| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 16:53:34
Subject: Transports/Objectives Query.
|
 |
Tinkering Tech-Priest
|
Very simple query, probably a stupidly obvious question but I can't find this in the rule book. I may just be blind today however, apologies if that's the case!
Basically: Can unoccupied transport units capture objectives, seeing as they are from the troops section of the codex? I'd have thought they could, as the rule states that any unit from the troops section can, but it seems a bit odd. IE: Could I disembark my SM unit from a rhino, capture one objective with the SMs then trundle the Rhino over to the other and capture it as well?
If this is the case, suddenly transports for my SMs seem a lot more appealing!
|
This is Daemonic Cheese:
3000 Pts
2500 Pts
1000 Pts (And growing)
I'd put a quote here, but XKCD would have a better one. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 16:56:28
Subject: Transports/Objectives Query.
|
 |
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle
|
They can only contest.
It's only when a scoring unit is embarked that they are scoring, but it's entirely because of the squad inside.
Sadly, I have no page number for you, but try looking at the Missions section and go through the Scoring section again.
|
This is a little story about four people named Everybody, Somebody, Anybody, and Nobody.
There was an important job to be done and Everybody was sure that Somebody would do it.
Anybody could have done it, but Nobody did it.
Somebody got angry about that because it was Everybody's job.
Everybody thought that Anybody could do it, but Nobody realized that Everybody wouldn't do it.
It ended up that Everybody blamed Somebody when Nobody did what Anybody could have done.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 16:56:50
Subject: Transports/Objectives Query.
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Vehicles are not scoring.
Page 90, main rules.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 17:09:49
Subject: Transports/Objectives Query.
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
agreed. in general, vehicles (even ones that are bought with or count as troops) aren't scoring. the only exception is the land speeder you can buy with a dark angel ravenwing attack squadron.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 19:04:36
Subject: Re:Transports/Objectives Query.
|
 |
Guarding Guardian
Penn's Woods
|
Main Rules, p. 90, Column 2, last paragraph:
"Units of Troops embarked in a transport can control objectives (measure the distance to their vehicle's hull)."
Thus, the vehicle itself does not score, but if the embarked unit is Troops, then the Troops inside may contest and control from within the vehicle.
Does this mean that Troops can do this inside of a DT only, or can they do it from any vehicle with a transport capacity?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/30 19:09:30
Fairness is a wonderful attribute. It has nothing to do with war. -- Col. Hyrum Graff
Give a man a fish he eats for a day. Teach a man to read the rules and he won't post simple questions in a dakka forum. -- tetrisphreak
1500 pts |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 19:07:32
Subject: Transports/Objectives Query.
|
 |
Tinkering Tech-Priest
|
Ok, thanks guys.
Yes, looked it up. It's true, I can't read today!
Page references are so useful!
|
This is Daemonic Cheese:
3000 Pts
2500 Pts
1000 Pts (And growing)
I'd put a quote here, but XKCD would have a better one. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 20:22:00
Subject: Re:Transports/Objectives Query.
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
Cayar wrote:
Does this mean that Troops can do this inside of a DT only, or can they do it from any vehicle with a transport capacity?
Any vehicle with a transport capacity. SM scouts can do it from a land speeder storm, and that's a fast choice.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|