andruin wrote:When firing a flamer from a vehicle (for example, the Redeemer's flame storm cannon), how much latitude do you have when aiming the template? Can the Gun barrel point one direction and the flamer template point another, as long as the tip touches? This happens to me either with Land Raiders or immobilized speeders, and I always feel a little cheesy pointing the flamer template in a direction that the gun clearly isn't pointing, but as far as I can see, there's no rule reason why I can't.
Actually You have Both a Rule telling you you must direct the template to cover the most enemy models possible, while not touching any of your models(template rules)
And a Rule Telling you that you cannot; the Weapon Arcs rules on page 59 of the
BRB. The problem with the mountings and Fire-arcs is that it does not take Template weapons into account, must the entire template be within the 45* arc of a Hull mounted Weapon, or only the last Sliver with the vast majority of the template outside of that arc?
Neither option follows the edict of "Break no Rule" as template weapons require you to fire in inconceivable arcs, yet Vehicle Arcs narrow the Available Arcs quite Drastically, without consideration for the Template rules.
In the end i would say to take the Narrower rule, that of the vehicle mount arcs. Turrets grant you a full 360, and hull mounts grant only the 45(how much of the template needs to be in that 45 is up to you and your opponent, although the Template is itself a 20* angle so unless the entire template is inside the 45* you can achieve an 85* arc of fire).