Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 20:21:05
Subject: Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Apologies if this has already been posted, didn't see it anywhere, but:
In the Space Marine codex, under Tactical Squad and Sternguard Veteran Squad (the only two I looked at) it says that you can take a Rhino or Razorback as a dedicated transport, and squads number 10 members may take a Drop Pod.
Now it doesn't specify a minimum (or maximum) squad size for the Rhino or the Razorback. The Razorback can carry 6 models.
So my question to you is this:
Can a ten-man Sternguard (or Tac) squad take a Razorback as a dedicated transport and either 1) just use it as a cheap mobile weapon platform or 2) combat-squad and half the full squad uses it as a transport?
Is this allowed?
Because this sounds like a relatively cheap way to get a twin-linked lascannon on the field (at 75 points, 100 less than a las predator).
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 20:25:12
Subject: Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
SaintHazard wrote:Apologies if this has already been posted, didn't see it anywhere, but:
In the Space Marine codex, under Tactical Squad and Sternguard Veteran Squad (the only two I looked at) it says that you can take a Rhino or Razorback as a dedicated transport, and squads number 10 members may take a Drop Pod.
Now it doesn't specify a minimum (or maximum) squad size for the Rhino or the Razorback. The Razorback can carry 6 models.
So my question to you is this:
Can a ten-man Sternguard (or Tac) squad take a Razorback as a dedicated transport and either 1) just use it as a cheap mobile weapon platform or 2) combat-squad and half the full squad uses it as a transport?
Is this allowed?
Because this sounds like a relatively cheap way to get a twin-linked lascannon on the field (at 75 points, 100 less than a las predator).
Yes you can. There's nothing saying that you actually have to put those troops INTO the transport, only that it is bought for them. As a matter of fact, that same transport can drive off and pick up another unit after the game begins, if you want.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 20:28:21
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That's interesting. Very interesting.
My next question regarding transports (that I quite simply forgot to post in the OP) is regarding firing from one.
I understand open-topped vehicles, but I can't find anything (and it's entirely possible I'm missing it or not looking in the right place) regarding whether troops in a transport count as moving or stationary regarding firing their weapons.
For example, can heavy weapon teams fire from a Chimera? Can Mortars? If so, it seems silly, but useful. What about a Lascannon from a Rhino?
I just never really use dedicated transports except for my Tau, and Tau transports don't have fire points, so I'm new to the whole fire point thing.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 20:32:08
Subject: Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
[DCM]
.
|
This isn't tomfolloery at all, and, yes, troops count as moving if their transport has also moved.
And yes, if a vehicle has a fire point listed on it, anything can be fired out of it!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 20:35:43
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So heavy weapons essentially can't be fired from vehicles, and rapid fire weapons would have a 12" range, then. When they've moved, that is.
What about IG and issuing orders?
Psychic powers? Can a Librarian use - nevermind those have shooting profiles.  I answered that one myself. And the non-shooting psychic powers don't have profiles at all, so I imagine they can be used as well.
...what about Gate of Infinity? Can a Librarian teleport out of a transport?
No, wait, they'd have to disembark first, since you can't move from a transport without disembarking, and it's used in the movement phase.
I like how I'm answering all of my questions here.
I especially like how I'm about to post this even though this is pretty much just me talking to myself.
Don't judge me!
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 20:52:53
Subject: Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
The Inquisition will Judge you regardless.
GUILTY!
(as if their was any doubt)
|
Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 21:00:45
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
SaintHazard wrote:
Q1. So heavy weapons essentially can't be fired from vehicles, and rapid fire weapons would have a 12" range, then. When they've moved, that is.
Q2. What about IG and issuing orders?
Don't judge me!
I edited your post so that I could answer it without getting myself confused, hopefully I did not take anything out of context.
A1. Yes, heavy weapons can fire from a vehicle with firepoints so long as the vehicle has not moved. With rapid fire weapons, if the vehicle moves and the fire point is not within 12" you cannot fire the weapon, however, if the vehicle moves the fire point within the the 12" range then it can fire if it moved.
A2. IG can only issue orders from a chimera only because the chimera has the command vehicle rule. Otherwise orders cannot be issued to a squad if the commanding squad is in a vehicle other than chimera.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 21:05:04
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Nope, you got everything. Thanks for the answers.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 21:26:52
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
It's also important to point out that if a vehicle moved at Cruising speed or higher, embarked units cannot fire at all.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 21:34:26
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
Not trying to thread jack here, but what about moving and shooting from a vehicle that pivoted?
