to move any further of course)

Similarly 2 units are about to run. I dont want these units to be more than 4 inches from each other. Can I declare they will both run, then roll to see how far each unit can run and after that move them? This way if I get a 6 and a 1 I refrain from running the first unit the full 6 in order to keep them close?

FaarisShazad wrote:The guy with the spiky dildo for a picture had a good point.

Ork Management Program
I take care of problems that need to be solved with violence  
   
Made in us
The Hammer of Witches





A new day, a new time zone.

As the BRB says on page 11, you can't start to move a unit go on to another one, and then return to the original to finish the move.

"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..."
Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. 
   
Made in gr
Sneaky Lictor





Greece

Right you are! However I have not started to move any unit. I have only checked how far that unit can move in this turn..
or not?

FaarisShazad wrote:The guy with the spiky dildo for a picture had a good point.

Ork Management Program
I take care of problems that need to be solved with violence  
   
Made in us
The Hammer of Witches





A new day, a new time zone.

You're going to have to prove that picking a unit and determining the distance it can move is not part of the move, then.

"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..."
Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yup, once you pick the unit to move, you have started that unit's movement. If you roll the dice and then move onto another unit, that first unit's movement is finished.

 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

I have played against a few people that go across the table, pointing to their S&P models and rolling for them, then setting the dice next to them. This is a bit of fudging the rules too, imo. I wish they would simply roll then move. If you know your first unit can't make it and your second unit can, it will most certainly affect the way you play out those units and, therefore, the rest of your turn.

Roll as you go. What the OP is saying is almost the same thing as disembarking, moving the transport, then moving your troops. You can't start a movement and then come back to it later.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/30 05:10:08


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in gr
Sneaky Lictor





Greece

What the OP is saying is almost the same thing as disembarking, moving the transport, then moving your troops. You can't start a movement and then come back to it later.
Puma713 I get what you are saying but that is a really bad analogy. What I question is nothing like what you are comparing it too. I have only checked to see how far the unit can move in it's movement fase what you are suggesting is a definitely illegal double move (disembarkation=movement)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/30 10:34:38


FaarisShazad wrote:The guy with the spiky dildo for a picture had a good point.

Ork Management Program
I take care of problems that need to be solved with violence  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except you have started to move the unit; as soon as you roll for difficult terrain EVEN IF you dont then physcially move you still "count as" moving.

Ass S&P requires you to roll for DT you cannot argue that you are not beginning the units move.
   
Made in gr
Sneaky Lictor





Greece

Great! Ty

FaarisShazad wrote:The guy with the spiky dildo for a picture had a good point.

Ork Management Program
I take care of problems that need to be solved with violence  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: