Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/01 15:16:47
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Courageous Questing Knight
|
Hi guys, I played a friendly game, and had an interesting situation.
I landed a hit on a LR, managed to get the hole over the back track.
my friend got his oldschool ork truck nicely tucked in just behind it, literally below it. [the lr could potentially ramm speed him without moving.]
the blast template's hole landed over both models completely in this case.
do both models take the full blast?
I assume yes, and we played it yes. both tanks blew up. it was plenty beautiful.
|
DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/01 15:47:22
Subject: Re:blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Was he still 1" away from the LR?
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/01 20:43:10
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ify ou have two models that "overlap" when viewed from above, it is posisble to have the hole over two models. As such both would be hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/04 20:38:01
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There is a rule stating no model can occupy the same space as another model. If the single blast template hit both models, then both models were occuping the same space.
Remember, occuping the same space is not a 3d real world concept, but a game board concept. The laws of matter and the universe already prevent two objects from ocupping the same space, so obviously the designers are not talking about real world physics here, but game board space as defined by the board we play the game on.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/04 20:47:06
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Space is easily a 3d concept.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/04 20:47:18
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/04 21:18:54
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
DevianID wrote:There is a rule stating no model can occupy the same space as another model.
The rule is actually that a model can not move through the space occupied by another model. It's explaining why you have to go around other models, not delving into particle physics.
There is no rule preventing one model from being above or below another. That would make Ruins unusable.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/04 23:14:10
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Ya, but then you have to decide what floor you're targeting.
As for the original question, I'd have to say that there's no rules legal way this could have happened as he'd have to have been 1" away (larger area than the 'hole' in the blast template he is referencing) or if they were on two different levels he have to had designated a level as the target.
Unless there is something to this equation in the original question I'm missing.
*Edit*
Hm, I suppose if the LR was at the top of a hill and the truck was on the up/down part of the hill, still 1" away but not horizontally and not technically on another level, then I guess it could happen in that situation. Which is what I'm guessing the OP is describing though he didn't specify, he did say "literally below it" which to me would mean it was parked on another level.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/04 23:16:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/04 23:50:23
Subject: Re:blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Angered Reaver Arena Champion
|
Targeting levels is only applicable in ruins AFAIK.
edit: Oops I misread the previous poster. Ignore me.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/04 23:51:13
Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/04 23:57:14
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, there is no way that the blast hole can be completely on one vehicle and completely on another at the same time unless one is above the other, in which case you can only target one level.
In this case, if you have a bridge, or something, it would count as a ruins anyway for the purpose of doing stuff.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 02:54:32
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Ailaros wrote:Yeah, there is no way that the blast hole can be completely on one vehicle and completely on another at the same time unless one is above the other, in which case you can only target one level.
In this case, if you have a bridge, or something, it would count as a ruins anyway for the purpose of doing stuff.
if you and your opponent agree before the game that the bridge counts as ruins(if it isn't thought of and dicussed before game then it isn't a ruin)
in any case, if the two models are setup as such that one is on a hill(or a cliff) and the other is on the ground below, and from a top-down view both models are edge-to-edge(or even overlapping) and the center hole falls in such a way that it is over both of them(again top-down-view) then both take the full strength blast hit.
A note from some confusion here; the entire hole does not need to be over/on a vehicle for that vehicle to take the full strength hit, Any part of the hole(even just a sliver of it) can be.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 03:23:56
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
Baal Secundus
|
So was the lr above the truck on another level, such as an elevated ridge?
|
Destroy the Enemy! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 04:10:53
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I would be tempted to say that the fact my vehicle covers yours would prevent the the hole from being "The centre of the blast marker ends over the vehicle’s hull." like that, it's plainly over my vehicle which is in turn over yours, sure the template is above both vehicles but it's only over one.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 04:34:29
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ailaros wrote:Yeah, there is no way that the blast hole can be completely on one vehicle and completely on another at the same time unless one is above the other, in which case you can only target one level.
In this case, if you have a bridge, or something, it would count as a ruins anyway for the purpose of doing stuff.
