| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 03:49:14
Subject: Bretonnian lance formation question with 8ed rules
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Do they still get rank bonus with only 3 models or do they now need 5? And do they still get to attack 3 ranks to attack with? thanks for the help
Bit of a rant.... Doesn't it SUCK that combats strike on I are charge is no longer so glorious  but i still do LOVE the 8ed rule book i want to say thank you GW for putting effort into it.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/30 04:26:02
Dont worry, Be happy
Play:
Flames of War |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 04:37:10
Subject: Bretonnian lance formation question with 8ed rules
|
 |
Evasive Eshin Assassin
|
You'd have to check the Brettonian errata to be sure, but the army books supersede the main book (they provide exceptions to the main rules). So you should get rank bonuses for being three wide, unless the errata changed it. As for the second question...I don't understand. I'm going to assume you are asking if the knights on the edges of your unit get to attack normally. If so, I'd say the same thing. Yes, but check the errata.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 09:17:36
Subject: Bretonnian lance formation question with 8ed rules
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Specific > General. The general BRB says 5 wide, and assuming they havent changed it in the errata (fairly certain they havent) your specific rules say 3. You win. Lance formation also wins.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 16:10:58
Subject: Re:Bretonnian lance formation question with 8ed rules
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Lance formation still gives rank bonuses, and still allows the knights on the edge of the formation to attack on the charge. What is up for debate is:
1) Do lance ranks count for rank busting? For RAW, The BRB specifically says "Ranks of 5." Nothing in the Errata or FAQ says otherwise. But in the 8E Tactica article (Bret page), the very last line says that they do... so it is highly likely that RAI says they should. This can be very controversial, so make sure you and your opponent are on the same page BEFORE the match. That allows each of you to plan appropriately.
2) Do lances bust stalwart? Same article implies they do, but RAW pretty much says NOTHING breaks stalwart, except reducing the target unit to the same number of ranks as yours. Not so controverisal; most people accept that lances do not bust stalwart.
|
CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 16:19:47
Subject: Bretonnian lance formation question with 8ed rules
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
2) that was a mistake in the report, as you cannot remove "steadfast", just a units rank bonuses. POssibility it will be FAQ'd, as currently cavalry are useless at breaking infantry.
1) Not up for debate - you have ranks as you have a rank bonus.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 16:21:20
Subject: Bretonnian lance formation question with 8ed rules
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
These are not up for debate.
Bret faq: "The unit gets a rank bonus for each complete rank of 3 models"
Therefore, just like monstrous infantry, they disrupt (rank bust) with ranks of 3 models and they "bust" stalwart when the other side does not have as many ranks as they have ranks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 16:23:50
Subject: Bretonnian lance formation question with 8ed rules
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Steadfast! not stalwart!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 18:25:44
Subject: Bretonnian lance formation question with 8ed rules
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
thank you all for the replies i see now! and after some of you saying check the Errata i did so most everything makes sense and i have talked with my group they would say it can break steadfast! so thanks again.
This means i will be using peasants to tie up a block of infantry then get in position for the flank with my knights or just use knights to tie up either way! thanks again! im excited for my first fantasy battle with 8ed this Saturday! might post a battle report so be on the look out!
|
Dont worry, Be happy
Play:
Flames of War |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/31 09:47:07
Subject: Bretonnian lance formation question with 8ed rules
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
You can't use disruption to break Steadfast (Only having more ranks does that).
And since the Bretonnian rules (Book or FAQ) say nothing about Lance Formation causing Disruption then they don't.
The Lance Formation rule is not the same as Monstrous Ranks.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/31 09:47:56
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|