I don't have the exact pages, but I know that normally pivoting on the spot does not count as movement for vehicles (as long as they're not immobolized!). Does this mean that a vehicle could pivot and the embarked passengers can still fire heavy weapons as though the vehicle has not moved?
|
40K:
Tarus 7th Regiment "Dragoons": IG 2500+ points
Speed Freaks: Orks 2000 points
Soul-Forged Angels: Blood Angels WIP
DzC:
PHR: 500 points
Hordes:
Trollkin: 50+ points |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 22:04:20
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
darkdm wrote:Not trying to thread jack here, but what about moving and shooting from a vehicle that pivoted?
I don't have the exact pages, but I know that normally pivoting on the spot does not count as movement for vehicles (as long as they're not immobolized!). Does this mean that a vehicle could pivot and the embarked passengers can still fire heavy weapons as though the vehicle has not moved?
pivoting on the spot doesn't count as moving... the infantry inside count as stationary if the vehicle was... so pivot away and fire off those heavy weapons!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 23:06:39
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
Hi all, I was going to post a similar transport question myself but this thread is so close I'll just add it here. Can an infantry squad take two dedicated transports, as example a 10 man assault squad that combat squads getting two razorbacks? With combat squads it kind of makes sense to me as each section has the transport option and acts independently. Of course I also see the potential there for spamming twin lascannons easily so it's probably a no-go right?
|
For the Emperor! Kill Maim Burn!... I mean purge the unclean! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 23:09:01
Subject: Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
No. . . "May take a" There was some debate about taking a rhino and a drop pod for marines (iirc) that most still agreed was a "No", but was as close to debatable as I have read.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/30 23:09:15
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 23:18:25
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine
|
Thank you, I really didn't think so but I'm not up on all of the new fangled rules. It's too bad I can't keep jump packs on one half of the squad and put the other half in a RB but that clearly seems to be out of the question as well.
I'll get over it though. If there are a Land Raider and Storm Raven on the board nobody will bother to shoot at a couple of Rhinos. Like parking beside a Porsche and leaving your car unlocked
|
For the Emperor! Kill Maim Burn!... I mean purge the unclean! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/30 23:58:10
Subject: Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
everything i was guuna say was already said =P and the razor back is so cheap because it has 1 twin linked lascannon, the predator has 1 TL and 2 regular, plur the armours better.
|
Follow me if i advance
kill me if i retreat
Avenge me if i die |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/31 20:11:27
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
warboss wrote:darkdm wrote:Not trying to thread jack here, but what about moving and shooting from a vehicle that pivoted?
I don't have the exact pages, but I know that normally pivoting on the spot does not count as movement for vehicles (as long as they're not immobolized!). Does this mean that a vehicle could pivot and the embarked passengers can still fire heavy weapons as though the vehicle has not moved?
pivoting on the spot doesn't count as moving... the infantry inside count as stationary if the vehicle was... so pivot away and fire off those heavy weapons!
For purposes of shooting. Note that if you pivot and a unit disemabarks after you pivot, then the disembarking unit counts as disembarking from a moving vehicle and that the vehicle may not make any other 'moves'. page 67, main rules.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/31 20:53:10
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
SaintHazard wrote:Psychic powers? Can a Librarian use - nevermind those have shooting profiles.  I answered that one myself. And the non-shooting psychic powers don't have profiles at all, so I imagine they can be used as well.
Correct. The only caveat is that non-shooting psychic powers that require LOS can't be used inside a vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/31 21:30:04
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:SaintHazard wrote:Psychic powers? Can a Librarian use - nevermind those have shooting profiles.  I answered that one myself. And the non-shooting psychic powers don't have profiles at all, so I imagine they can be used as well.
Correct. The only caveat is that non-shooting psychic powers that require LOS can't be used inside a vehicle.
Really? Even the shooting attacks? Hm. Alright then.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/31 21:53:29
Subject: Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
No. Non-shooting psychic powers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/31 23:22:06
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:SaintHazard wrote:Psychic powers? Can a Librarian use - nevermind those have shooting profiles.  I answered that one myself. And the non-shooting psychic powers don't have profiles at all, so I imagine they can be used as well.
Correct. The only caveat is that non-shooting psychic powers that require LOS can't be used inside a vehicle.
Unless, of course, they are used from the fire point......................
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/07/31 23:45:46
Subject: Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
And you can only use a fire point if you're making a shooting attack. They can't be used solely to get LOS.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/01 12:34:21
Subject: Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
You can indeed use non shooting psychic powers from a transport, only needing a fire point if you also need LOS.
See Rulebook FAQ for reference.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/02 05:37:30
Subject: Dedicated Transport tomfoolery
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Been a while since I read the rulebook FAQ. My bad.
|
|
 |
 |
|