You've got that backwards. The rules for ruins apply only to ruins. In all other situations in the game if a model manages to somehow be above another model (say a tall rocky cliff and one model is on the top of the cliff and another model is below him at the bottom of the cliff) and a blast marker is over both models then both models would be hit.
So yes, in this particular case if a blast was over two vehicles, then both would be hit fully, although as some have pointed out, in most cases it is not normally allowed for models to move within 1" of each other, so this shouldn't happen to often unless one vehicle attempts to ram another (for example).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 07:19:17
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
The way I read it was that the Trukk was 'under' the sloping rear LR track.
|
If you can keep your head, while all about you are losing their's, then you have probably completely misunderstood the situation!
6,000pts
5,500pts
3,500pts
2,500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 08:40:10
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Well since the blast hole can only be over one vehicle then it hits the one on top, anything under the top vehicle would not be under the center since there is a vehicle in the way. anything that hangs over the edges is fair game however.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 09:47:19
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Deathreaper - except it CAN be over two vehicles, as it is in this instance. You are adding restrictions to the rules that do not exist.
Is the hole above the vehicle? Yes? Then it is hit full strength. The fact there is ANOTHER vehicle in the way makes no difference, as from a 2D, top down view the hole is still over the vehicle
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 17:33:07
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Again, I point out it cant be over two vehicles, because by extension you then have one vehicle on top of another vehicle, occupying the same exact board space. You cant put an infantry on top of a tank, right? So a tank cant be on top of another tank.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 17:34:46
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
DevianID wrote:Again, I point out it cant be over two vehicles, because by extension you then have one vehicle on top of another vehicle, occupying the same exact board space. You cant put an infantry on top of a tank, right? So a tank cant be on top of another tank.
Valkyrie Over a Chimera.
So long as you are playing that the Wings are Hull, you are more than able to have the hole over 2 Vehicles in 2D space.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 21:22:36
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
DevianID wrote:Again, I point out it cant be over two vehicles, because by extension you then have one vehicle on top of another vehicle, occupying the same exact board space.
Again, there is no prohibition in the rules on models occupying the same space. They are simply restricted from moving through the space occupied by another model.
You cant put an infantry on top of a tank, right?
That's correct. But it's simply because models count as impassable terrain.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 21:26:40
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
Baal Secundus
|
I would give a cover save for the bottom vehicle. Only seems sporting to me.
|
Destroy the Enemy! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/20 05:31:57
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Deathreaper - except it CAN be over two vehicles, as it is in this instance. You are adding restrictions to the rules that do not exist.
Is the hole above the vehicle? Yes? Then it is hit full strength. The fact there is ANOTHER vehicle in the way makes no difference, as from a 2D, top down view the hole is still over the vehicle
but it is not a 2D game...
and it does make a difference.
Page 60 says:
"Template and blast weapons against vehicles... The centre of the blast marker ends over the vehicles hull.
in this case the shell or missile has HIT THE VEHICLE AND EXPLODED ON IT."
Not hit all the vehicles under it, not hit everything around it, it hits the vehicle you were aiming at, by this logic only one vehicle can be hit by the weapon. (of course if an the marker touches anything else next to the vehicle it will take a 1/2 str hit)
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/20 07:03:51
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, it is not a 2D game - except where the rules explicitly limit it to one. Like in this case, where the ONLY requirement is that the hole is above the model. Above is entirely expressable in 2D.
Also you make the error of mixing fluff and rules. The rule is that you check to see if the hole is ABOVE the vehicle. If it is then you gain the full strength hit
That is it. You may not agree, but that doesnt alter what the rules say,
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/20 07:57:32
Subject: blast hole over two vehicles completely?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Captain Solon wrote:Hi guys, I played a friendly game, and had an interesting situation.
I landed a hit on a LR, managed to get the hole over the back track.
my friend got his oldschool ork truck nicely tucked in just behind it, literally below it. [the lr could potentially ramm speed him without moving.]
the blast template's hole landed over both models completely in this case.
do both models take the full blast?
I assume yes, and we played it yes. both tanks blew up. it was plenty beautiful.
Sounds like a moot point anyway nosferatu1001 now that i re-read the OP, sounds like the ork trukk was too close to the landraider, since enemy models must be kept 1" away from each other, unless you are assaulting.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|